full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

III. Crimes relating to prostitution

Prostitute

The word “prostitute” is defined by section 117(1) of the Crimes Ordinance ( Chapter 200 ), as referring to a person of either sex. A prostitute is a man or a woman who offers his or her body commonly for acts of lewdness in return for payment. Sexual intercourse is not a pre-condition for prostitution.

A. Soliciting for an immoral purpose

It is an offence contrary to section 147 of the Crimes Ordinance ( Chapter 200 ) to solicit in a public place or in the view of the public for an immoral purpose or to loiter in a public place for the purposes of soliciting for an immoral purpose.

The maximum penalty for this offence is a fine of $10,000 and imprisonment for 6 months.

A “public place” is:

  1. any place to which for the time being the public or a section of the public are entitled or permitted to have access, whether on payment or otherwise; and

  2. a common part of any premises notwithstanding that the public or section of the public are not entitled or permitted to have access to that common part or those premises.

The most straightforward example of soliciting for an immoral purpose in a public place is the prostitute who approaches persons in the street and offers sexual services in return for payment. Other, more sophisticated soliciting may involve advertisement on the Internet. The common factor is the active offering of sexual services in return for payment, giving the word “solicit” its usual meaning of asking for something. What is asked for is money, what is offered in return is sexual activity.

The standard for “immoral purpose” is the contemporary standard of morality. Soliciting for prostitution in a public place is soliciting for an immoral purpose. The words “immoral purpose” cover such acts as buggery and acts of gross indecency as well as sexual intercourse.

B. Causing or encouraging prostitution of girl or boy under 16

It is an offence contrary to section 135 of the Crimes Ordinance ( Chapter 200 ) for a person to cause or encourage the prostitution of, or an unlawful sexual act with a girl or boy under the age of 16 for whom that person is responsible.

The maximum punishment is imprisonment for 10 years.

“Prostitution” means a man or a woman offering his or her body commonly for acts of lewdness in return for payment. Prostitution does not require sexual intercourse though frequently that will occur. The essence of prostitution is the offer of the body for acts of lewdness in return for payment.

A person is responsible for the girl or boy if he or she is the parent or guardian of the girl or boy, has actual possession or control of the girl or boy, or has the custody, charge or care of the girl or boy.

The ordinary meaning of “encourage” is suggesting by words and/or by actions that something should happen. The prosecution must prove that the defendant actively encouraged the prostitution or the unlawful sexual act. This is a question of fact in each case. Prostitution may be caused or encouraged by knowingly allowing the boy or girl to consort with prostitutes or enter or continue in the employment of any prostitute or person of known immoral character. Allowing a girl or boy under the age of 16 for whom the defendant is responsible to work or to continue to work in premises where the defendant knows that prostitution or unlawful sexual acts take place would likely be seen as encouragement for the purposes of section 135 .

C. Living on earnings of prostitution

It is an offence contrary to section 137 of the Crimes Ordinance ( Chapter 200 ) to knowingly live wholly or in part on the earnings of prostitution of another.

The maximum penalty is imprisonment for 10 years.

The essence of the offence is knowingly receiving money from the acts of prostitution or knowingly being supported by the prostitute from the proceeds of that prostitution. The offence is sometimes referred to simply as “living on” which aptly describes the parasitic nature of the offence. The word “person” in section 137 confirms that the offence may be committed by a man or by a woman. Simply receiving money from a prostitute, for example as payment for food or accommodation supplied, is insufficient for a conviction under section 137 . The circumstances of the defendant’s relationship with the prostitute and the circumstances in which the payment was received from the prostitute must be considered. The prosecution must prove the defendant knew that he or she was living on wholly or partly the earnings of prostitution.

There are 3 distinct situations which the prosecution can rely upon when trying to prove an offence under section 137 . These are:

  1. proof that the defendant was living with the prostitute;
  2. proof that the defendant was habitually in the prostitute’s company;
  3. proof that the defendant exercised control, direction or influence over the prostitute’s movements in a way that showed he or she was aiding and abetting or compelling that prostitution.

