full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

I. Things that you need to know before signing a Tenancy Agreement or a Lease

The content of a Tenancy Agreement will normally include the period/length of the tenancy, rent, payment period, deposit, use (e.g. residence, office, or factory) and other usual terms that will be described in the other parts of this topic.

Depending on the period of the tenancy and the capacities of the parties entering into the agreement (whether a party to an agreement is an individual, partnership or a limited company, etc.), different formalities for execution are required.

While the terms "Tenancy Agreement" and "Lease" are often used as if they are synonyms, there are some technical differences between them.

Period/length of the tenancy

A Lease is generally a document that creates a tenancy for more than 3 years . It has to be executed in the form of a deed, meaning that it has to be signed, sealed and delivered by the parties. That is to say, the parties have to sign the Lease, affix a red seal (a small red wafer) next to their signatures and exchange copies of the lease.

A Tenancy Agreement is generally a document that creates a tenancy for a period not exceeding 3 years . The parties to a Tenancy Agreement only have to sign it, without needing to affix the red seal and exchanging the document. To protect the interests of both parties, however, it is recommended that the parties should exchange copies of the Tenancy Agreement.

Capacities of the parties

The capacities of the parties entering into the Lease/Tenancy Agreement also affect the formalities of execution.

An individual, sole proprietorship or a partnership entering into a Lease must affix a red seal next to the signature of each signing person. A limited company must affix its common seal next to the signature(s) of the person(s) authorised to sign the Lease. Furthermore, the Lease has to be executed in accordance with requirements stipulated under the company's Articles of Association.

If the party to a Tenancy Agreement is a sole proprietorship, a partnership or a limited company, the chop or the rubber stamp (as the case may be) of the signing party also has to be affixed onto the Tenancy Agreement together with the signature of the signatory.

Table 1

The following table summarises the wording that may be used for the execution clause in a Lease/Tenancy Agreement (i.e. the part of a Tenancy Agreement/Lease where you sign your name).

Capacity of parties

Wording commonly used for the execution clause

 

Lease

Tenancy Agreement

Individual

Signed, sealed and delivered by [name of party]

Signed by [name of party]

Sole proprietorship

Signed, sealed and delivered by [name of the sole proprietor] trading as [trading name of the sole proprietorship]

CHOPPED WITH the chop of the [Landlord/Tenant] and signed by [name of the sole proprietor] trading as [trading name of the sole proprietorship]

Partnership

Signed, sealed and delivered by [names of all partners of the partnership] trading as [trading name of the partnership]

CHOPPED WITH the chop of the [Landlord/Tenant] and signed by [names of all the partners] trading as [trading name of the partnership]

Limited company

Sealed with the common seal of [name of the company] and signed by [name(s) of the signatory(ies)], duly authorised by its Board of Directors 

Signed for and on behalf of the [Landlord/Tenant, with company chop] by [name of signatory], duly authorised by its Board of Directors


If the property has been mortgaged to a bank/financial institution, the landlord must obtain the prior consent from that company before leasing it out. For more information regarding this matter, please go to Properties Arrangements > Landlord and tenant > Properties with mortgages .

1. Is it necessary to have a solicitor to represent

No law requires a party to a contract to be represented by a solicitor. As a matter of fact, some people enter into standard form tenancy agreements without obtaining legal advice or even without examining the content of the agreements.

Parties that have the benefit of solicitors, however, have their legal interests better protected because their solicitors will draft or scrutinise a tenancy document from a legal perspective with the parties’ interests in mind.

A tenancy document prepared by solicitors typically covers more aspects than standard form agreements because the former tends to identify more issues that can potentially lead to disputes. By identifying and dealing with these issues before the parties commit themselves to the tenancy document, the chance of future disputes between the parties may be reduced.

2. I heard about someone who claimed that they were the owner of a property for let. After the potential tenant had paid the deposit and the rent in advance, the “landlord” disappeared with the money. If I am going to rent a property, then how can I be sure that

The Land Registry provides a “Land Search” service to the public. Any person can conduct a search at the Land Registry to ascertain the ownership particulars of any property in Hong Kong. A potential tenant should always conduct a land search before entering into a tenancy document.

If the potential tenant is renting the property through an estate agent or has retained a solicitor firm, then the agent and the firm are duty bound to conduct such a search to protect the tenant's interests.

3. What major government departments are responsible for governing tenancy matters in Hong Kong? To which department(s) should a party go to if a tenancy dispute/problem arises?

