full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

IV. The Prevention of Child Pornography Ordinance

Article 34 of the Convention requires that children should be protected from all forms of sexual exploitation and sexual abuse. As a consequence Hong Kong enacted the Prevention of Child Pornography Ordinance (PCPO), Cap. 579 , which came into operation on 19 December 2002. The PCPO prohibits child pornography, pornographic performances by children and child sex tourism. It strengthens the protection of children by criminalizing the printing, making, producing, reproducing, copying, importing, exporting, publishing, possessing and advertising of child pornography.

A. Definitions

Section 2 of the PCPO defines child pornography as:

“(a) a photograph, film, computer-generated image or other visual depiction that is a pornographic depiction of a person who is or is depicted as being a child, whether it is made or generated by electronic or any other means, whether or not it is a depiction of a real person and whether or not it has been modified; or

(b) anything that incorporates a photograph, film, image or depiction referred to in paragraph (a),

and includes data stored in a form that is capable of conversion into a photograph, film, image or depiction referred to in paragraph (a) and anything containing such data.”

Pornographic depiction is defined as:

“(a) a visual depiction that depicts a person as being engaged in explicit sexual conduct, whether or not the person is in fact engaged in such conduct; or

(b) a visual depiction that depicts, in a sexual manner or context, the genitals or anal region of a person or the breast of a female person,

but, for the avoidance of doubt, a depiction for a genuine family purpose does not, merely because it depicts any part of the body referred to in paragraph (b), fall within that paragraph .”

B. Offences

The PCPO prohibits the production, possession and publication of child pornography. The Crimes Ordinance has been amended in accordance with the new PCPO to prohibit the use, procurement or offer of persons under the age of 18 for making pornography or for live pornographic performances. It also extends the application of certain sexual offence provisions of the Crimes Ordinance to acts committed against children outside Hong Kong, and prohibits the making of arrangements relating to the commission of those acts and the advertisement of such arrangements.

Section 3 of the PCPO crates a number of offences:

(1) Any person who prints, makes, produces, reproduces, copies, imports or exports any child pornography commits an offence and is liable—
(a) on conviction on indictment to a fine of $2,000,000 and to imprisonment for 8 years; or
(b) on summary conviction to a fine of $1,000,000 and to imprisonment for 3 years.

(2) Any person who publishes any child pornography commits an offence and is liable—
(a) on conviction on indictment to a fine of $2,000,000 and to imprisonment for 8 years; or
(b) on summary conviction to a fine of $1,000,000 and to imprisonment for 3 years.

(3) Any person who has in his possession any child pornography (unless he is the only person pornographically depicted in the child pornography) commits an offence and is liable—
(a) on conviction on indictment to a fine of $1,000,000 and to imprisonment for 5 years; or
(b) on summary conviction to a fine of $500,000 and to imprisonment for 2 years.

(4) Any person who publishes or causes to be published any advertisement that conveys or is likely to be understood as conveying the message that any person has published, publishes, or intends to publish any child pornography commits an offence and is liable—
(a) on conviction on indictment to a fine of $2,000,000 and to imprisonment for 8 years; or
(b) on summary conviction to a fine of $1,000,000 and to imprisonment for 3 years.

C. Defences

There are a number of possible defences under section 4 of the PCPO . They range from the defendant showing that the alleged pornography has artistic merit, or that possession was for a genuine educational, scientific or medical purpose, to the defendant’ showing that he/she believed that the person pornographically depicted was not a child when originally depicted and the person was not depicted as a child. The burden of establishing the section 4 defences is upon the defendant.

D. Sentencing

The Court of Appeal laid down sentencing guidelines for possession of child pornography in Secretary for Justice v Man Kwong Choi and Secretary for Justice v Ho Yan Kiu .

Whilst the court was only concerned with  possession of child pornography contrary to section 3(3) of the PCPO , the court noted that the PCPO created four categories of offences relating to child pornography: (a) printing, making production, reproduction, copying, import and export ( sections 3(1) ), (b) publication ( sections 3(2) ), (c) possession( section 3(3) )  and (d) publication or causing to be published any advertisement that conveys or is likely to be understood as conveying the message that a person has published, publishes or intends to publish child pornography ( section 3(4) ).

The Court alsonoted, per Hon Ma CJHC, that the roots of the PCPO lay in Article 34 of the Convention. As States Parties to the Convention undertook to protect the child from all forms of sexual exploitation the main purpose of sentencing would be deterrence. Therefore, sentencing should take account of the victims of child pornography and the interests of society generally. Deterrence is particularly significant when sentencing for possession of child pornography.

