full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

V. Apprenticeship

A. Definitions

According to section 2 of the Apprenticeship Ordinance ( Cap. 47 ), “Apprentice" means the party to a contract of apprenticeship who agrees to learn a trade or occupation. An apprenticeship is an exception to some rules for an employment contract: Section 2 , Apprenticeship Ordinance ( Cap. 47 ). Apprentices have special work hours, special contract terms, and a Director of Apprenticeship can be appointed to investigate claims and any infringement of the ordinancearising from the employment. Currently, there are 45 recognized apprenticeship trades. For the purpose of the Apprenticeship Regulations ( Cap. 47A ), “period of employment” means the period an apprentice spends on the job, including intervals allowed for meals or rest ( regulation 2 ). “Hours worked” means time in which the apprentice is employed, exclusive of the intervals allowed for meals and rest ( regulation 2 , Apprenticeship Regulations ( Cap. 47A )).

According to section 7(1) of the Apprenticeships Ordinance ( Cap. 47 ), it is young persons who are in employment as an apprentice under a contract of apprenticeship. A “young person”, according to section 2 of the Apprenticeship Ordinance , means a person of or over the age of 14 years and under the age of 19 years; however, under section 44 of the Ordinance, the Chief Executive may extend the upper age limit for a young person from 18 years to an age not exceeding 21 years.

B. Examples of apprenticeship

There are 45 recognized Apprenticeship trades. Below are some examples of such trades.

  1. Electricity technicians (CLP)
  2. Foreign trade and logistics management
  3. Electrical, mechanical and quantity surveying

C. Medical examinations required for apprenticeship

Many apprenticeships are physically demanding. To better protect apprentices and their employers, apprentices are required by law to be medically examined with respect to his/her fitness to be employed in the trade. The employer should arrange and pay for the medical examination of the apprentice before the registration of the contract of apprenticeship.

D. Limitations on work conditions

Limitations are imposed on the working conditions of apprentices, in order to better protect them. Apprentices can not be employed under the following conditions ( Regulation 8 , Apprenticeship Regulations ( Cap. 47A )):

Total work hours

Exceeding 8 hours in any day or 48 hours in any week

Total period of employment in any day

Exceeding 9 hours of employment, beginning earlier than 7 am or ending later than 7pm

Work without rest (those under 16 years of age)

Working continuously for a period of more than 5 hours without a minimum interval of 1 hour (interval = meal or rest after working continuously for 5 hours)

Work without rest (those above 16 years of age)

Working continuously for a period of more than 5 hours without a minimum interval of 30 minutes (interval= meal or rest after working continuously for 5 hours)

Work during interval/meal

Not permitted

Total days employed during a week

Employed for more than 6 days in any one  week


E. Overtime employment and related limitations

Apprenticeships might be required to work overtime. The law permits apprentices to work overtime, but subject to certain limitations. Apprentices above the age of 16 may work overtime. However, the employer shall not require or permit an apprentice to work overtime if such overtime work would prevent the apprentice from attending a course of instruction which he is required to attend.

If the Commissioner for Labour finds that overtime employment adversely affects the health of an apprentice, the Commissioner may prohibit the overtime employment.

Extra limitations are imposed on the total hours of overtime. For apprentices under regulation 9 , Apprenticeship Regulations ( Cap. 47A ), the total hours of overtime shall not:

Apprentice under the age of 18

Exceed 150 hours in any year or 2 hours in any one day

Apprentice under the age of 18 but will become 18 during the year

Exceed 200 hours in that year or 2 hours in any day

Apprentice 18 years old or above

Exceed 250 hours in any year or 2 hours in any day

On any day (hour of work)

Exceed 10 hours of work in total (so that means no more than 2 hours of overtime)

On any day (period of employment), age under 18

Exceed 12 hours (between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. only)

On any day (period of employment), age above 18

Exceed 12 hours (between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. only)


F. Apprenticeship contracts

Apprenticeship contracts are a special kind of employment contract because certain sections of the Employment Ordinance are excluded. However, the law requires every contract of apprenticeship to be in writing, and contain the prescribed terms and conditions. Provisions that should be included in apprenticeship contracts are listed in the Apprenticeship Regulations . They include measures protecting the apprentice, such as:

  • The wages to be paid to the apprentice, and the frequency and manner of payment of wages;
  • the normal hours the apprentice is required to attend his place of employment; and
  • the payment of sickness allowance or the entitlement to sick leave during any illness of the apprentice.
  • ( Regulation 4 , Apprenticeship Regulations ( Cap. 47A )).