The Rating and Valuation Department is responsible for administering the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance ( Cap.7 of the Laws of Hong Kong). Regarding tenancy matters, it also provides such services as endorsement of Notice of New Letting or Renewal Agreement , issuance of Certificate of Rateable Value and determination of the primary use of a property (i.e. whether it is used as a domestic or business/non-domestic premises). The Rent Officers of the Rating and Valuation Department will also answer public queries on tenancy matters through a telephone hotline at 21508229.

The Lands Tribunal is the major body responsible for handling tenancy disputes. Unlike the Court, a tribunal is characterized by informality. For example, the judge sitting at the Tribunal is called a presiding officer. The lawyer and the presiding officer do not have to wear court dress. The presiding officer plays a more intervening role and is more ready to discuss the issues with the parties.

If the dispute is purely about a monetary claim of $50,000 or less, then the claimant can make the claims at the Small Claims Tribunal . If the amount of the claim is higher or the relevant legal issue is more complex, then the parties can also bring the case to the District Court or the Court of First Instance of the High Court (please refer to Properties Arrangements > Landlord and tenant > How to recover the outstanding rent and get back the property? for more details).

4. How can I obtain tenancy information concerning the Government properties (such as public rental housing or shopping centres run by the Government)?

If you want to obtain tenancy information on public rental housing, please visit the Housing Authority and the Housing Department's webpage .

If you want to know more about the tenancy matters on Government shopping centres, please visit the Housing Authority and the Housing Department's webpage .

5. What is the difference between a tenancy and a licence?

A tenancy has the legal effect of passing an interest in land from the landlord to the tenant. It means that the tenant is given the right of occupation. If a landlord is in breach of a tenancy document, then the tenant can claim damages (compensation) against the landlord and continue to occupy the property in question.

In contrast, a licence creates no interest in land. The licensor only allows the licensee to use the land, not to exclusively occupy it. The licensee’s remedy against the licensor’s breach of the licence may lie only in claiming damages, but not in occupation of the property. Therefore, a licence is typically used for short-term occupation (e.g. for several weeks or months) or where the licensee does not have exclusive occupation of the property, e.g. a car parking space , a newsstand or a “kiosk” in a shopping mall.

To demonstrate the concept of “interest in land”, it is worth noting that there is no interest in land in the external walls of a building because a wall, being a vertical surface, is not land. Therefore, the owner of the rights and interests in the external walls of a building cannot let the walls to another party, but can only license the rights to use the walls.

It should also be noted that as a licence does not transfer any interest in land, it is not liable to stamp duty. However, it would be futile to label a document as a licence just to avoid stamp duty. Whether a document creates a tenancy or a licence does not depend on the name of the document, but on the factual circumstances evidenced by the document. A major factor in differentiating between a tenancy and a licence is to see whether the user has exclusive occupation or possession of the property. Subject to facts that will vary from case to case, the law generally accepts that a grant of exclusive occupation (the user can occupy the property solely and privately) for a term at periodic payments creates a tenancy.

The above matter involves complex legal arguments. You must consult a lawyer if you have further queries.

6. Before signing the formal tenancy agreement or lease, a tenant may sometimes be asked by a landlord to sign a document called "agreement for lease" or "provisional tenancy agreement". What are the consequences of signing this document?

An intending landlord and an intending tenant may enter into an agreement for lease prior to the execution of the lease/tenancy agreement itself. By signing this agreement, the intending landlord agrees to give, and the intending tenant agrees to take, a lease in the future.

The agreement for lease/provisional tenancy agreement is a contract. It must, therefore, satisfy the requirements of a contract. There must be offer from one party, acceptance from the other party, consideration, intention to create legal relations and so forth. The terms of the agreement must be sufficiently certain, including:

  1. the name of the parties;
  2. the name and address of the premises;
  3. the commencement date of the lease;
  4. duration of the lease;
  5. the rent, and other consideration.

An agreement for lease/provisional tenancy agreement is legally binding upon the parties to the agreement. If such an agreement is signed and one party subsequently refuses to sign the formal lease or tenancy agreement, the other party can apply to the court for an order of specific performance. That is, to apply for a court order to compel the defaulting party to fulfil the obligations as stipulated on the agreement.

Instead of signing an agreement for lease/provisional tenancy agreement, another possible scenario is that the tenant may be required to sign a document titled "offer to lease". This document will then be signed (i.e. accepted) by the landlord. In practice, the consequences of signing an offer to lease are similar to that of signing an agreement for lease.

