full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,007,170

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

V. Intimidation and blackmail

A. Criminal intimidation

Criminal intimidation is an offence contrary to section 24 of the Crimes Ordinance ( Chapter 200 ).
The offence of criminal intimidation involves:

  1. threats of injury to the person, property or reputation of the person; or
  2. threats of injury to a third person (e.g. a family member) their property or reputation; or
  3. threats of any illegal act.

The threats must be intended to:

  1. alarm the person threatened or any other person;
  2. to cause the person threatened or any other person to do an act he or she is not legally bound to do; or
  3. to cause the person threatened or any other person to omit to do any act they are legally entitled to do.

There must be threats to injure the person, damage the property or reputation of the person to whom the threats are directed or someone close to them. Whether or not there is a threat is a question of fact in all the circumstances of the particular incident. The threat must be made with the intention to alarm the person to whom the threats are directed or to cause that person to do something he or she is not legally required to do or not to do something he or she is legally entitled to do. Whether or not the threat is made with the necessary intent is again a question of fact in all the circumstances of the particular incident.

It is, for example, an offence to hawk without a licence. An illegal hawker may be arrested. The penalty the illegal hawker faces upon conviction includes forfeiture of the goods being hawked and the apparatus being used in the hawking. A hawker control officer attempting to seize the goods and apparatus of an illegal hawker may be threatened with injury unless he or she refrains from seizing the goods and apparatus. This is criminal intimidation: there is the threat of personal injury. The intention is to frighten the hawker control officer into failing to do his or her duty of seizing the goods and apparatus used in the illegal hawking. A variation on the theme would be if the illegal hawker threatened to set fire to the officer’s home or chop a family member unless the officer refrained from seizing the goods and the hawking apparatus. In situations such as these, a court would likely have little difficulty in finding, as a fact, the hawker had the intent required by section 24 of the Crimes Ordinance ( Chapter 200 ).

B. Blackmail

Blackmail is an offence contrary to section 23 of the Theft Ordinance ( Chapter 210 ).

Blackmail is making any unwarranted demand with menaces. The demand must be made with a view to gain or with intent to cause loss to another person. Menaces simply mean threats. A demand with menaces is unwarranted unless the person making the demand believes he or she has reasonable grounds for making the demand and that the use of the menaces is a proper means of reinforcing the demand.

Blackmail is generally used where the victim is asked to pay money, for example, for the return of photographs of engaging in illicit sexual activities. The menaces are the threat to reveal the photographs, for example, to the victim’s spouse, unless money is paid for the photographs. The nature of the act or omission demanded is however immaterial. The issue is whether there has been an unwarranted demand with menaces with a view to gain or with intent to cause loss.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,480,645 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

V. 恐嚇及勒索

A. 刑事恐嚇

根據 第200章《刑事罪行條例》 第24條 ,刑事恐嚇是刑事罪行。

  1. 威脅會傷害其他人的身體、財產或名譽;或
  2. 威脅會傷害第三者(例如事主的家人)的身體、財產或名譽;或
  3. 威脅會作出違法行為。

這些威脅必須是意圖:

  1. 令被威脅的人或其他人受驚;
  2. 導致被威脅的人或其他人,去作出他 / 她原本沒有法律義務去做的事;或
  3. 導致被威脅的人或其他人,不作出他 / 她原本有法律權利去做的事。

刑事恐嚇必須是指向被威脅的人,或與他 / 她關係密切的人,並且必須是威脅會傷害他們的身體、損壞他們的財物、或損害他們的名譽。是否存在威脅,要視乎每宗個案的情況及事實判斷。威脅必須是有意圖令被威脅的人受驚,或導致他 / 她作出原本沒有法律義務去做的事、或不作出原本有法律權利去做的事。是否存在有意圖的威脅,同樣要視乎每宗個案的情況及事實判斷。

舉例說,在街上無牌擺賣是犯法的,無牌小販會被拘捕,如果被裁定罪名成立,就要面對懲罰,包括充公貨品和擺賣工具。如果小販管理隊人員在企圖取走無牌小販 的貨品和擺賣工具時,有人威脅小販管理隊人員,要求他 / 她停止充公,否則會傷害他 / 她。這就是刑事恐嚇——有人威脅會傷害他人的身體,而意圖就是嚇怕小販管理隊人員,令他 / 她無法履行自己的職責,取走無牌擺賣的貨品和擺賣工具。又如果在同一情況下,無牌小販威脅小販管理隊人員,要求他 / 她停止充公,否則會在他 / 她的住所放火、或追斬小販管理隊人員的家人。在這類情況下,法庭在考慮無牌小販的意圖,是否符合 第200章《刑事罪行條例》 第24條 所列明的條文時,可能沒有甚麼困難。

B. 勒索

根據 第210章《盜竊罪條例》 第23條 ,勒索是刑事罪行。

勒索是以威脅的方式,提出不當要求,這個要求必須是為了獲益,或者有意圖導致其他人受損。除非提出要求的人,相信他 / 她有合理理由提出這些要求;而使用威嚇的手段,是加強提出要求的適當手段,否則就是以威脅方式提出不當要求。

勒索通常是要求受害人交錢,例如以金錢換取性愛照片。威脅就是要脅會將照片公開,例如是威脅事主付錢,否則會將性愛照片展示給事主的妻子看。要求對方作出或不作出甚麼行為,並不重要。重要的是,被告是否曾經以威脅的方式,作出不當要求,以求獲益或有意圖導致其他人受損。

返回
上一頁 下一頁