full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

VIII. Offences relating to dishonestly

A. Theft

Theft is an offence contrary to section 9 of the Theft Ordinance ( Chapter 210 ). It involves the dishonest appropriation of property belonging to another with the intention of permanently depriving the other of it.

The word “appropriates” simply means treating someone else’s property as your own to do what you like with.

The words “belonging to another” mean that the property belongs to someone other than the person who takes it.

To amount to theft, the taking of someone else’s property must be dishonest and with the intention to permanently deprive that person of their property. A person is dishonest if right thinking members of society would consider that what the taker did was dishonest and the taker realised that what was being done was dishonest according to that standard. This is what is known as “the Ghosh test” from the leading authority R v Ghosh , a decision of the English Court of Appeal in 1982. Ghosh remains good authority for the law of theft in Hong Kong.

B. Burglary

Burglary is an offence contrary to section 11 of the Theft Ordinance ( Chapter 210 ). It is committed where a person enters a building or part of a building as a trespasser with intent to steal anything inside the building or part of a building, inflicting grievous bodily harm on any person therein, raping any woman therein or intending to do any unlawful damage to the building or anything therein.

Burglary is also committed where a person who has entered a building or any part of a building as a trespasser steals or attempts to steal anything inside the building or the part of a building or inflicts or attempts to inflict grievous bodily harm on any person therein.

Entry as a trespasser simply means intentionally going into a building or a part of a building without the permission of the owner or occupier of the building or without any lawful right to enter.

Whether the place entered is a building or part of a building is a question of fact in each case. A customer in a shop who goes into a part of a shop marked “Private” or “Staff Only” enters that area as a trespasser. A customer only has permission to enter the public area of the shop.

C. Making off without payment

Making off without payment is an offence contrary to section 18C of the Theft Ordinance ( Chapter 210 ). It is committed where a person forms a dishonest intent to avoid payment after goods or services have been received. This would include leaving a restaurant without paying, leaving a taxi without paying the fare or filling up with petrol at a self-service petrol station then leaving without paying for the petrol. In these situations the supplier of goods or services expects payment for the goods or services after they have been supplied and before the person who has received them leaves the place of supply. If the person who has received the goods or services makes off, which means leaves the place where payment was expected, dishonestly intending to avoid payment, the offence is complete.

The dishonesty required is the same as for theft. The difference between theft and making off is that in theft the dishonest intent must be present when the goods are appropriated whereas in making off the dishonest intent arises after the goods or services have been received. A motorist might intend to pay for petrol at a self-service station when he/she starts to fill the car’s tank but then, noticing there is a queue at the payment point, takes the opportunity to drive off to avoid queuing and paying for the petrol. He/she is guilty of making off without payment but not theft.

D. Handling stolen goods

Handling stolen goods is an offence contrary to section 24 of the Theft Ordinance ( Chapter 210 ). It is committed where a person knowing or believing the goods to be stolen goods dishonestly receives them, or dishonestly undertakes or assists in their retention, removal, disposal or realisation by or for the benefit of another person, or if he arranges to do so.

Handling involves dealing with goods which have been stolen, knowing or believing them to be stolen. Handling is action after the theft, by a person other than the thief, which helps the thief. Examples include buying goods from the thief knowing or believing them to be stolen or looking after stolen property whilst the thief finds a buyer for those goods.

Dishonesty in handling has the same meaning as in theft. There must be proof that the goods in question had been stolen. Whether a person knows or believes the goods in question to be stolen goods is a question of fact in each case, which needs to be proved by the prosecution beyond reasonable doubt.

E. Obtaining property by deception

Obtaining property by deception is an offence contrary to section 17 of the Theft Ordinance ( Chapter 210 ). It is committed where property belonging to another person is dishonestly obtained from that person by deception with the intention of permanently depriving that person of the property. The offence involves telling lies which persuades someone to hand over property when, had they known the true situation, they would not have done so. An example would be using a stolen credit card or a credit card which has been cancelled by the bank, to obtain goods from a shop. Using the credit card is making a promise to the shopkeeper that the card can safely be accepted and will result in payment for the goods. Had the shopkeeper known the true position, the credit card would not have been accepted as payment for the goods. The shopkeeper is the victim of a deception. The person using the card intends to permanently deprive the shopkeeper of the goods. The goods have been dishonestly obtained by deception.

F. Obtaining services by deception

Obtaining services by deception is an offence contrary to section 18A of the Theft Ordinance ( Chapter 210 ). It is committed where services are dishonestly obtained. The offence involves inducing a person to confer a benefit by doing an act, or causing or permitting an act to be done on the understanding that the benefit will be paid for, whilst intending not to pay. An example might be getting someone to provide a service, for example painting a house on a promise of payment when the painting has been completed, whilst all the time intending not to pay. The person providing the service is dishonestly deceived into providing the service.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,563,981 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

VIII. 與不誠實有關罪行

A. 盜竊罪

根據 第210章《盜竊罪條例》 第9條 ,盜竊是刑事罪行。盜竊罪涉及不誠實地挪佔屬於他人的財物,意圖永久奪去他人的財物。 「挪佔」的意思是將其他人的財物當成是自己的一樣,並隨著自己的意思去處置這些財物。 「屬於他人」是指財物是屬於其他人所有,而不是屬於取走財物的那個人。

