full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

FAQ

1. Are children allowed to work in Hong Kong?

In Hong Kong, youth are a special category of people who are specifically protected under the law.  The term youth includes both “children” and “young persons”. In relation to employment, a “children” are defined as persons under the age of 15 whereas “young persons” are defined as persons above the age of 15 but under the age of 18.

Children aged below 13 are generally not allowed to work in all economic sectors in Hong Kong. Children aged between 13 and 15 are not allowed to work in factories or to take employment that is industrial in nature; but they can be employed in non-industrial establishments. . The law further differentiates between those who have completed Form 3 education and those who have not. If children aged between 13 and 15 are employed, the employer has to adhere to certain work conditions, for example, there are limitations on the total number of hours of work a day, and break must be given to the child employee. Children workers shall not be employed in any premises which are deemed dangerous or morally bad for them.

For more details, please visit Child and Youth Affairs > Rights of youth as employee > Laws protecting young workers.

2. My 4 year old son was invited to perform in a TV commercial. What things should I be aware of?

Employers in the entertainment, advertising or related filed may employ child entertainers of different ages. There are procedural safeguards to protect child entertainers.

First, employers who wish to employ child entertainers should apply to the Commissioner of Labour. Second, the employment of the children should not “interfere with their well-being, including that of safety, health and morals”. Then, on application, the Commissioner of Labour will impose specific conditions and restrictions on a case-by-case basis. Moreover, children below the age of 13 are not allowed to work for profit purposes, even as entertainers. 

There are certain limitations on employment conditions. Special treatment is given to children under the age of six. Free transport should be provided to take each child employee home if he/she is required to work after 7 p.m. Furthermore, it is prohibited to involve a child in acts that are dangerous to his/her life, health or morals.

For further information, you may go to Child and Youth Affairs > Rights of youth as employee > Entertainers.

3. How does the law protect apprentices?

According to the Apprenticeship Ordinance, apprentices have special work hours, special contract terms, and a Director of Apprenticeship can be appointed to investigate claims and any infringement of the ordinancearising from the employment. Currently, there are 45 recognized apprenticeship trades.

The law requires every contract of apprenticeship to be in writing, and contain the prescribed terms and conditions. Apprentices are required by law to be medically examined with respect to his/her fitness to be employed in the trade. The employer should arrange and pay for the medical examination of the apprentice before the registration of the contract of apprenticeship.

The law permits apprentices to work overtime, but subject to certain limitations. If the Commissioner for Labour finds that overtime employment adversely affects the health of an apprentice, the Commissioner may prohibit the overtime employment.

For more details, please refer to Child and Youth Affairs > Rights of youth as employee > Apprenticeship.

4. Can verbal agreements be treated as employment contracts?

In Hong Kong, both written and verbal employment contracts are enforceable. But it is preferable that any employment contract is made in writing and signed, as signed written contracts have many more benefits over verbal employment contracts.

Written employment contracts that are signed have a multitude of benefits as they specify the employment terms and conditions. This has an effect of clearly delineating the obligations of both employers and employees and thus, would better protect the interests of the employees. If there is a dispute regarding work conditions, a clear, signed, written contract will have the effect of clarifying the issues. A signed, written contract can act as a reference point for both the employers and employees to discuss or arbitrate any of their contractual duties.

There are numerous things you have to be aware of before signing an employment contract. You may go to Child and Youth Affairs > Rights of youth as employee > Things to be aware of before signing employment contracts to learn more about this.

5. I am working as an intern in a hotel. Am I entitled to be paid by statutory minimum wage?

Normally, the Minimum Wage Ordinance applies to every employee, his or her employer and the contract of employment under which he or she is engaged. However, it does not apply to student interns and work experience students during a period of exempt student employment.

There are specific definitions for student interns and work experience students in law. For more details, please go to Child and Youth Affairs > Rights of youth as employee > Internship.

back
Previous Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,478,466 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

常見問題

1. 在香港,兒童可以工作嗎?