In either or those circumstances the defendant is presumed to be knowingly living on the earnings of prostitution.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,480,645 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

III. 賣淫及相關罪行

娼妓

第200章《刑事罪行條例》 第117(1)條 列明,「娼妓」是指男性或女性娼妓。任何男性或女性,出賣自己的身體,從事下流的行為,以換取報酬,就是娼妓,而性交並不是賣淫的前設條件。

A. 為不道德目的而唆使他人

根據 第200章《刑事罪行條例》 第147條 ,在公眾地方、或在公眾可見的情況下,為不道德目的而唆使其他人,或者為了不道德目的而唆使其他人,而在公眾地方遊蕩,就是違法。

這項罪行的最高刑罰是監禁6個月及罰款1萬元。

「公眾地方」是:

  1. 任何只要在特定的時間內,公眾人士或任何一類公眾人士,可以以付費或其他方式,有權進入或獲准進入的地方;及

  2. 公眾人士或任何一類公眾人士,沒有權或不獲准進入的地方,但該地方是建築物的共用部分。

在公眾地方為不道德目的而唆使他人最直接的例子,是娼妓在街上拉客,向途經的人表示可以提供性服務,以換取報酬。比較複雜的唆使,可能涉及互聯網上的廣 告。兩者的共通點,是積極提出可以用性服務去換取報酬,而「唆使」的一般解釋,就是提出想要一些東西。提出想要的東西是金錢,而提出可給予的回報,就是性 活動。

界定「不道德目的」所用的標準,就是現代社會對道德的標準。娼妓在公眾地方拉客,就是在公眾地方為不道德目的而唆使他人。「不道德目的」還包括其他行為,例如是雞姦、嚴重猥褻行為及性交等。

B. 導致或鼓勵16歲以下男童或女童賣淫

根據 第200章《刑事罪行條例》 第135條 ,任何人如對16歲以下的男童或女童負有責任,而他 / 她導致或鼓勵該名兒童賣淫或從事非法性行為,就是犯法。這項罪行的最高刑罰是監禁10年。

「賣淫」是指一名男子或女子,出賣自己的身體,作出普遍被視為下流的行為,以換取報酬。雖然賣淫不時是進行性交,但在法律上,賣淫未必要涉及性交,賣淫的要素是出賣自己的身體,作出下流的行為,以換取報酬。

如果一個人是男童或女童的家長或監護人、實際接管或控制男童或女童的人、管養、監管或照顧男童或女童的人,都是對男童或女童負有責任的人。

「鼓勵」依字面解釋,就是以語言和 / 或動作,去建議某些事情應該發生。控方必須證明被告積極鼓勵賣淫或進行非法性行為。這要視乎每宗個案的事實判斷。任何人在明知的情況之下,仍然容許男童或 女童與娼妓或不道德的人為伍,或容許男童或女童,受娼妓或不道德的人聘用或繼續聘用,都算是導致或鼓勵賣淫。根據 第135條 ,任何人對16歲以下的男童或女童負有責任,而他 / 她容許男童或女童,在妓院或從事非法性行為的地方工作或繼續工作,亦可能算是導致或鼓勵賣淫。

C. 依靠他人賣淫的收入維生

根據 第200章《刑事罪行條例》 第137條 ,任何人明知而完全或局部依靠另一人的賣淫收入為生,就是犯法,最高刑罰可被判監禁10年。

控罪的要素是明知金錢是從賣淫行為賺取得來的,但仍然收取金錢,或者明知娼妓是以賣淫賺取收入,仍然依靠娼妓維生。這項控罪有時被稱為「靠娼妓維生」,適當地反映了干犯罪行的人,有如寄生蟲。 第137條 列明,「任何人」可以是男性或女性。純粹是收取娼妓的金錢,例如收取膳食費或住宿費,並不足以構成干犯 第137條 所列明的罪行。法庭必須考慮被告與娼妓之間的關係,以及被告為甚麼收取娼妓的金錢。控方必須要證明,被告是知道自己完全或局部依靠另一人的賣淫收入為生。

根據 第137條 ,控方可以依賴三個個別情況,去證明被告違法,包括:

  1. 證明被告與娼妓同住;
  2. 證明被告慣常地與娼妓在一起;
  3. 證明被告控制、指示或影響娼妓的一舉一動,從而顯示他 / 她正協助、教唆或強迫娼妓賣淫。

如果證明出現上述情況,法庭就會假定被告明知而依靠他人賣淫的收入維生。

返回
上一頁 下一頁