full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

VII. Triad related offences

A. Claiming to be a member of a triad society

Claiming to be a member of a triad society is an offence contrary to section 20 (2) of the Societies Ordinance ( Chapter 151 ).

It is an offence to claim or profess membership of a triad society. A claim of membership of a triad society is often made in blackmail and criminal intimidation situations. The question is whether as fact the defendant has by words and/or gestures asserted membership of a triad society active in Hong Kong. This will involve an examination of what was said or done and how it was said or done. Expert evidence may be needed on the context and meaning of words or gestures used. There is no need to prove that the person professing or claiming to be a member of a triad society is in fact a member. Being a member of a triad society is itself an offence under section 20 (2) of the Ordinance.

B. Possession of offensive weapon in public place

Possession of offensive weapon in public place is an offence contrary to section 33 of the Public Order Ordinance ( Chapter 245 ).

Section 33 makes it an offence for any person to have an offensive weapon with them in a public place without lawful authority or reasonable excuse. The objective of this offence is to prevent offensive weapons being brought into public places.

An "offensive weapon" is any article made, or adapted for use, or suitable, for causing injury to the person, or intended by the person having it in their possession or under their control for such use by them or by some other person.

A "public place" is any place to which for the time being the public or any section of the public are entitled or permitted to have access, whether on payment or otherwise.

The emphasis is on the possession of an offensive weapon: there is no need for the weapon to have been used to commit any offence. Whether or not the item in question is an offensive weapon is a question of fact. What is, or is not lawful authority or reasonable excuse depends upon the circumstances of each case and why the defendant had that item in the public place at the particular time. An excuse such as carrying the weapon in case I was attacked is neither lawful authority nor reasonable excuse.

Courts have a limited sentencing discretion under section 33 . A person convicted under section 33 shall (which means “must”):

  1. if under 14 years of age be dealt with in accordance with the provisions of the Juvenile Offenders Ordinance ( Chapter 226 );
  2. if not less than 14 years of age and under 17 years of age be sentenced either to imprisonment for not more than 3 years, or to a Detention Centre or to a Training Centre or to a Rehabilitation Centre;
  3. if not less than 17 years of age and under 25 years of age be sentenced either to imprisonment for not more than 3 years or to a Detention Centre or to a Rehabilitation Centre;
  4. if aged 25 years or more be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 3 years.

C. Possession of offensive weapon with intent

Possession of offensive weapon with intent is an offence contrary to section 17 of the Summary Offences Ordinance ( Chapter 228 ).

Under section 17 it is an offence to have possession of any wrist restraint or other instrument or article manufactured for the purpose of physically restraining a person, any handcuffs or thumbcuffs, any offensive weapon, or any crowbar, picklock, skeleton-key or other instrument fit for unlawful purposes, with intent to use the same for any unlawful purpose.

It is a question of fact whether a defendant has possession of any of the specified items. The meaning of offensive weapon is the same in section 17 of the Summary Offences Ordinance ( Chapter 228 ) as in section 33 of the Public Order Ordinance ( Chapter 245 ). Section 17 requires a specific intent to use the item for an unlawful purpose. Possession of a wooden stick intending to use it to attack someone is possession for an unlawful purpose. Whether there is intent to use the item for an unlawful purpose depends upon the circumstances of the particular case. The court will look at the nature of item, the circumstances of possession, what was said or done before, during and after the incident giving rise to the charge when considering whether or not there was intent to use the item for an unlawful purpose.

The maximum penalty under section 17 is a fine of $5,000 or imprisonment for 2 years. The court has a far wider sentencing discretion under section 17 than it has for possession of an offensive weapon in a public place contrary to section 33 of the Public Order Ordinance ( Chapter 245 ).

D. False imprisonment

False imprisonment is an offence contrary to common law.

The victim’s right to leave the place where he or she is must be totally and unlawfully taken away. It is not false imprisonment to stop a person going in a particular direction if they can go in another direction.

Whether or not a person’s right to leave the particular place has been totally and unlawfully taken away is a question of fact in each case. False imprisonment often involves the use of force and confinement within a defined structure but neither of these are requirements. The issue is simply whether the person’s right to leave the place where they are has been totally and unlawfully taken away. False imprisonment is a question of fact. A person taken by a gang to a hillside and kept there because members of the gang surround him/her and prevent him/her leaving is just as much imprisoned as if he or she was locked in a room.

