full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

V. Legal proceedings against a child

Whilst the Convention defines a child as a person who has not attained 18 years of age, criminal offences committed by persons aged 16 to 18 are dealt with in adult courts in Hong Kong. Even so, the emphasis for young offenders is still upon long term reform and rehabilitation. Section 109A of the Criminal Procedure Ordinance , Cap. 221 provides that unless the offence is one that can only be dealt with by a sentence of imprisonment, for example murder, persons aged over 16 and under 18 shall not be sentenced to imprisonment unless no other method of dealing with them is appropriate.

A. Criminal Liability

Section 3 of the Juvenile Offenders Ordinance (JOO), Cap. 226 , contains an irrebutable presumption that a person under 10 years of age cannot commit a criminal offence.

B. The Juvenile Court

Section 3A of the JOO established the Juvenile Court. A juvenile court has jurisdiction over charges against a child or young person other than a charge of homicide. The principle is to separate young offenders from older offenders. The emphasis with young offenders is upon long term reform and rehabilitation rather than simply punishment.

Under section 2 of the JOO a "child" is defined as a person under the age of 14 years whilst a “young person” is a person of 14 years of age or over, but under 16 years of age. No criminal charge against a child or young person shall be heard by a court of summary jurisdiction which is not a juvenile court. However, where a child or young person is charged together with a person who has attained 16 years of age, that charge will be heard before an adult court. The juvenile court only has jurisdiction over persons who have not attained 16 years of age. As joint offenders should be tried together the charge will be dealt with in the adult court.

However section 3F(1) of the JOO provides that a person under 16 years of age convicted in an adult court may be remitted to the Juvenile Court for sentence unless the convicting court is satisfied that it would be undesirable to do so. In most cases it is in the best interests of a child or young person to be remitted to the juvenile court for sentence as that court is especially equipped to deal with persons aged between 10 and 16.

As part of the long term reform and rehabilitation approach, juvenile courts sit in private. Under section 3D(3) of the JOO no person shall be present at any sitting of a juvenile court other than officers of the court; parties to the case before the court, their solicitors and counsel, and witnesses and other persons directly concerned in that case. Bona fide representatives of newspapers or news agencies may also be present.  Even so, any representative of a newspaper or news agency may be excluded from any sitting if the court considers this is necessary in the interests of the defendant.

As well as sitting in private, there are substantial restrictions on what may be published about events in the juvenile court. Under section 20A of the JOO no written report or broadcast of any proceedings in the juvenile court, or an appeal from a juvenile court which identifies the defendant or which would tend to identify the defendant, may be published.  The court may however dispense with the restrictions on identification if it is satisfied it is in the interests of justice to do so. This will depend on the circumstances of the particular case.

Section 6 of the JOO also provides that offenders under 16 years of age are to be kept separate from adult offenders both in court and on the way to and from court.

The JOO provides that no young person shall be sentenced to imprisonment if he/she can be suitably dealt with in any other way. This does not mean that persons under 16 years of age cannot be sentenced to imprisonment where the circumstances of the offence and the offender make imprisonment appropriate and deserved.  It does mean however that where loss of liberty is ordered this loss of liberty will be in the form of detention in a training centre, detention centre, or a rehabilitation centre, as those places are directed towards long term reform and rehabilitation. Where a person under 16 years of age is sent to prison they must be kept separate from adult prisoners.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,563,981 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

V. 向兒童展開法律訴訟

《兒童權利公約》定義兒童為未滿18歲的人士,但在香港,涉及16至18歲人士的刑事案件均由成人法庭處理。儘管如此,法庭的判刑重點一直是如何協助少年罪犯改過自新。 第221章《刑事訴訟程序條例》 第109A條 訂明,除非被告所犯的罪行,只能以監禁作為刑罰,例如謀殺,或沒有其他適當的刑罰,否則法庭不得對任何超過16歲但未滿18歲的人士判處監禁。

A. 刑事責任

第226章《少年犯條例》 第3條 訂明10歲以下兒童不能犯罪,屬一項不可推翻的推定。

B. 少年法庭

少年法庭藉 《少年犯條例》 第3A條 組成。少年法庭具有司法管轄權,審理針對兒童或少年人的刑事案件,但殺人罪行除外。設立少年法庭旨在將少年罪犯與成年罪犯分開處理,把重點放在協助少年罪犯改過自新,而非純粹施予制裁。

根據 《少年犯條例》 第2條 ,「兒童」是指未滿14歲的人,「少年人」則指年滿14歲但未滿16歲的人。少年法庭以外的裁判法庭不能聆訊針對兒童或少年人的任何罪行的檢控。然而,如兒童或少年人與另一名已年滿16歲的人同時被檢控,有關案件便會在成人法院聆訊。少年法庭的司法管轄權只能處理針對未滿16歲人士的刑事案件,如果案件涉及多名疑犯,由於他們必須同時接受聆訊,因此檢控便會由成人法院處理。不過, 《少年犯條例》 第3F(1)條 訂明,成人法庭如裁定一名未滿16歲人士罪名成立,除非法庭信納不宜將案件移交少年法庭,否則可將案件移交少年法庭判刑。由於少年法庭在處理10至16歲少年罪犯較具經驗,因此,在大部分情況下,將兒童或少年人移交少年法庭判刑,最能顧及他們的權益。

少年法庭處理案件的大前題是協助少年罪犯改過自新,因此聆訊都是閉門進行。 《少年犯條例》 第3D(3)條 訂明,除法庭人員、在法庭席前處理案件的各方、其律師和大律師、證人及直接與該案件有關的人士外,任何人不得在少年法庭旁聽。報社或新聞機構的真正代表亦可獲准旁聽,不過,法庭亦可以被告的權益為重,禁止報社或新聞機構的代表入內旁聽。

除了閉門聆訊,法例亦嚴格限制可報道的聆訊內容。 《少年犯條例》 第20A條 訂明,任何有關少年法庭的法律程序或上訴法律程序的報道(不論書面或廣播),均不得揭露被告的身分或導致被告的身分有可能被識別;但法庭亦可因公正目的,免除有關揭露身份的限制。法庭決定是否容許披露被告身分,將視乎個別個案的情況而定。

另外,根據 《少年犯條例》 第6條 ,16歲以下疑犯在法庭內、被解往或解離法庭時,均須與成年疑犯隔離。

《少年犯條例》 訂明,如有監禁以外的適當刑罰,法庭便不可對少年人判處監禁,可是,這並不表示16歲以下人士在任何情況下都不會被處以監禁。如法庭考慮控罪後,認為監禁屬適當的刑罰,或被告理應予以監禁刑罰,仍可判處監禁。不過,如要以褫奪自由來懲罰少年罪犯,法庭仍可考慮判其入教導所、勞教所或更生中心,這些場所均有助少年人改過自新。如有必要判處16歲以下人士入獄,少年罪犯必須與成年罪犯分開囚禁。

返回
上一頁 下一頁