full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

IV. Nuptial agreements

As long as society continues to evolve, matrimonial law is ever changing. Agreements made between couples before or after marriage become more common. Premarital and post-marital agreements are known as nuptial agreements. Nuptial agreements are contracts, entered into by couples, which determine the rights and obligations of each of them in the event their marriage fails. Premarital agreements are drawn up and signed before marriage, while post-marital agreements are made during the marriage. Post-marital agreements can be made either while the couple is still together, or when they separate. Post-marital agreements entered into during separation are known as “separation agreements”.

The content of nuptial agreements normally include terms for:

  • division of property
  • maintenance for support of a spouse
  • other financial arrangements such as trusts, company share transfers etc.

More complex agreements may arise where specific terms for a financial award result in the breakdown of the marriage.

A. Legal status of nuptial agreements

Separation agreements are agreements entered between couples once they have separated or on the occasion of their separation.  These are common because they are valid contracts, according to section 14 of the Matrimonial Property and Proceedings Ordinance (“MPPO”), Cap. 192. Furthermore, as in the Hong Kong Court of appeal case of L v C, the courts have affirmed that such agreements should be upheld unless there is a compelling case of unforeseeable circumstances.

If an agreement is made during marriage but before separation, then this is known as pre-separation post marital agreement.  This is not a separation agreement under section 14 of the MPPO.  These agreements will be governed by similar considerations as pre-marital agreements in accordance with the Radmacher principles discussed below.

Nuptial agreements, other than separation agreements, however, are not as common. There is no specific legislation concerning such nuptial agreements, and Hong Kong courts do not recognize such agreements as legally binding.  However, such agreements could be taken into account by the court when deciding the outcome in divorce proceedings involving ancillary relief and division of financial assets under section 7(1) of the MPPO as “circumstances of the case” or “conduct”, and may be upheld in part or in whole.

When the court needs to determine whether or not to make an order in accordance with a nuptial agreement, the question of fairness is the key issue. In the UK, it is likely that the court will follow the terms of the nuptial agreement and hold the parties to their agreement if the parties:

  1. are shown to have understood the terms of the agreement;
  2. had independent legal advice;
  3. gave full and frank disclosure of their financial positions;
  4. were not under pressure when signing the agreement;
  5. did not exploit a dominant position;

and if the agreement is not unjust.

This list is not exhaustive but provides a general basic guideline. A nuptial agreement should be given effect (that is, enforced) if it was “freely entered into by each party with a full appreciation of its implications unless in the circumstances prevailing, it would not be fair to hold the parties to their agreement.” (See: UK case Radmacher v Grantino)

In Hong Kong, although nuptial agreements other than separation agreements are not contractually binding, they can nevertheless still be taken into account when considering a division of the matrimonial assets, and can be relevant to the proceedings in the context of financial provision under the factors of section 7 of the MPPO.  A judge may very well look into the nuptial agreement and take into consideration the parties’ intention at the time of making the agreement. The overarching principle of proceedings for ancillary relief and division of financial assets is fairness, as demonstrated by the leading Hong Kong case LKW v DD.

Therefore, although a nuptial agreement (not being a separation agreement) may not be legally binding in Hong Kong, the agreement can be one of the factors that the judge takes into account when making decisions as to financial claims in a divorce.

B. Pre-marital agreements and public policy

Historically, pre-marital agreements were regarded as being contrary to public policy on the grounds that provision for a divorced wife and children of the family is a matter of public concern. In UK case Bennett v Bennett, the court said that “it is in the public interest that the wife and children of a divorced husband should not be left dependent on public assistance or on charity when he has the means to support them”.

For example, if a party had not given full and frank disclosure before the signing of the pre-marital agreement and the wife is left destitute under the agreement, the agreement may be contrary to public policy.  Another example might be that since the marriage, the parties' financial situations may have drastically changed (for the better or worse), thus what was initially agreed under the pre-marital agreement might not be “fair” or reflective of the parties’ living standard during the marriage.

Later, the UK court in the Radmachner case stated that pre-marital agreements are not contrary to public policy. However, this view is just of persuasive value in Hong Kong. Furthermore, pre-marital agreements cannot restrict parties from applying to the court for orders for financial arrangements.