For more about basic requirements of a contract, please go to "Business and Commerce" under the CLIC website.

back
Next Page

英文版本 繁體中文版本

欢迎!您是第 3,810,341 位访客

  • 缩细文字
  • 重设文字大小
  • 放大文字
阅读此部份全部内容 列印 转寄

I. 签署租约之前应注意的事项

租赁文件的内容一般都会包括租期、租金、付款日期、按金、用途(例如住宅、办公室、工厂等)及其他将于本文其余部分讨论的常见条款。

视乎有关租赁文件的租期及签约人 / 立约方的身分(例如个人、合夥人或有限公司等),签署文件的形式会有所不同。

常用的租赁文件包括租赁协议(tenancy agreement)及租契(lease)。虽然租赁协议及租契两词经常被当作同义词使用(亦经常被统称为「租约」),其实技术上来说,两者并不相同。

租期

租契 通常乃指租期 超过三年 的租赁文件。租契必须以契约方式签立,即必须经签署、盖章及交付。也就是说,租契各方须在一式两份的租契上签名、在签名旁盖上小红章(通常为一小片红色贴纸)及互相交换该租契。

租赁协议 通常指租期 不超过三年 的租赁文件。租赁协议的各方只须签署该协议,而毋须盖上小红章及互相交换该租赁协议。但为保障双方利益,最稳妥的做法还是签署一式两份的协议并将其互相交换。

立约方的身分

立约方的身分也对签署租赁文件的形式有所影响。

签署 租契 的个人、独资经营者或合夥商行须在其签名旁盖上小红章。有限公司则须于法定签署人的签名旁盖上公司印章 / 钢印,并须依据其公司章程细则签署该租契。

签署 租赁协议 的一方如属独资经营者、合夥商行或有限公司身分,除签名外,亦须在租赁协议盖上其公司图章或戳印(视乎情况而定)。

图表一

下图简列一般可用于签署条款的字眼(只供参考用):-

签署方身分

一般常用于签署条款的字眼

租契

租赁协议

个人

由〔立约方姓名〕 签署、盖章及交付

由〔立约方姓名〕 签署

独资经营者

由〔独资经营者之商业名称〕之〔独资经营者姓名〕签署、盖章及交付

兹盖上〔业主/租客〕之图章,并由〔独资经营者之商业名称〕之〔独资经营者姓名〕签署

合夥商行

由〔合夥商行之名称〕之〔所有合夥人之姓名〕签署、盖章及交付

兹盖上〔业主/租客〕之图章,并由〔合夥商行之名称〕之〔所有合夥人之姓名〕签署

有限公司

兹盖上〔该有限公司名称〕之印章/钢印,并由已获其董事局正式授权之〔签署者姓名〕签署 

兹盖上〔业主/租客〕之图章,并由已获其董事局正式授权之〔签署者姓名〕签署


假如物业已被按揭予银行 / 财务机构,业主在把物业租出前,必须先取得银行 / 财务机构的同意,否则对业主及租客均会带来负面影响。有关详情请参阅 物业安排 > 业主与租客 > 按揭物业

1. 是否必须有律师代表,方可订立租赁文件?

订立合约的各方有权选择是否聘用律师。事实上,就租务事项来说,很多人在签署一些标准租赁文件时,不但没有获取法律意见,甚至没有细阅其内容。

律师在草拟或细阅租赁文件时,必定会从法律角度着眼,并以其客户的利益为依归。拥有律师代表的一方之利益,自然会得到较佳保障。

律师草拟的租赁文件,大都能确认更多可能引起争议的事项,所以也比一般标准租赁文件涵盖更广。立约方如能在正式签订租赁文件前认清并处理这些问题,日后出现纠纷的可能性便可大为减低。

2. 听说有人冒称物业拥有人出租物业,但当准租客交付按金及租金上期后,该「业主」便消失无踪。假如我有意租用物业,我怎能确定那位「业主」是该物业的真正拥有人?

土地注册处 向公众提供「土地查册」服务。 任何人士均可在土地注册处查阅在香港之物业的拥有权资料。准租客应在签立租赁文件前进行有关查册。

假如准租客乃经由地产代理介绍租用物业,或已委讬律师行处理相关文件,该代理或律师行则有责任进行有关查册,以保障其客户的利益。

3. 香港有甚么政府部门专门处理有关租赁的事项?假若在租赁事项上出现纠纷/问题,应向那一个部门求助?

