full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

VI. Protection of child victims at trial

Child victims, especially victims of sexual abuse, are particularly vulnerable to the way in which the criminal justice system has traditionally operated, particularly at trial. It is, to put it mildly, an ordeal for the child victim of violence or sexual abuse to face his/her abuser in open court and be subjected to traditional forms of cross examination. Protection must be afforded to children in such situations if their best interests are to be protected. Articles 3 and 4 of the Convention are relevant here.

Article 3 of the Convention provides: “In all actions concerning children, whether undertaken by public or private social welfare institutions, courts of law, administrative authorities or legislative bodies, the best interests of the child shall be a primary consideration.” Article 4 of the Convention provides that “States Parties shall undertake all appropriate legislative, administrat ive, and other measures for the implementation of the rights recognized in the present Convention.” That involves devising procedures to enable child victims to give evidence in court in a way which allows substance and truth to prevail.

The Evidence Ordinance , Cap. 8 and the Criminal Procedure Ordinance , Cap. 221 provide some protection for children and juvenile victims of certain sexual or physical offences when they are giving evidence in court as prosecution witnesses. This is done by shielding them from the full rigour of the traditional trial format. These provisions recognise and attempt to reduce the trauma that child and juvenile victims of physical and sexual abuse face when giving evidence as prosecution witnesses. Inevitably this means some reduction in the rights of defendants, but these reductions are proportional and objectively justified in the interests of protecting children when giving evidence in court.

A. Affirmation by a child who is giving evidence in Court

Under section 4 of the Evidence Ordinance a child’s evidence in criminal proceedings must be given unsworn. A child for this purpose is a person under 14 years of age. The unsworn evidence of a child under 14 years of age shall be capable of corroborating the evidence of any other person whether that evidence is given sworn or unsworn. The common law system is sometimes criticised as placing too much reliance on procedural correctness. Section 4 of the Evidence Ordinance addresses this criticism with respect to the evidence given by children under 14 years of age: concentration is upon the substance of the child’s evidence in the context of the evidence as a whole. The question is whether or not the child’s evidence is worthy of belief to the standard required in the context of all the evidence in the case.

B. Special procedures for vulnerable witnesses

A new part, called Part IIIA , sections 79A to 79G , was added to the Criminal Procedure Ordinance (CPO) in 1995. Section 79B of the CPO enables a court, either on application or of its own volition, to allow a child, other than the defendant, to give evidence and be cross examined by way of a live television link. This is done where the offence is an offence of sexual abuse, or cruelty, or an assault on, or injury to or the threat of injury to,a person and this is done whether the offence is tried on indictment or tried summarily. An offence of sexual abuse is an offence against Part VI or Part XII , other than sections 126 , 147A and 147F of the Crimes Ordinance or an offence against section 3 of the Prevention of Child Pornography Ordinance . An offence of cruelty means an offence against section 26 or 27 of the Offences against the Person Ordinance . As a result, each of Hong Kong’s trial courts can allow a child to give evidence in these situations by way of a live television link.

For the purposes of section 79B (live television link), in a case of sexual abuse a child is a person under 17 years of age, and in a case where the section applies and it is not a case of sexual abuse, a child is a person under 14 years of age. A live television link is “a system in which a courtroom, and another room located in the same premises as the courtroom, are equipped with, and linked by, a closed circuit television system that is capable of allowing persons in the courtroom to see and hear persons in the other room and persons in the other room to hear, or see and hear, persons in the courtroom” .

Sections 79B and 79C of the CPO must be read together with the Live Television Link and Video Recorded Evidence Rules (LTLVRER), Cap. 221J which govern giving evidence through a live video link ( section 79B of the CPO ) and giving evidence by way of a pre-recorded video interview ( section 79C of the CPO ).

A witness giving evidence through a live video link will be in a separate room to persons in the courtroom. Those persons can see the witness through the visual link and the witness can see persons in the courtroom. With the leave of the court, the LTLVRER allows child witnesses to be accompanied by a support person when giving evidence through a live video link. That support person should not be a witness in the case or have been involved in the investigation of the case.

In cooperation with the police, the Social Welfare Department has established a witness support programme for child witnesses. These measures are designed to reduce the trauma of giving evidence and to create some separation between the child and the defendant. Suggestions have been made that the defendant may be prejudiced as the television link weakens the impact of cross examination. This point was discussed in the court case R v. Chan Bing For . The Court of Appeal there accepted that the common law principal of ‘eyeball to eyeball’ confrontation had been diluted and that there were sound reasons for this with vulnerable witnesses.