在香港,青少年受僱傭相關法律特別保護。「青少年」包括「兒童」及「青年」。就僱傭而言,兒童」是指不足15歲的人,而「青年」則是指年滿15歲但未滿18歲的人。

在香港,13歲以下的兒童一般不得受僱在任何行業工作。 介乎13至15歲的兒童禁止在工廠工作,或從事工業性質的工作;但他們可以受聘在非工業機構工作。所以,這些兒童可以在辦公室、服務業或零售業工作。這類兒童在法侓上可再細分為「已完成中三教育」和「未完成中三教育」兩類。僱主僱用這些兒童工作,必須遵守特定的工作條件,例如限制每日特定工作時間、必須准予休息等。 兒童亦不可受僱於危險或有違道德的地點工作。

想了解詳情,請參閱兒童及青少年事宜 > 青少年僱員權益 > 保護青少年僱員的法律

2. 我的四歲兒子獲邀在電視廣告中演出,我有甚麼需要注意?

娛樂界、廣告界或相關行業的僱主,可以聘用不同年齡的兒童藝員。為了保護兒童藝員,僱主需要遵從申請程序。

有意僱用兒童藝員的僱主須先向勞工處處長申請。兒童的僱用不可損害他們的福利,包括他們的安全、健康及道德品格。勞工處處長會在接獲申請後,會按個別情況,訂定特別條件及限制。即使是「藝員」,凡未滿13歲的兒童皆不得為賺取收入而工作。

臨時兒童演員的僱用條件受特定的限制,另有特別規定未滿6歲的兒童必須享有較頻密的休息時間。 如臨時兒童演員需在晚上7時後工作,僱主須免費接載他們回家。另外,一切危害該兒童性命、健康或道德品格的演出均被禁止。

想知道更多有關兒童藝員的資訊,請前往兒童及青少年事宜 > 青少年僱員權益 > 藝員

3. 法例如何保障學徒?

根據 《學徒制度條例》 ,學徒有特定的工作時間和合約條款。學徒事務專員可被委任負責調查各項有關僱傭的申訴和違例的情況。現時有45個獲認可行業,可設立學徒訓練。

法例規定學徒訓練合約必須依法以書面形式作出,亦必須載有指定的條款及條件,並規定每名學徒必須因應其受僱的指定行業,進行體格檢查。僱主須在註冊有關的學徒訓練合約前,安排學徒進行體格檢查,並支付該檢查費用。

學徒的工作時間受到限制,法律容許學徒超時工作,但需滿足特定條件。如果勞工處處長認為超時工作會對學徒健康造成不良影響,他有權禁止該學徒超時工作。

想對學徒制度有更多了解,可參考兒童及青少年事宜 > 青少年僱員權益 > 學徒

4. 口頭協議可以成為僱傭合約嗎?

在香港,書面或口頭的僱傭合約同樣具有法律效力,但以簽訂書面僱傭合約為佳,因書面合約較口頭合約有更多好處。

以書面方式簽訂的僱傭合約有許多好處,因書面合約可訂明相關的條款及條件,同時亦可清楚闡述僱主和僱員的責任,以進一步保障僱員利益。一旦對工作條件有爭議,清楚明確的書面合約便有助釐清問題。在僱主和僱員就合約責任進行討論或訟裁時,一份簽訂的書面合約亦可作為參考。

在簽訂合約前,您有數件事需要注意,請前往兒童及青少年事宜 > 青少年僱員權益 > 簽訂僱傭合約前應注意的事項了解詳情。

5. 我正在酒店實習,是否可獲支付最低工資?

一般情況下,《最低工資條例》 適用於每名僱員、其僱主及該僱員的僱傭合約。但是,該條例並不適用於實習學生和正處於獲豁免學生僱用期內的工作經驗學員。

條例對實習學生及工作經驗學員有特定定義,詳情可參考兒童及青少年事宜 > 青少年僱員權益 > 實習

返回
上一頁