差饷物业估价署 负责执行《 业主与租客(综合)条例 》(香港法例 第7章 )。该署亦提供有关租赁事项的服务,例如批署 《新租出或重订协议通知书》 、发出《应课差饷租值证明书》及发出《处所主要用途证明书》等。公众亦可致电差饷物业估价署的电话热线2150 8229,向该署的租务主任查询有关租务的事项。

土地审裁处 乃负责处理有关租赁纠纷的主要机构。审裁处与法庭不同,审讯过程比较不拘形式,例如处理土地审裁处案件的法官和出席的律师均毋须穿着法庭服饰,法官也经常主动介入,直接与诉讼双方讨论案情。

假如有关纠纷只涉及金钱问题,而所涉金额不多于港币五万元,申索人可于 小额钱债审裁处 提出其索偿。假如所涉金额较高,或有关的法律问题比较复杂,则可于区域法院或高等法院兴讼(详情可参阅 物业安排 > 业主与租客 > 追讨欠租及收楼 )。

4. 有关政府物业(例如公屋单位或政府商场铺位)的租务问题,我怎样能获得更多资料?

如欲查询有关政府住宅物业的租务资料,请参阅 香港房屋委员会的网页

有关政府商业楼宇的租务资料,请往 相关网页 查看。

5. 「租赁」(tenancy)和「特许权」(licence)有甚么分别?

租赁的法律効力,就是把土地的权益从业主转移到租客身上,也就是说,租客藉此获得了土地的占用权。如果业主违反租赁文件的条款,租客不但可向业主索偿,也可继续占用有关物业。

另一方面,特许权并不涉及土地的任何权益。特许权发出人容许特许持有人使用土地,而非独有占用土地。因此,若特许权发出人违反特许权中的条款,特许权持有人只能索取赔偿,而未必能继续占用有关物业。因此, 特许权大都用于较短期的物业使用权(例如数星期或数月),或用于特许持有人并未获得独有占用权的情况 (例如车位、报摊或商场之「车仔档位」等)。

有关所谓「土地权益」的概念,可以大厦外墙为例说明。外墙乃一垂直的平面,所以不是土地,因此也无从产生土地权益。大厦外墙的权利及权益拥有人可以发出特许权,容许特许权持有人使用外墙,却不能把外墙租出。

由于特许权并无涉及土地权益的转移,所以特许权立约方毋须缴纳印花税。不过,单是把一份文件标题为「特许权协议」(licence agreement),并不能避付印花税。文件的名称并不足以决定其为租赁文件还是特许权,最重要的乃是该文件所刻划的实际情况。租赁和特许权的主要分别,在于物业使用者是否享有该物业的独有占用权。纵使个别情况可能相异,法律大致承认租赁的特色,就是物业使用者可藉在约定期内定期缴付某金额,而获享该物业的独有占用权(即可单独地、私下地占用该物业)。如合约双方就文件性质是否租赁或特许权而出现争议,法庭可作出最后的决定权。

上述法律问题较为复杂,如有其他疑问,请谘询阁下的律师。

6. 当双方签署正式租约之前,业主有时会要求租客签署一份类似临时租约的文件(可能会被称为「租契协议」或「租约确定书」)。签署这份文件有甚麽后果?

准业主和准租客在签立正式租约(即租契 / 租赁协议)之前,可先订立临时租约。签署这份文件后,即表示准业主同意在未来出租有关物业,而准租客亦同意在未来承租物业。

临时租约亦是一份合约,所以必须符合 订立一般合约的条件 ,即是必须由其中一方 提出要约、另一方接受该要约、付出代价、订立法律关系的意图等等。协议条款必须能够被确定的,包括:

  1. 双方名称;
  2. 楼宇名称及地址;
  3. 租约开始日期;
  4. 租约年期;
  5. 租金及其他需要付出的代价。

临时租约对双方均有法律约束力。在签署这份文件后,若果其中一方随后拒绝签署正式租约,另一方便可向法庭申请强制执行命令,亦即申请法庭命令去强制违约一方履行临时租约所订明的责任。

除了签署临时租约外,另一可能会出现的情况是:租客被要求签署一份名为「租赁要约」(Offer to Lease)的文件,然后再交由业主签署(即由业主接受有关租赁)。实际上,签署「租赁要约」的后果类似签署临时租约。

返回
下一页