full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

X. Employment Traps

A. Warning signs of an employment trap

There are many warning signs that an employment trap is in place. For example, a job that requires little related experience or qualifications but pays a high salary or bonus might suggest an employment trap being in place. Another sign includes manipulative interviews where employers ask extensive questions to collect unnecessary and personal information from the potential employees. Other signs include seminars and talks where victims are subject to group pressure to pay more money for courses or sell products. If companies provide little information about themselves or their products and services, this would be another warning sign of a possible employment traps. If after the interviews or seminars, potential employees are asked to keep the events confidential, this would be yet another warning sign. Usually, if employers invite potential employees to enrol in training courses for a fee (especially before work begins), this would indicate another imminent employment trap.

The following is a list of employment traps based on information from the Hong Kong Labour Department and various newspapers and university career advice centres:

1. Pyramid selling schemes

Some companies persuade and pressurise job seekers to buy their products in order to join the company. The job requires sharing commission (in a hierarchical way/pyramid selling), or the participants have to pay a large sum of money to get the job, and are required to make a profit through recruiting other members (including relatives and friends) as their lower tiered staff rather than directly selling the products.

Most of the reported cases of employment traps were related to the promotions field. Thus, there are ample examples of promotion related employment traps.

An example would be a job seeker who was persuaded to pay money to attend a seminar organized by a company, and then in the seminar he/she was asked to spend a significant sum on the company’s product. Knowing little about the products, the job seeker might be pressured, manipulated or persuaded to buy the products. The job seeker would then have bought products which he/she would not use, and which the job seeker does not know how to resell. The products bought from these job traps come in many shapes or forms, and they include health products, food products, and even services.

Another example is where job seekers are promised a job from a hiring company on the condition that the job seekers take some courses to upgrade their skills. The course must be paid for at the expense of the job seeker. The courses can range from language courses, presentation courses, or even leadership seminars. Usually, the courses that the job seeker paid for will not happen at all. Another possible event is that the job seekers never receive the job they were promised, even after finishing the course. These job traps usually operate on a hierarchical or multilayered recruitment plan. Job seekers who are already recruited would gain financial reward if they persuade friends or relatives intheir network to participate.

2. Talent scout scams

Some job scammers claim to be representatives from the entertainment industries (such as modeling agencies). The job scammers approach job seekers and claim that they have the potential to be models, singers and movie stars. However, conditions are imposed and must be met before they are able to start their careers. This includes having the job seekers pay fees for training classes and visits to the beautician. Other fees might include referral fees and deposits. The money paid might not be returned, or there might be no actual job referrals.

3. Financial and investment scams

Some job scammers claim to be brokers or traders of investment companies or claim to be holding high-level jobs in marketing firms. They then offer job seekers high pay for posts that require little prior experience and qualifications. Upon employment, the employees will be pressurised or manipulated to make investments with their own money or money from their friends and families. Eventually, the employers fraudulently tell the employee that their investments have failed.

4. Theft of personal data

Some scammers try to steal personal data for their own profit and benefit. The personal data are usually stolen through long, drawn out interview processes with multiple forms to fill in. The personal data that are fraudulently obtained include Hong Kong Identification Card number, bank accounts and credit card information. The scammers will then use the job seekers’ personal information to obtain loans from banks, or steal from their credit card accounts.

5. Employee versus self-employed person

While certain industries do have the custom of employing people as self-employed people, the category of self-employed person can be a job trap. Self-employed persons do not enjoy as many rights under the Employment Ordinance ( Cap. 57 ), the Minimum Wage Ordinance ( Cap. 608 ), the Employment Compensation Ordinance ( Cap. 282 ), and the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance ( Cap. 485 ). Self-employed persons do not enjoy paid annual leave, statutory holiday pay, sickness allowance, nor are they subject to minimum wage regulations and employment compensation. Employers might potentially take advantage of eager job seekers by offering them self-employed jobs, which might not have a signed contract. Job seekers should clarify with the employers regarding the nature of the employment, especially whether they are employed as an employee or as a self-employed person.

6. Paying below the minimum wage

All employee categories are subject to the statutory minimum wage as specified in the Minimum Wage Ordinance ( Cap. 608 ). This includes employees in full time and part time capacities. The only exemptions allowed are listed under the Minimum Wage Ordinance ( Cap. 608 ) for student interns and work experience students. All employers should pay the wages on time and the payment should not be less than the statutory minimum wage. Some employers might attempt to break the law by paying less than the minimum wage, whether or not the wage amount was specified in the contract. Thus, employees should ask the employers to clarify the amount of wages that are to be paid during the negotiation of contract. Underpaid or unpaid employees should approach the Labour Relations Division of the Labour Department.

B. Prevention against employment traps

There are a few methods by which job traps can be avoided. Generally, job seekers should make sure that the terms of the employment contract are understood before they sign it. If contractual terms are ambiguous or are unacceptable, job seekers should ask for clarification or require changes.