E. Aiding and abetting the commission of an offence

Aiding and abetting the commission of an offence is an offence contrary to section 89 of the Criminal Procedure Ordinance ( Chapter 221 ).

The person who actually commits the criminal offence is referred to as the principal. Other persons who participate in the criminality by aiding and abetting, counselling or procuring the criminality are referred to as secondary parties or accomplices. Secondary parties are guilty of the same offence as the principle who actually commits out the offence.

Aiding is giving help, support or assistance to the principal offender and generally takes place at the scene of the crime. Abet means inciting or encouraging the principal offender and also involves presence when the offence is committed.

Counselling is help given to the principal offender before the offence is committed. It can take the form of advice, information or the supply of equipment which is used in the offence.

Procuring means producing by endeavour, that is causing or bringing about the offence by the principal offender. Procuring involves taking the necessary steps to bring something about. There is no need for encouragement but there must be a causal link between the act of the secondary party and the offence which is committed. An example might be surreptitiously lacing a friend’s soft drink with alcohol knowing the friend will be driving home. If the friend drives home and on the way fails a breath test and is subsequently convicted under section 39A (1) of the Road Traffic Ordinance ( Chapter 374 ) for driving with an alcohol level above the prescribed limit, the person who laced the drink may face a charge of procuring that offence. Lacing the soft drink with alcohol brought about the offence the principal committed.

Mere presence at a crime scene is not enough for liability as accomplice. However if a bystander encourages the principal offender, for example by shouting out to a person who is attacking another person “Hit him again” or “Kick him”, the bystander is no longer simply a bystander but is encouraging the attacker.

The mens rea (guilty mind) for secondary parties is (i) intention to do the act knowing it was capable of assisting or encouraging the commission of the crime, and (ii) knowing the principal will commit a crime of a certain type. The prosecution must prove the intention to do the acts of assistance or encouragement, recklessness as to whether the principal will commit the crime is not sufficient mens rea for a secondary party.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,478,466 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

VII. 涉及三合會罪行

A. 聲稱是三合會社團成員

根據 第151章《社團條例》 第20(2)條 ,聲稱是三合會社團成員,是刑事罪行。

自稱和聲稱是三合會社團成員,都屬違法。在勒索或刑事恐嚇的情況下,不時都會有人聲稱是三合會社團成員,問題是被告是否確實講過或 / 和做過某些動作,顯示自己屬於活躍於香港的三合會社團的其中一員。這需要檢驗被告說過甚麼、做過甚麼、怎樣說和怎樣做。法庭可能需要專家作供,解釋字句的 內容或動作的意思和含意。控方毋須證明自稱或聲稱是三合會社團成員的人,是否真的是三合會社團成員。而根據 第151章《社團條例》 第20(2)條 ,身為三合會社團成員,本身已是犯法。

B. 在公眾地方管有攻擊性武器

根據 第245章《公安條例》 第33條 ,在公眾地方管有攻擊性武器是刑事罪行。

任何人在沒有合法權限或合理辯解之下,在公眾地方管有攻擊性武器,根據 第33條 ,就是違法。這項條例的目的,是為了防止有人在公眾地方攜帶攻擊性武器。

「攻擊性武器」是指任何被製造或改裝成用以傷害他人的物品、任何適合傷害他人的物品、管有或控制物品的人,意圖利用物品去傷害他人,或將物品交給其他人,去傷害別人。

「公眾地方」是指任何在特定時間內,公眾人士或任何一類公眾人士,可以以付費或其他方式,有權進入或獲准進入的地方。

罪行的重點著眼於管有攻擊性武器——有關武器不必曾經被用來犯法。涉及的物品是否攻擊性武器,要視乎每宗個案的事實判斷。甚麼是合法權限和合理辯解,就要視乎每宗個案的情況,以及要了解為甚麼被告在某個時間,在公眾地方帶有涉及的物品。如果解釋是為了防範自己一旦受襲而攜帶武器,就不是合法權限或合理辯解。

第33條 之下,法庭判刑的酌情權有限。任何人根據 第33條 被裁定罪名成立,必須面對的刑罰如下:

  1. 如果被告未滿14歲,要根據 第226章《少年犯條例》 的條文去處理;
  2. 如果被告年滿14歲但不足17歲,判監禁不超過3年、或判入勞教中心、教導所或更生中心;
  3. 如果被告年滿17歲但不足25歲,判監禁不超過3年、或判入勞教中心或更生中心;
  4. 如果被告是25歲以上,判監禁不超過3年。