In 2011, the Hong Kong court briefly acknowledged the Radmacher case, and stated an observation of the modern trend of nuptial agreements being recognized. However, Radmacher is not binding in law in Hong Kong. Until the Courts in Hong Kong or the legislature fully accept the binding effect of nuptial agreements, nuptial agreements, other than separation agreements, will continue not to be binding in a court of law. Nevertheless, the UK decisions have provided Hong Kong courts with some guidance on the status of nuptial agreements when determining ancillary relief and asset division in matrimonial matters.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 2,140,156 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

IV. 婚姻協議書

社會狀況變化不斷,與婚姻相關的法例亦隨之演變。近年,男女雙方在婚前或婚後簽訂協議書愈見普遍,這些協議可統稱為婚姻協議書,即男女雙方簽訂契約,訂明一旦離婚,雙方應負的責任及可享有的權利。婚前協議書於結婚前簽訂,婚後協議書則在婚後議定(不論雙方當時同住或分居)。如在分居期間簽訂的協議書,則稱為「分居協議書」。

婚姻協議書通常包含條款,以處理下列事項:

  • 分配財產
  • 贍養安排
  • 其他財務安排,如信託、公司股份轉讓等

更複雜的協議書,可包含特定條款,訂明一旦婚姻破裂可得的金錢補償。

A. 婚姻協議書的法律地位

夫婦在分居後或分居期間訂定的協議書,稱為「分居協議書」。根據香港法例第192章《婚姻法律程序與財產條例》 第14條,「分居協議書」屬有效契約,因此很常見。上訴庭亦曾在 L v C一案中,確認除非出現無法預計的迫切情況,否則分居協議書必須予以遵守。

不過,如夫婦於分居前便訂定協議,這種協議只屬於分居前的婚後協議書,與《婚姻法律程序與財產條例》 第14條以下的分居協議書不同。法庭處理此類協議書時,將會與處理婚前協議書一樣,依從「Radmacher原則」作出考慮,稍後將會詳述。

分居協議書以外的婚姻協議書並不常見,香港亦沒有法例與婚姻協議書相關,法庭亦不會視這類協議書有法律約束力。但是,法庭在離婚案件中,如須根據《婚姻法律程序與財產條例》 第7(1)條處理涉及附屬濟助及分配財產的事宜時,會考慮「案件的情況」及雙方的「行為」,婚姻協議(分居協議除外)的內容可成為考慮之列,法庭可能會採納部分或全部內容。

法庭決定是否依從婚姻協議書發出相應命令時,公平原則將是重要的考慮因素。以英國為例,如果雙方:

  1. 有證據顯示他們明白協議的條款;
  2. 曾徵求獨立的法律意見;
  3. 如實交代所有財政狀況;
  4. 自願簽署協議,不曾受壓;
  5. 沒有堅持處於主導;

而有關協議的條款公平,當地法庭很可能會按照婚姻協議書的條款,要求協議雙方遵從。

以上只屬基本指引,並不代表全部原則。除非因應現實情況要求雙方遵守協議絕不公平,否則只要雙方訂立協議時,完全明白協議條款的含意,並自願簽署(參考英國案例Radmacher v Grantino),法庭必會容許執行婚姻協議,發揮協議條款的原意。

婚姻協議書(分居協議書除外)在香港雖不具法律約束力,但法庭處理分配婚姻財產事宜時,仍可按照《婚姻法律程序與財產條例》 第7(1)條有關經濟需要的條文,考慮相關的婚姻協議。法官可審視婚姻協議的內容,並考慮雙方議定內容時的原意。香港一宗著名案例LKW v DD亦顯示,法庭處理涉及附屬濟助的案件時,將秉持公平原則。

總括而言,即使婚姻協議書不像分居協議書般具法律約束力,法官處理離婚案件時,如要決定如何分配婚姻財產,婚姻協議書仍是可考慮的因素之一。

B.婚前協議書及公共政策

社會一直認為,任何與離婚女子及其子女權益相關的法例條文,均牽涉公眾利益,因此,婚前協議書一直被視作有違公共政策。英國案例Bennett v Bennett便顯示,法庭認為夫婦離婚後,男方如有經濟能力支持女方及子女的生活,女方及其子女便不應依靠政府或慈善團體的援助生活,以符合公眾利益。

舉例說,如簽訂婚前協議的其中一方在簽署前沒有如實披露所有事實,雙方離婚後,女方因協議變得捉襟見肘,有關協議便有違公共政策。另一例子是,如雙方的經濟狀況於婚後有重大改變,不論轉變孰好孰壞,他們當初訂立的婚前協議便可能不再符合公平原則,或可能不再反映雙方於婚後的生活水平。

及後至審理Radmacher一案時,當時英國法庭指出,婚前協議並沒有違背公共政策。不過,英國法庭的裁決對香港法庭來說,只能起參考作用。再者,婚前協議亦不能禁止任何人向法院申請命令,以解決與財務相關的問題。

2011年,香港法庭亦曾提及Radmacher案例,並指出婚姻協議已愈見普遍。然而,Radmacher案例在本港仍不具法律約束力,除非香港法庭或法例承認婚姻協議的約束效力,否則這類婚姻協議(分居協議除外)將會繼續不具法律約束力。話雖如此,香港法庭處理附屬濟助及分配財產事宜時,仍會參考英國法庭就婚姻協議所作的裁決。

返回
上一頁 下一頁