Sections 79C and 79D of the CPO allow a pre-recorded video record of an interview of a child witness to come into evidence in criminal trials for specified offences provided leave is obtained from the court. Applications to use a pre-recorded video interview are governed by the LTLVREO . The child is interviewed by a police officer or by a social worker or clinical psychologist employed by the government ( section 79C(1) ).

A child for the purposes of sections 79C and 79D is, in an offence of sexual abuse, a person under 17 years of age, or if under that age when the video recording was made, is under 18 years of age at the time of trial. Where the offence is an offence of cruelty or involves an assault, injury or threat of injury, a child is a person under 14 years of age, or a person who was under that age when the video recording was made, and is under 15 years of age at the time of trial.

Provided leave is obtained, the video recording becomes evidence of any fact stated in the recording upon which the child could have given direct oral evidence. The recording stands as evidence in chief. The child is called as a witness by the party putting the recording into evidence. The child may not be questioned in chief on any matter which in the court’s opinion has been adequately dealt with in the recording. After the recording has been shown the child can be cross examined, usually through a live television link. An application for leave to use the pre-recorded interview during a trial will normally accompany an application to give evidence through a live television link.

Applications to use a pre-recorded video interview as evidence in chief at the trial must be accompanied by the recording it is proposed to use. The notice of application must include:  the name of the defendant and the offence or offences charged;  the name and date of birth of the witness in respect of whom the application is made; the date on which the video recording was made; a statement that, in the opinion of the applicant, the witness is  willing and able to attend the trial for cross-examination;  a statement of the circumstances in which the video recording was made; and  the date on which the video recording was disclosed to the other party or parties.

As the purpose of these provisions is to lessen the trauma of the child giving evidence, applications for leave to give evidence through a live television link, and applications to use a pre-recorded video interview, will normally be granted unless the witness will not be available for cross examination or the interests of justice require the recording to be excluded.

“Interests of justice” is a vague term. In deciding whether or not to allow the recording to be used the court carries out a balancing exercise. The interests of protecting the child witness, and the public interest in ensuring that persons who are guilty of the offences covered by the procedure are convicted, are balanced against the interests of the defendant in defending the charge. In that balancing exercise, the court will consider the circumstances under which the recording was made. Care must be taken when interviewing the child to avoid leading questions (questions which contain the answer within the question) or which suggest what must have happened rather than ask for information about what happened.

Similarly the court will be alert to any suggestion that the child has been coached or is being prompted during the interview. The court has the power to direct that a part of the pre-recorded record should be excluded in the interests of justice. In that event the original recording will be edited in accordance with Practice Direction 9.5 Evidence by Way of Live Television Link or Video Recorded Testimony .

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,563,832 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

VI. 聆訊期間保護兒童受害者

兒童受害者經歷傳統的刑事審訊過程,特別容易因聆訊再受傷害;性侵犯受害者更尤其脆弱。兒童受害者曾受暴力對待或性侵犯,卻要在法庭面對施虐者,並接受一般盤問,對他們而言恰如煎熬,因此必須保護他們,並保障他們的權益。《兒童權利公約》第3及第4條便適用;第3條提到:「關於兒童的一切行動,不論是由公私社會福利機構、法院、行政當局或立法機構執行,均應以兒童的最大利益為首要考慮。」至於第4條則指出:「締約國應採取一切適當的立法、行政和其他措施以實現本公約所確認的權利。」這包括採取措施,確保兒童受害者能在法庭作證,呈現事實和真相。

兒童和少年受害人遭受性侵犯或暴力對待,以證人身份出庭作供時,可受 第8章《證據條例》第221章《刑事訴訟程序條例》 的條文保障,免卻接受傳統的法律審訊程序。有關安排的目的是要減低受害人作供時再次承受創傷,雖難免削弱被告的權利,但影響有限,而在保護兒童權益的前題下,亦言之成理。

A. 兒童在法庭作供宣誓

根據 《證據條例》 第4條 ,14歲以下人士即為兒童;而在刑事法律程序中,兒童毋須在宣誓下作供,而有關證據將可佐證由其他人所提供的證據(不論經宣誓或未經宣誓)。外界不時批評《普通法》體制過分追求程序的準確性, 《證據條例》 第4條 有關14歲以下人士作供的安排,便回應了有關批評。其著眼點在於兒童的證供整體上是否有份量,亦即有關證據是否可信至舉證所需的標準。