要構成盜竊罪,在取走他人財物時,要有不誠實意圖,以及意圖永久奪去他人的財物。如果社會上一般有合理思想的人,認為你取走他人財物時是不誠實,而你亦知 道你所做的事,在一般人心目中,會被認定是不誠實,這麼,你就會被視為有不誠實意圖。這個評定準則名為「Ghosh測試」,源自1982年英國上訴法院一 宗名為《 R訴Ghosh 》的案例,香港的盜竊法例亦一直沿用Ghosh測試法。

B. 入屋犯法罪

根據 第210章《盜竊罪條例》 第11條 ,入屋犯法是刑事罪行。當一個人以侵入者的身份,進入一座建築物或建築物的任何一個部分,並有意圖偷取裡面的物品、嚴重傷害建築物內的任何人、強姦女性、或者非法破壞建築物或建築物內任何物品,就是干犯了入屋犯法罪。

任何人以侵入者的身份,進入一座建築物或建築物的任何一個部分,偷取 / 企圖偷取裡面的物品、嚴重傷害 / 企圖嚴重傷害建築物內的任何人,也是干犯了入屋犯法罪。

「以侵入者的身份進入一處地方」,意思是一個人在沒有合法權利下,或在未經建築物業主或物業使用者的同意下,刻意進入一座建築物或建築物的任何一個部分。

至於進入的地方,是否建築物或建築物的任何一個部分,就要視乎每宗個案而定。例如顧客只是獲准進入店舖的公眾地方,顧客如果進入店舖內寫有「私人重地」或「只限職員」的地方,他 / 她就是侵入者。

C. 不付款而離去

根據 第210章《盜竊罪條例》 第18C條 , 不付款而離去是刑事罪行。當一個人有不誠實意圖,想在收到貨品後或享用服務後逃避付款,就屬於犯罪。這包括離開餐廳時不付款、乘的士後不付車資、在自助加 油站加油後沒有付款等。提供貨品或服務的供應商,預期顧客會在獲得貨品或服務後,付款之後才離開。如果任何人收到貨品或享用服務後,本來應該付款,但他 / 她有不誠實意圖去逃避付款,並且沒有付錢就離開,他 / 她已經干犯不付款而離去的罪名。

評定是否不誠實的準則,與盜竊罪一樣。兩者的分別是,在盜竊罪中,需要證明一個人在取走財物時,有不誠實意圖;而不付款而離去,不誠實意圖是在取得貨品或 享用服務之後萌生。例如一名司機在自助加油站加油時,可能有想過付款,但當他 / 她發現收銀處大排長龍時,趁機駕車逃走,以避過排隊支付油費,這名司機就是干犯不付款而離去的罪名,而非盜竊罪。

D. 處理贓物罪

根據 第210章《盜竊罪條例》 第24條 , 處理贓物罪是刑事罪行。當一個人明知或相信貨品是偷來的,仍然不誠實地接收這些貨品,或者不誠實地保留、搬遷、處置或變賣這些貨品 / 不誠實地協助另一人保留、搬遷、處置或變賣這些貨品 / 為了另一人的利益而不誠實地保留、搬遷、處置或變賣這些貨品,或者作出有關安排,就是干犯了處理贓物罪。

「處理」涉及處理被偷走的貨品、或處理明知或相信是偷來的貨品。「處理」是盜竊之後的行動,而處理的人並不是竊匪,而是協助竊匪的其他人。從竊匪處購買貨 品,並明知或相信這些貨品是偷來的,是其中一個干犯處理贓物罪的例子;另一個例子是在竊匪尋找買家期間,協助竊匪看管贓物。

「不誠實地處理」的意思,與盜竊罪所提及的「不誠實」,意思是一樣的。要構成控罪,一定要證明涉及的貨品是偷來的。至於一個人是否明知或相信貨品是贓物,就是每宗案件的事實判斷,要由控方提出舉證,在毫無合理疑點之下證明這一點。

E. 以欺騙手段取得財產

根據 第210章《盜竊罪條例》 第17條 , 以欺騙手段取得財產是刑事罪行。當一個人以欺騙手段,不誠實地取得屬於另一人的財物,並意圖永久奪去有關財物,就是違法。這項罪行包括以謊言遊說一個人交 出財物,而這個人如果知道真相,並不會交出財物。其中一個例子,是以偷來的信用卡,或銀行已取消的信用卡,到商店購物。使用這些信用卡,等同向商店負責人 承諾,可以安心接納這些信用卡作為付款方法,店舖最終會收到金錢。不過,如果商店負責人知道真相,就不會接納這些信用卡作為付款方法。商店負責人成為了詐 騙事件的受害人,而使用信用卡的人,意圖永久奪去商店的貨品,是不誠實地以欺騙手段取得貨品。

F. 以欺騙手段取得服務

根據 第210章《盜竊罪條例》 第18A條 ,以欺騙手段取得服務是刑事罪行。當一個人以不誠實手段取得服務,即屬違法。這項罪行涉及一個人沒有意圖付款,並作出一些行為,誘使其他人給予利益,或者明 知將會獲得利益,而導致或容許某人作出一些行為。其中一個例子,是要求他人提供服務,例如是一個人要求其他人為他 / 她的單位髹油漆,並承諾在髹油漆完成之後付款,但他 / 她由始至終都沒有意圖要付款。提供服務的那個人,被不誠實地欺騙,從而提供有關服務。

返回
上一頁 下一頁