full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

Appendix I: United Nations Convention of the Rights of the Child

The Convention on the Rights of the Child (“the Convention) was adopted by a United Nations (Resolution 44/25) on 20 November 1989. The Convention recognizes and protects the fundamental freedoms and inherent rights of children. It was extended to Hong Kong on 7 September 1994 by the United Kingdom Government, which was sovereign, or ruling, at that time. The Convention was ratified by the People’s Republic of China (“PRC”) on 2 March 1992 and re-affirmed on 10 June 1997. Accordingly, the Convention continues to apply to the Hong Kong SAR despite the resumption of sovereignty by the PRC in 1997.

This Convention is in force in most nations and is historically the most widely ratified treaty.  It provides an international system and a legal framework for the protection of children. The Convention defines a child as a person below the age of 18, unless the laws of a particular State Party or country recognise an earlier age of majority (that is, threshold of adulthood in law).

The Preamble to the Convention states that “……the United Nations has, in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, (“the Universal Declaration”) (adopted by General Assembly of the United Nations in December 1948) …… proclaimed that everyone is entitled to all the rights and freedoms set forth therein, without distinction of any kind, such as race, colour, sex, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth or other status.” The Preamble also reiterates that, as recognised in the Declaration of the Rights of the Child (“the 1959 Declaration”) (adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on 10th December 1959) the child, “by reason of his physical and mental immaturity, needs special safeguards and care, including appropriate legal protection before and after birth.” Paragraph 2 of the 1959 Declaration states that “The child shall enjoy special protection and shall be given opportunities and facilities, by law and by other means, to able him to develop physically, mentally, morally, spiritually and socially in a healthy and normal manner and in conditions of freedom and dignity. In the enactment of laws for this purpose, the best interests of the child shall be the paramount consideration.”

Paragraph 4 of the Preamble states that the need for such special safeguards had already been stated in the Geneva Declaration of the Rights of the Child of 1924 (“the Geneva Declaration”), and recognized in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (“the Universal Declaration”) and in the statutes of specialized agencies and international organizations concerned with the welfare of children. Paragraph 5 of the Preamble recognised that “mankind owes to the child the best it has to give.”

The Convention builds upon the Geneva Declaration, the Universal Declaration and the 1959 Declaration. It gathers together and restates rights and benefits previously found in various national and international statutes. Children’s rights are defined and protected. An important aspect of the Convention is the requirement for States Parties to report to and appear before the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child and to justify their actions or inactions in achieving the overall aims of the Convention. The UN’S monitoring and enforcement apparatus includes the Child’s Rights Caucus, the United Nations Human Rights Council and the Committee on the Rights of the Child.

Article 1 of the Convention defines a child as a " human being below the age of 18 years unless, under the law applicable to the child, majority is attained earlier." Children’s rights set out in the Convention include the right to survival, the right to special protection, the right to develop through education and the right to participation. The right to participation includes freedom of expression and freedom of thought, conscience and religion. Under the Convention all children, from the moment of birth, have these fundamental rights.

Article 3(1) of the Convention contains the important provision that "in all actions concerning children, whether undertaken by public or private social welfare institutions, courts of law, administrative authorities or legislative bodies, the best interests of the child shall be a primary consideration."

Under Article 4 of the Convention  States Parties are required to take all available measures to respect, protect and fulfil children’s rights. This includes reviewing the laws relating to children, assessing social services, legal, health and educational systems and the financial support for those services. States Parties must ensure that the minimum standards set out in the Convention are met: there is a positive duty to help families protect children’s rights. Where necessary this includes amending existing legislation or enacting new legislation. There is a positive obligation to create an environment where children can grow and achieve their full potential. Every child should enjoy freedom of expression, freedom of thought, conscience and religion, association and peaceful assembly.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,561,793 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

附錄I:《兒童權利公約》

聯合國於1989年11月20日通過《兒童權利公約》(《公約》)(第44/25號決議),確認兒童享有基本自由及與生俱來的人權,並應予以保護。1994年9月7日,當時的英國殖民地政府將《公約》伸延至香港實施。中華人民共和國(中國)則於1992年3月2日追認《公約》,並於1997年6月10日再次確認。因此,香港於1997年回歸後,《公約》繼續適用。

《兒童權利公約》在世界上大部分國家具有效力,亦是史上最廣為認可的條約,為保護兒童建立國際化的制度,提供法律框架。除非個別締約國或國家法律界定成年年齡低於18歲,否則根據《公約》,「兒童」便是指未滿18歲人士。

《公約》的序言表明:「……聯合國在《世界人權宣言》(由聯合國大會於1948年12月表決通過)宣布和同意:『人人有資格享受這些文書中所載的一切權利和自由,不因種族、膚色、性別、語言、宗教、政治或其他見解、國籍或社會出身、財產、出生或其他身份而有任何區別。』」序言同時重申,《兒童權利宣言》(由聯合國大會於1959年12月10日表決通過)已確認兒童「因身心尚未成熟,在其出生以前和以後均需要特殊的保護和照料,包括法律上的適當保護」。《兒童權利宣言》的第二段表明:「兒童應受到特別保護,並應通過法律和其他方法獲得各種機會與安排,使其在健康而正常的狀態、以及自由與具尊嚴的情況下,身體、心智、道德、精神和社會等方面,都得以發展。在為此目的制訂法律時,應以兒童的最佳利益為首要考慮。」

《兒童權利宣言》序言的第四段表明,《1924年日內瓦兒童權利宣言》已說明了這種特殊保護,並獲《世界人權宣言》及多個捍衛兒童福利的機構及國際組織規章確認。序言第五段並確認:「人類有責任給予兒童所需的最好待遇。」

《兒童權利公約》建基於《1924年日內瓦兒童權利宣言》、《世界人權宣言》及《兒童權利宣言》,集合多個本土及國際法規已賦予兒童的權利,重申他們可享有的利益,不但為兒童權利下了定義,同時保護這些權利。

《公約》要求締約國向聯合國兒童權利委員會報告,解釋已採取或沒有採取的措施如何達致《公約》的整體目的,這是《公約》的一大重要之處。聯合國設有監察及執行機制,包括兒童權利代表會議、聯合國人權理事會及聯合國兒童權利委員會。

《公約》第1條訂明兒童為「18歲以下的任何人,除非對其適用之法律規定成年年齡低於18歲」,亦訂出兒童擁有的權利,包括生存權、受到特別保護的權利、透過教育發展的權利以及參與權。參與權包括享有言論自由、思想、信仰及宗教自由。《公約》確認所有兒童自出生開始已經擁有這些基本權利。

《公約》第3(1)條包含了重要條文:「關於兒童的一切行動,不論是由公私社會福利機構、法院、行政當局或立法機構執行,均應以兒童的最大利益為首要考慮。」

《公約》第4條則指出,締約國應採取所有可行措施,保護及實現兒童權利,並彰顯對兒童權利的尊重。可行措施包括檢視與兒童有關的法律、評估與兒童相關的社會服務、法律、保健及教育制度及其財政支援。締約國必須確保達致公約訂定的最低標準:應推行措施協助家庭保護兒童權利,例如在有需要時修訂現行法例或制定新法例。締約國須肩負責任,締造有利兒童成長及全面發展潛能的環境。每名兒童都應享有言論自由、思想、信仰及宗教自由,以及結社及和平集會的自由。

返回
上一頁 下一頁