There are many specific methods to help you avoid becoming a victim of job traps:

1. Be realistic

Job seekers should be sensible about the rewards offered by the work (wages, bonuses, commissions) and what is required of the job seeker (in terms of prior experience, qualifications and work hours that need to be put in). Positions that offer unusually high pay but have low job requirements would be a warning sign. Another warning sign is when the recruitment process is conducted in a reckless manner.

2. Protecting personal data and privacy

Job seekers should be alert to avoid being manipulated or pressured into providing personal documents. These personal documents include Hong Kong Identity Cards, Passports, bank account numbers, records or passbooks, ATM pin numbers, and credit card information. The job seekers should be very cautious when they are asked to pay any money before they can be given the position, as it might simply be a scam to obtain their credit card and bank information for illegal gain.

3. Beware of the job nature and job duties

Job seekers should be wary of employment contracts that specify job duties that are different from those promised by advertisements and in job interviews. Another variation to be wary of is if the job is self-employment in nature and not an employer-employee relationship. Job seekers should be aware that it is not necessary to pay a fee as a condition for accepting a new job. Job seekers have the right to refuse an employment contract if they are not satisfied with it.

4. Doing due diligence

Many employment traps could be avoided if job seekers double-check the facts surrounding the job. For example, checking the business license of the company can reveal important information. If the company’s address is different from what is stated in their business license, then the company might be a fraud. Other warning signs of employment traps are if the business license has expired or if a business license cannot be produced. Due diligence can also be exercised regarding the products and the services of the company. If what the company actually sells (be it services or products) is different from what the interviewer and the job advertisement mentioned, then an employment scam might be in place. Job seekers can also cross check the job nature and position offered against those of other similar positions in the same industry. If the position offered deviates from the common practices of the industry in question, the job seeker should clarify this with the potential employer.

5. Seeking assistance

There are a multitude of people and authorities that job seekers can seek help from. When in doubt, individuals can bring a friend along if they believe that the interview location might not be safe. Career advisors and lawyers can be employed to examine the employment contract and advise on the legal issues of the job. Also, there are many authorities that could assist the employed after the employment has begun. When there is a labour dispute, the Labour Department can assist to resolve it between the employer and the employee. The Labour Department is empowered under section 43S of the Employment Ordinance ( Cap. 57 ) to investigate and prosecute alleged labour offences. If a serious crime has occurred in the course of recruitment and employment, the Hong Kong Police can be contacted to provide assistance.

Please see also:

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,464,712 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

X. 求職陷阱

A. 求職陷阱的警號

許多求職陷阱都是有跡可尋的,只要我們小心留意,便不難發現求職陷阱的警號。舉例,如果一份工作對相關工作經驗或學歷要求很低,但薪酬或獎金卻相當豐厚,那麼這很可能是一個求職陷阱。又舉例,如果在求職面試時,僱主不斷向求職者提出問題,以搜集不必要的個人資料,那麼求職者就應該提高警惕。再舉一例,受害人參加研討會或講座時,可能因群眾壓力而被迫支付更多款項報讀課程或負責銷售產品。倘若僱主甚少透露其公司的資料,包括公司的產品和服務,求職者便應多加小心,以免誤墮求職陷阱。又或者,在求職面試或講座後,受害人(僱員)被要求對活動內容絕對保密,這亦有可能是求職陷阱的警號。如果僱員被僱主邀請付款報讀訓練課程(尤其是在入職前),那麼便要提高警覺,加以防範。

以下是香港勞工處、不同報章及大學就業中心所列舉的求職陷阱:

1. 金字塔/層壓式推銷術

一些公司會極力游說或迫使求職者購買公司的產品,作為加入公司的條件。此類工作涉及每層分佣(層壓式/金字塔式推銷),需要參加者繳交大筆的參加費及透過招收其他會員(包括親友)成為自己的下線員工,從而賺取利潤,而非著重產品的直接銷售。

屬此類別的求職陷阱大部份都是與傳銷業有關的,因此傳銷騙案的例子比比皆是。

舉例,求職者會被游說付款參加公司舉辦的座談會,並在會中被要求繳付巨額款項購買公司產品。由於對產品的認識有限,求職者或會被游說或被迫購買這些產品。產品很可能是求職者從未使用過的,故並不知道如何轉售。透過此類傳銷騙局出售的產品形式多樣,有健康產品,也有食品或服務。

再舉一例,招聘公司在答應聘用求職者時,會要求他/她報讀一些提升技能的課程,作為聘用條件。求職者需自行支付課程費用。課程內容多樣,有語言課程、表達技巧課程或領袖訓練課程。求職者所報讀的課程通常不會舉辦。又或求職者完成課程後,卻不獲聘用。此類求職陷阱通常以分層或多層的招聘方式運作。獲聘的求職者如果能夠游說他們的親友加入這個網絡,便會得到金錢報酬。

2. 騙財星探

有些騙徒會自稱是娛樂行業(如模特兒公司)的代表,主動招攬求職者,聲稱對方具有當模特兒、歌星及影星的潛質,但在開展事業前需符合一些特定條件。這些條件包括付款報讀訓練班和參加美容院療程,並要繳付介紹費和保證金。求職者其後可能不獲介紹工作,繳付的費用亦被沒收。