B. 易受傷害證人的特別程序

1995年, 《刑事訴訟程序條例》 加入 第IIIA部( 第79A79G條),當中 第79B條 訂明,法庭審理的案件如涉及性侵犯、殘暴、襲擊、傷害或恐嚇傷害某人的罪行,不論該罪行循公訴程序或循簡易程序審訊,均可申請或主動准許兒童藉電視直播聯繫方式作供或接受訊問。涉及性侵犯的罪行是指 《刑事罪行條例》 下 第VI部及 第XII部列明的罪行( 第126條第147A條第147F條 除外),以及 《防止兒童色情物品條例》 第3條 列明的罪行,而涉及殘暴的罪行則是指 《侵害人身罪條例》 第2627條 。換句話說,香港各級法庭聆訊涉及這些罪行的案件時,均容許受害兒童以電視直播聯繫方式作供。

在涉及性侵犯罪行的案件中,如受害兒童要以電視直播聯繫作供,須為17歲以下人士;在其他案件則須為14歲以下人士。「電視直播聯繫」是指一套閉路電視系統,連接法庭及位處同一座法院大樓的另一房間;法庭和該房間內的人士可透過這套系統作電視直播,互相看到和聽見對方。

《刑事訴訟程序條例》 第79B79C條 必須與 第221J章 《電視直播聯繫及錄影紀錄證據規則》 (《規則》)一同應用。《規則》規範如何透過電視直播聯繫提供證據( 《刑事訴訟程序條例》 第79B條 )以及以錄影紀錄作供( 《刑事訴訟程序條例》 第79C條 )。

證人如以電視直播聯繫提供證據,將身處於法庭以外的房間,庭內的人和證人可以透過電視直播看見彼此。法庭可根據《規則》批准兒童證人由另一人陪同以電視直播作供,但該名人士不可是案件的證人,亦不可牽涉該案的調查。

社會福利署與警方合作成立支援證人計劃,協助兒童證人。計劃旨在減低兒童因作供而承受的創傷,以及分隔兒童與被告。有意見認為,透過電視作供會導致庭上盤問難收其效,對被告不公;此論點在上訴案件 R訴Chan Bing For )一案中亦有提及。上訴庭同意,以電視直播作供會減低普通法中面對面詢問的效果,但在保護易受傷害證人的大前題下卻是理據充分。

根據 《刑事訴訟程序條例》 第79C79D條 ,法庭審理涉及某些罪行的刑事案件時,可批准兒童證人以預錄的形式接受詢問,並容許以預錄影像作為聆訊證供。控方須根據《規則》申請預錄詢問,而詢問則須由警務人員、政府聘用的社工或臨床心理專家進行( 第79C(1)條 )。

在涉及性侵犯罪行的案件中,任何人如要依據 《刑事訴訟程序條例》 第79C79D條 作供,須為17歲以下人士,或錄影時未滿17歲而出庭聆訊時未滿18歲。如案件涉及殘暴、襲擊、傷害或恐嚇傷害某人的罪行,兒童則指14歲以下人士,或錄影時未滿14歲而出庭聆訊時未滿15歲的人士。

兒童獲准可以錄影作供,該片段便會成為主問證據,作為支持事實的證供,就如該名兒童直接作供一樣,兒童則是要求以錄影片段作為證據的一方之證人。如法庭認為某些事項已在錄影中獲妥善處理,控方在主問時,便不可再詢問有關事項。法庭播放有關錄像後,該兒童證人便可透過電視直播接受盤問。在審訊期間,如申請准許兒童以預錄形式接受詢問,一般亦會同時申請准許以電視直播作供。

申請以預錄形式為主問證據,必須同時提交有關錄影紀錄,申請通知還須包括:被告人的姓名及被控罪行;申請所關乎的證人的姓名及出生日期;錄影紀錄的製作日期;由申請人所作的陳述,述明證人願意和能夠出席審訊並接受盤問;述明製作錄影紀錄的情況的陳述;及何時向涉案各方披露錄影紀錄。

這些條文旨在減輕兒童因作供所承受的創傷,除非證人不能接受盤問,或法庭認為基於公義理由不能予以批准,否則法庭便會接納以電視直播聯繫作供,及以預錄方式紀錄詢問的申請。所謂「公義理由」意思抽象;法庭決定是否接納有關申請時,會平衡各方利益,不但要保障兒童證人的利益,亦要維護被告的抗辯權益,同時合乎公眾利益,確保經審訊後確定有罪的人士可被定罪。法庭會審視錄影的情況:發問須小心避免引導性提問(即問題中已包含答案),以尋求事件的細節為目的,不可假定某些事件已發生。此外,法庭亦會檢視兒童作答時,是否曾經遭他人教唆,並有權基於公義理由,決定不採納錄影紀錄的某一指定部分。在此情況下,錄影紀錄便會根據《藉電視直播聯繫方式提取的證據或錄影的證供》的實務指示(實務指示9.5)進行剪輯。

返回
上一頁 下一頁