His Lordship stated in the judgment that “The harm to children cannot be stressed enough. For the children depicted in child pornography, they are degraded, dehumanized, traumatized and lose all semblance of dignity. For other children, the prevalence of child pornography only encourages paedophiles and their activities. One of the many dangers is that vulnerable children may regard the type of sexual conduct seen in child pornography as being in some way normal, or worse still, expected of them. Many of the victims grow up mentally scarred. There may sometimes even be evidence of physical injury to the private parts of children.”

The court laid down guidelines for conviction after a trial for the possession of child pornography involving real children as: -

Level 1

The least serious level is Level 1 (“Images depicting erotic posing with no sexual activity”). There, the effect on the children in the depictions might be said to be much less harmful than in the case of Levels 2 to 4, which, it may be assumed, will be substantially more harmful. In the case of possession of Level 1 depictions, it may be that a community service order, probation or fine is appropriate where the number is small (say 20 or less). Where the numbers are large or the depictions are extremely suggestive, terms of imprisonment from 1 month to 6 months will be appropriate.

Level 2

In the case of Level 2 (“sexual activity between children, or solo masturbation by a child”), this is already much more serious than mere posing. Here, depending on the number of depictions, an immediate custodial sentence of up to 9 months will be appropriate. Even the possession of a few depictions at this level will generally attract a custodial sentence.

Level 3

For Level 3 cases (“non-penetrative sexual activity between adults and children”), the degree of seriousness is increased even further. Again, depending on the numbers involved, sentences of between 6 and 12 months will be appropriate.

Level 4

The Court considered Level 4 cases (“penetrative sexual activity between children and adults” and “sadism or bestiality”) as meriting the most serious treatment. Here, at Level 4, the range of custodial sentences should generally be from 12 months (even for a few images) to 36 months.

Whilst accepting that these guidelines might be seen as harsh, the court stressed they needed to be as the main consideration was the protection of vulnerable children. Custodial sentences should be the norm for first offenders except in the most unusual circumstances,

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 1,918,979 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

IV. 《防止兒童色情物品條例》

《兒童權利公約》第34條提到,任何兒童應受保護,免被利用進行各類色情活動和免遭性侵犯。因此,香港亦設立 第579章 《防止兒童色情物品條例》 ,並在2002年12月19日生效,旨在禁止兒童色情物品、兒童色情表演或將兒童色情發展成旅遊事業;將印刷、製作、生產、複製、複印、進口、出口、發布、管有和宣傳兒童色情物品列為刑事罪行,加強保護兒童。

A. 定義

《防止兒童色情物品條例》 第2條 界定「兒童色情物品」為:

(a) 對兒童或被描劃為兒童的人作色情描劃的照片、影片、電腦產生的影像或其他視像描劃,不論它是以電子或任何其他方式製作或產生,亦不論它是否對真人而作的描劃,也不論它是否經過修改;或

(b) 收納(a)段提述的照片、影片、影像或描劃的任何東西,

並包括以任何方式貯存並能轉為(a)段提述的照片、影片、影像或描劃的資料或數據,以及包含上述資料或數據的任何東西。

至於「色情描劃」是指:

(a) 將某人描劃為正參與明顯涉及性的行為的視像描劃,而不論該人事實上是否參與上述行為;或

(b) 以涉及性的方式或在涉及性的情境中,描劃某人的生殖器官或肛門範圍或女性的胸部的視像描劃,

但為免生疑問,任何為真正家庭目的而作的描劃並不僅因描劃(b)段提述的任何身體部分而包括在該段的範圍內。

B. 罪行

《防止兒童色情物品條例》 禁止生產、管有和發布兒童色情物品。因應 《防止兒童色情物品條例》 實施, 《刑事罪行條例》 亦經修訂,禁止利用、促致或提供未滿18歲的人以製作色情物品或作真人色情表演,擴大 《刑事罪行條例》 某些性罪行條文的適用範圍至香港以外的地方,禁止為該等作出安排和禁止為該等安排作廣告宣傳。

《防止兒童色情物品條例》 第3條 列出以下罪行:

(1) 任何人印刷、製作、生產、複製、複印、進口或出口兒童色情物品,即屬犯罪—
(a) 一 經循公訴程序定罪 ,可處罰款$2,000,000及監禁8年;或
(b) 一 經循簡易程序定罪 ,可處罰款$1,000,000及監禁3年。

(2) 任何人發布兒童色情物品,即屬犯罪—
(a) 一 經循公訴程序定罪 ,可處罰款$2,000,000及監禁8年;或
(b) 一 經循簡易程序定罪 ,可處罰款$1,000,000及監禁3年。