G. Termination of contract

To protect the apprentices, the Director of Apprenticeship can terminate a contract of apprenticeshipunder certain conditions. For example, if the Director is satisfied that the employer is unable to, or does not give the apprentice adequate training as stated in the contract of apprenticeship, the Director could terminate the contract. Another consideration is that if it is for the benefit of the apprentice, the Director could also terminate the contract.

H. Government powers of entry, inspection and prosecution of offenders

The Director of Apprenticeship and inspectors may be given powers under the ordinance to investigate claims of infringement of the rights of apprentices. The Director may enter and inspect any premises at which an apprentice or young person is believed or known to be employed. He could require the submission of any record or documents relating to the employment of the young person, and may take copies of these documents. The Director could further make an examination and inquiry to ascertain whether or not the Apprentice Ordinance is being complied with, and seize any things that appear to be evidence. Finally, the Director is given the power to examine persons who are found in those premises, and require them to answer questions that have legal effects.

According to section 4(1)(d) of the Apprenticeship Ordinance ( Cap. 47 ), the Director “shall inquire into the progress and welfare of apprentices.” Furthermore, according to section 35(a) of the Apprenticeship Ordinance ( Cap. 47 ), the Director and an inspector may “enter, inspect and examine, by day or night, any premises or place in which he knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, that an apprentice or a young person is employed”.  The Director of Apprenticeship may appoint inspectors to advise and assist employers on the training and employment of apprenticeships.  They may make regular visits to the workplaces of the apprentices to ensure the apprenticeship schemes are properly implemented.

Under section 39 of the Apprenticeship Ordinance ( Cap. 47 ), an apprentice who has a complaint may refer it to the Director who shall “endeavour to settle it by conciliation.”  The inspectors appointed by the Director of Apprenticeship may also handle any disputes arising out of a registered contract.

Furthermore, the investigation process also protects the privacy of persons involved. The Apprenticeship Ordinance stipulates that anyone who has made a complaint about a registered contract of apprenticeship will have his or her identity hidden. Officers appointed under the Apprenticeship Ordinance may not disclose the name of an apprentice unless there is a court trial.

After an investigation is made, the Director may prosecute any offenders.

An employer who breaches the above regulations will be guilty of an offense; and be liable to a conviction and a fine of $5,000. ( Regulation 12 , Apprenticeship Regulations ( Cap. 47A ))

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,563,981 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

V. 學徒

A. 定義

根據 第47章《學徒制度條例》 第2條 ,「學徒」是指一名立約人,同意學習一種行業或職業的技能而訂立學徒訓練合約。學徒訓練合約並不受某些適用於僱傭合約的條例規管( 《學徒制度條例》 第2條 )。學徒有特定的工作時間和合約條款。學徒事務專員可被委任負責調查各項有關僱傭的申訴和違例的情況。現時有45個獲認可行業,可設立學徒訓練。在 第47A章《學徒制度規例》 中,「受僱時間」是指學徒用於工作的時間,包括用膳或休息的時間(規例 第2條 )。「工作時數」則是指學徒受僱的時間,並不包括用膳或休息的時間(規例 第2條 )。

根據 第47章 《學徒制度條例》 第7(1)條 ,按學徒訓練合約受僱的學徒是指青年學徒。而根據 《學徒制度條例》 第2條 ,「青年」是指年滿14歲但未滿19歲的人;該條例 第44條 則訂明行政長官可將歲數上限由18歲提高至不超過21歲。

B. 學徒的例子

現時有45個行業,獲認可設立學徒訓練,下舉數例:

  1. 技工(中電)
  2. 國際貿易及物流管理
  3. 機電工程及工料測量

C. 學徒必須參加體格檢查

多項學徒訓練都有體能要求。為更好保護學徒及其僱主,法例規定每名學徒必須因應其受僱的指定行業,進行體格檢查。僱主須在註冊有關的學徒訓練合約前,安排學徒進行體格檢查,並支付該檢查費用。

D. 工作條件的限制

為更有效地保護學徒,學徒的工作條件都設有限制。根據 第47A章《學徒制度規例》 第8條 ,學徒不得在下述的情況下工作:

總工作時數

在任何一日內超過8小時,或在任何一星期內超過48小時

每日總受僱時間

在任何一日內超過9小時
在早上7時前開始,或在晚上7時後結束

連續工作而無休息
(適用於16歲以下學徒)