3. 金融投資騙局

有些騙徒會自稱是投資公司的經紀,或自稱在推銷公司任職高層;再以高薪招聘求職者出任只需少量工作經驗和學歷的職位。當他們就職後,便會不斷慫恿或迫使他們將自己或家人朋友的金錢拿來投資,最終以投資失利為名,騙取金錢。

4. 盜取個人資料

有些騙徒會透過盜取個人資料圖利。騙徒通常會要求求職者參加冗長的面試和填寫多張報名表格,以盜取個人資料。這些非法盜取的個人資料包括香港身份證號碼、銀行戶口和信用卡資料。騙徒其後會利用求職者的個人資料,向銀行申請借貸,或盜用他們的信用卡帳戶,令求職者無辜負債。

5. 僱員與自僱人士的分別

雖然有些行業有聘用自僱人士的慣例,但以自僱方式聘用員工有時也可能是一個求職陷阱。自僱人士可依據 第57章《僱傭條例》第608章《最低工資條例》第282章《僱員補償條例》第485章《強制性公積金計劃條例》等條例所享有的權利不多。自僱人士並不享有有薪年假、法定假期薪酬或疾病津貼;亦不受最低工資和僱員補償條例保障。僱主可能利用求職者求職心切,以自僱方式聘用他們,而又不簽訂僱傭合約。求職者宜與僱主釐清其僱傭的性質,特別是到底他們是以「僱員」還是「自僱人士」身份受僱。

6. 支付低於法定最低工資的薪酬

第608章《最低工資條例》訂明,所有類別的僱員都受法定最低工資保障,包括全職或兼職僱員。唯一的例外情況是列舉於 《最低工資條例》內的實習學員及工作經驗學員。所有僱主必須按時支付不低於法定最低工資的薪酬。有些僱主可能會以身試法,不論合約有否訂明薪酬,亦照樣向僱員支付少於最低工資的薪酬。故此,僱員與僱主商討僱傭合約的內容時,宜要求僱主清楚闡明薪酬金額。如果僱員沒有獲發薪酬,或獲發少於最低工資的薪酬,可向勞工處轄下的勞資關係科求助。

B. 提防求職陷阱

避免墮入求職陷阱的方法不少。一般而言,求職者應在簽署僱傭合約前,清楚了解合約條款。如果合約條款含糊不清或不合理,求職者應請僱主澄清或更改條款。你可採取以下具體行動,避免成為求職陷阱的受害人:

1. 持務實的態度

求職者對工作報酬(工資、獎金、佣金、工作時數下限)及招聘條件(工作經驗、學歷和工作時數的要求)期望,應該要合理。如果招聘廣告是以高薪招聘但工作要求低的,便要提高警覺。若招聘過程草率,亦應有所警惕。

2. 保障個人資料和私隱

求職者宜提高警覺,以防在威迫利誘下提交過多個人資料文件,如香港身份證、護照、銀行帳戶號碼和紀錄、銀行存摺、自動提款機密碼或信用卡資料。若求職者需在獲聘前繳交款項,便應該份外小心,因為這很可能是騙徒盜取信用卡和銀行戶口資料的手段。

3. 留意工作性質和職責

求職者應留意僱傭合約所訂明的職責,與招聘廣告或面試所述的是否相同。求職者亦應留意自己是以「自僱人士」身份,還是以「僱員」身份受聘。值得注意的是,僱員一般不需要以繳交費用作為受聘條件。求職者有權因不滿僱傭合約的條款而拒絕受聘。

4. 搜集充足資料

若求職者多查閱工作相關的周邊資料,便可以避免墮入求職陷阱。例如,查閱公司的商業牌照,便可得悉很多重要資料。如果公司的地址,跟其商業牌照上所載的不同,這可能是一個騙局。公司的商業牌照已過期,或公司不能出示其商業牌照,都是求職陷阱的警號。求職者亦應清楚了解公司的產品或服務。倘若公司實質銷售的(服務或產品),與招聘廣告或面試時所述的不符,這可能是求職陷阱。求職者也可將工作性質和職位,跟同類行業比較;如與同業的慣常運作模式有異,求職者應向準僱主釐清。

5. 尋求協助

為求職者提供協助的人士和機構不少。如果求職者懷疑面試地點不安全,可以請一位朋友同往。求職者亦可聘請就業顧問或律師,審閱僱傭合約,並就相關的法律問題提供意見。另外,在就職後,僱員亦可向多間機構尋求協助。當發生勞資糾紛時,勞工處可以扮演仲裁者的角色,協助解決僱員和僱主之間的爭議。勞工處亦有權依據 第57章《僱傭條例》 第43S條 ,就有關僱傭的罪行,進行調查和提出檢控。在招聘或僱傭過程中,如遇嚴重罪行,可向警方求助。

請進一步參閱:

返回
上一頁 下一頁