(3) 任何人管有兒童色情物品(除非在該兒童色情物品中他是唯一的色情描劃對象),即屬犯罪—
(a) 一 經循公訴程序定罪 ,可處罰款$1,000,000及監禁5年;或
(b) 一 經循簡易程序定罪 ,可處罰款$500,000及監禁2年。

(4) 任何人發布或安排發布廣告宣傳品,而該廣告宣傳品所傳遞的訊息,是某人發布、已經發布或有意發布兒童色情物品,或該廣告宣傳品相當可能會被理解為傳遞該項訊息,即屬犯罪—
(a) 一 經循公訴程序定罪 ,可處罰款$2,000,000及監禁8年;或
(b) 一 經循簡易程序定罪 ,可處罰款$1,000,000及監禁3年。

C. 免責辯護

《防止兒童色情物品條例》 第4條 列明被告可在特定情況下作免責辯護,例如證明指稱是兒童色情物品的物品具有藝術價值;被告是為真正的教育、科學或醫學的目的而管有該物品;被告證明自己當時相信該人在原先被描劃之時並非兒童,或相信該人並非被描劃為兒童。被告有責任提出證據,才能根據 第4條 作出免責辯護。

D. 判刑

上訴庭曾在 律政司司長訴萬廣財及律政司司長訴何恩橋 兩宗案件中,就管有兒童色情物品頒下判刑指引。

法庭不但根據 《防止兒童色情物品條例》 第3(3)條 處理管有兒童色情物品的罪行,同時認為 《防止兒童色情物品條例》 中與兒童色情物品相關的罪行,可劃分為四個類別: (a) 印刷、製作、生產、複製、複印、進口或出口( 第3(1)條 ); (b) 發布( 第3(2)條 ); (c) 管有( 第3(3)條 );及 (d) 發布或安排發布廣告宣傳品,而該廣告宣傳品所傳遞的訊息是某人發布、已經發布或有意發布兒童色情物品或該廣告宣傳品相當可能會被理解為傳遞該項訊息( 第3(4)條 )。

時任高等法院首席法官馬道立在判辭中提到, 《防止兒童色情物品條例》 源自《兒童權利公約》第34條,簽署《公約》的締約國必須盡力保護兒童免受性侵犯,因此判刑須具阻嚇效力。法庭判刑時,會顧及兒童色情物品所涉的受害人的狀況,亦會考慮社會利益因素。法庭認為,向管有兒童色情物品的人士判刑,刑罰的阻嚇效力至為重要。

法官在判詞中指出:「兒童所遭受的傷害絕對不能被低估。兒童色情物品中描劃的兒童慘遭蹂躪、不似人形、深受傷害,甚至完全喪失尊嚴。對於其他兒童而言,這些兒童色情物品的存在只會鼓吹孌童癖和其相關行為。思想脆弱的兒童更可能對兒童色情物品所展現的性活動習以為常,更甚者會對這些活動的發生不感意外。很多受害人一直在心理陰霾下成長,有些個案亦有證據顯示受害人的私處曾受創傷。」

法庭經聆訊後,就管有涉及兒童的色情物品頒下判刑指引:

第一級

第一級的嚴重程度最低(「影像顯示色情動作,但沒有性活動」),對被描劃的兒童所構成的影響,相對第二至第四級為輕;換句話說,第二至第四級的影像所帶來的傷害更大。如管有的色情物品數量較少,例如20個單位以內,而有關色情物品屬第一級,適當的刑罰包括社會服務令、緩刑或罰款。如色情物品所涉數量龐大,或畫面極盡挑逗,一至六個月的監禁便較為適當。

第二級

屬第二級的兒童色情物品(「影像顯示兒童之間進行性活動,或兒童獨自一人自瀆」)構成的影響遠較純粹做出色情動作嚴重,即時監禁將是適當的刑罰,刑期最多為9個月,視乎影像的數量而定。即使只管有少量屬第二級的影像,一般已可判處即時監禁。

第三級

第三級兒童色情物品(「影像顯示兒童與成人進行性活動,縱使並沒有插入性器官」)的嚴重程度進一步加劇,監禁刑期應為6至12個月,跟較低級別情況一樣,視乎影像的數量而定。

第四級

法庭認為,第四級兒童色情物品(「影像顯示兒童與成人進行性活動,並有插入性器官」及「性虐待或獸交」)屬最嚴重的情況,即使只有少量影像,監禁刑期亦應至少為12至36個月。

法庭強調首要考慮是保護脆弱的兒童,因此,即使以上指引看似嚴謹,仍屬必要。除非案件情況相當特殊,否則應對初犯者判處即時監禁。

返回
上一頁 下一頁