連續工作超過5小時而不給予最少1小時的休息時段(休息時段=連續工作5小時後的用膳或小休時間)

連續工作而無休息
(適用於16歲以上學徒)

連續工作超過5小時而不給予最少半小時的休息時段(休息時段=連續工作5小時後的用膳或小休時間)

用膳或小休時段內工作

不容許

每星期受僱的總日數

在任何一星期內受僱超過6日


E. 超時工作及相關限制

學徒可能需要超時工作,這是法律容許的,但有一定限制。十六歲或以上的學徒才可以超時工作。但若超時工作會阻礙學徒修讀必修的訓練課程,則僱主不得要求或容許該學徒超時工作。

如果勞工處處長認為超時工作會對學徒健康造成不良影響,他有權禁止該學徒超時工作。

超時工作的總時數亦有額外的限制。根據 第47A章《學徒制度規例》 第9條 ,學徒超時工作的總時數不可

18歲以下的學徒

每年超過150小時或每日超過2小時

將於一年內年滿18歲的學徒

每年超過200小時或每日超過2小時

18歲或以上的學徒

每年超過250小時或每日超過2小時

在任何一日內的總工作時數

超過10小時
(即每天超時工作不可多於2小時)

18歲以下學徒的總受僱時間

超過12小時
(只可由早上7時至晚上7時工作)

18歲以上學徒的總受僱時間

超過12小時
(只可由早上7時至晚上9時工作)


F. 學徒訓練合約

學徒訓練合約屬特殊類別的僱傭合約,此類合約並不受 《僱傭條例》 中某些條款的約束。但是,學徒訓練合約必須依法以書面形式作出,亦必須載有指定的條款及條件。必須載於學徒訓練合約內的條款詳列於 《學徒制度規例》 內,當中包括一系列保障學徒的措施,例如:

  • 學徒的薪酬,以及該薪酬的發放期及方式;
  • 學徒在受僱地方的正常上班時間;及
  • 學徒患病時的疾病津貼或請病假的權利
  • 第47A章《學徒制度規例》 第4條

G. 終止合約

為了保護學徒,在某些情況下,學徒事務專員有權終止學徒的訓練合約。例如,若學徒事務專員認為學徒的僱主不能夠或並沒有按照學徒訓練合約向該學徒提供足夠的訓練,便可終止該合約。另外,如果學徒事務專員認為終止學徒訓練合約對於該學徒有益處,亦可終止該合約。

H. 政府進入、視察及起訴的權力

學徒事務專員及督察獲法例授權,可對查侵犯學徒權利的指控,進行調查。學徒事務專員亦可以進入任何其已知或有合理理由相信內有學徒或青年受僱的地方,並進行視察。他亦有權要求任何人士出示有關僱用青年的任何紀錄或文件,並可製備副本。學徒事務專員在有需要時,可進行調查及提出查詢,以確保 《學徒制度條例》 的各規定獲得遵守,同時亦可以檢走任何看似是違例證據的物品。學徒事務專員還有權向其有權進入的地方所發現的人提出查問,並要求這些人給予具法律效力的回答。

根據 第47章 《學徒制度條例》 第4(1)(d)條 ,學徒事務專員「須查詢學徒的訓練進度及福利情況」。加之,根據 《學徒制度條例》 第35(A)條 ,學徒事務專員及督察可「不論日夜,進入、視察及檢查其已知或有合理因由相信內有學徒或青年受僱的處所或地方」。學徒事務專員亦可委任督察,就僱用與訓練學徒等事宜,向僱主提供意見及協助。被委任的督察可定期到訪學徒的工作地點,以確保學徒計劃正確執行。

根據 《學徒制度條例》 第39條 ,學徒可向學徒事務專員申訴,而專員 「須盡力以調停方式解決」。被專員委任的督察可負責處理任何有關已註冊學徒訓練合約的爭議。

另外,在調查過程中,有關人士的私穩是受到保障的。 《學徒制度條例》 規定,任何人士就已註冊學徒訓練合約作出投訴,其身份一律保密。按 《學徒制度條例》 委任的職員在任何情況下,不可以透露學徒的姓名,法庭審訊除外。

調查完畢後,學徒事務專員可提出相關起訴。

任何僱主若違反以上規條,即屬犯罪;一經定罪,可處罰款$5,000。( 《學徒制度規例》 第12條 )

返回
上一頁 下一頁