C. 有意圖而管有攻擊性武器

根據 第228章《簡易程序治罪條例》 第17條 ,有意圖而管有攻擊性武器是刑事罪行。

根據 第17條 ,管有任何可以鎖住手腕或其他為了束縛身體而製造的工具或物品,或管有任何手銬、指銬、攻擊性武器、撬棍、撬鎖工具、百合匙、或其他適合作非法用途的工具,意圖作非法用途,就是犯法。

被告管有的物品是否法例列明的攻擊性武器,是事實判斷。 第228章《簡易程序治罪條例》 第17條 及第 第245章《公安條例》 第33條 所訂明的攻擊性武器,定義一樣。 第17條 列明,被告需要有特別意圖,打算利用物品作非法用途。管有木棍意圖用來襲擊其他人,就是管有物品作非法用途。至於是否有意圖使用物品作非法用途,就要視乎個別個案的情況。法庭在決定被告是否有意圖使用物品作非法用途時,會全盤考慮多個因素,包括物品的性質、被告管有物品時的情況、他 / 她在事發前、事發時及事發後,說過甚麼或做過甚麼而令他 / 她被控。

干犯 第17條 列明的罪行,最高刑罰是罰款5千元及監禁2年。相比起 第245章《公安條例》 第33條 的管有攻擊性武器罪,在 第17條 之下,法庭的判刑酌情權會較大。

D. 非法禁錮

非法禁錮是《普通法》罪行。

非法禁錮是指一個人有權離開一處地方,但他 / 她這個權利被完全及非法地奪走。如果一個人被禁止向某一個方向前進,但他 / 她可以巡另一個方向前往目的地的話,就不是非法禁錮。

一個人離開某個地方的權利是否被完全及非法地奪走,要視乎每宗個案的事實判斷。非法禁錮通常都涉及使用武力,以及將一個人幽禁在特定建築物內,但兩者都不是構成非法禁錮的要素。非法禁錮的著眼點,純粹是一個人離開某個地方的權利,是否被完全及非法地奪走。一個人被不法份子帶到山上,不法份子將他 / 她包圍,防範他 / 她離開,情況就如將他 / 她鎖在房間一樣。

E. 協助及教唆犯罪

根據 第221章《刑事訴訟程序條例》 第89條 ,協助及教唆犯罪,是刑事罪行。

確實干犯刑事罪行的人,可以被稱為主事人,其他人協助、教唆、慫恿或促使主事人犯罪,都有份參與犯罪,他們可以被稱為從屬者或共犯。從屬者的罪責,與實際干犯罪行的主事人的罪責一樣,都會被裁定干犯相同的罪行。

協助是向主事人提供幫助、支持或援助,通常是在案發現場發生。教唆就是煽動或鼓勵主事人,通常亦是在案發現場發生。

慫恿是在主事人犯法之前提供協助,例如是向主事人提供意見及資訊、或向主事人提供犯案所需的工具。

促使即大力推動,導致主事人犯法。促使包括採取必要的步驟,令事件發生。從屬者未必要鼓勵主事人犯法,但從屬者的行為與主事人犯罪之間,必須要有因果關 係。其中一個例子,是有人明知朋友要駕車回家,仍然悄悄地在朋友的汽水中加入酒精。如果朋友駕車回家途中,接受酒精呼氣測試超標,被裁定違反 第374章《道路交通條例》 第39A(1)條 ,在汽水混入酒精的那個人,也有可能被控促使朋友犯罪。在汽水混入酒精,就是主事人違反法例的因由。

純粹在案發現場出現,並不足以要負上共犯的刑事責任。不過,如果一個旁觀者鼓勵主事人,例如是向施襲者大叫「再打他﹗」或「踢他﹗」,這名旁觀者就不再是純粹旁觀者,而是在鼓勵施襲者。

從屬者的犯罪意圖是(i)有意圖作出一些行為,並明知這些行為會協助或鼓勵犯法,及(ii)知道主事人會干犯某些罪行。控方必須證明從屬者是有意圖作出協助及有鼓勵行為。如果從屬者沒有理會主事人是否會犯法,就顯示他們的犯罪意圖不足。

返回
上一頁 下一頁