full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

XI. Internship

A. Statutory minimum wage

1. Current Policy

The current statutory minimum wage (SMW) is now set at $30 per hour as at 1 May 2013. It is calculated by multiplying the total number of hours worked by the employee in the wage period by the SMW rate. According to section 6 of the Minimum Wage Ordinance ( Cap. 608 ), “a payment made to an employee in any wage period for any time that is not hours worked by the employee MUST NOT be counted as part of the wages payable in respect of that or any other wage period”. This means the remuneration for total number of hours worked should not include rest day pay, holiday pay, annual leave pay, or sick allowance, etc.

Section 2 of the Employment Ordinance ( Cap. 57 ) states that wages as defined refers to all remuneration, earnings, allowances such as travelling allowances, attendance allowances, commission, and overtime pay, etc. Therefore, if the employers have paid wages to the employees in that wage period lower than the statutory minimum wage, additional remunerations must be paid.

2. Deductions from wages

According to section 32 of the Employment Ordinance ( Cap. 57 ), certain items can be deducted from the wages payable but must be included in the calculation of the minimum wage. These items may include, but are not limited to, damage to or loss of goods, meals, accommodation, recovery of any advance or over-payment of wages, recovery of any loan made to the employee by the employer, etc.

3. Exemptions under the Ordinance

Youth employees should be aware of whether or not the Minimum Wage Ordinance ( Cap. 608 ) applies to them. Normally, the ordinance applies to every employee, his or her employer and the contract of employment under which he or she is engaged. However, section 7(4) and (5) of the Ordinance states that it does not apply to student interns and work experience students during a period of exempt student employment.

Student Interns

To be a student intern, as defined in section 2 of the ordinance, the student employees should be:

  1. enrolled in full-time accredited programmes being provided by local education institutions, or resident in Hong Kong and enrolled in full-time education programmes for non-local academic qualification at the degree or higher level;

  2. having an internship arranged or endorsed by the educational institutions providing the programmes or arising from a compulsory or elective component of such programmes.

There is no restriction on the age of participants or the duration of the internship.

Exempted work experience student

To be an exempted work experience student, he or she should also be enrolled in the same kind of programme as stated in point (i) or (ii) above. However, unlike a student intern, the work experience student does not necessarily need to take part in an internship arranged or endorsed by the educational institutions providing the programmes or have the work related to a curriculum. Additional requirements are that the work experience student should be under the age of 26 years at the beginning of the employment and as stated in section 3 , the period of exemption can at most be a continuous period of up to 59 days. There should at most be only one period of exempt student employment during the same calendar year. The student employee also has to make a statutory declaration verifying this fact and provide the declaration (or copy) to the employer.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,563,981 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

XI. 實習

A. 法定最低工資

1. 現行制度

由2013年5月1日開始,法定最低工資為每小時$30。計算方法為僱員在工資期內的總工作時數,乘以法定每小時最低工資額。 第608章《最低工資條例》第6條 訂明,「於任何工資期內就某僱員的非工作時數而支付予該僱員的款項,不得算作為須就該工資期或任何其他工資期支付的工資的一部分。」換言之,總工作時數並不包括休息日的薪酬、假日薪酬、年假的薪酬及疾病津貼等。

第57章《僱傭條例》 第2條 訂明,工資的定義涵蓋所有報酬、收入、津貼(如交通津貼和勤工津貼)、佣金及超時工作薪酬等。故此,倘若僱主在工資期內向僱員所支付的工資少於法定最低工資,便須要支付額外酬金。

2. 扣減工資

僱主有權根據 《僱傭條例》 第32條 從應付給僱員的工資中,扣除某些款項,但在計算最低工資時,該款項須算為工資的一部份。這些款項包括但不限於:損毀或遺失貨品、膳食費用、住宿費用、預支或超額支付的工資、僱主借給僱員的貸款等。

3. 獲條例豁免的情況

青少年僱員應留意 第608章《最低工資條例》是否適用於他們。在一般情況下,該條例適用於每名僱員、其僱主及該僱員據以受聘的僱傭合約。但是,該條例的 第7(4)7(5)條 訂明,條例並不適用於實習學生和正處於獲豁免學生僱用期內的工作經驗學員。

實習學生

該條例的 第2條 訂明,實習學生必須:

  1. 修讀由本地教育機構提供的經評審之全日制課程;或居於香港,並修讀可取得非本地學士學位或以上的學術資格之全日制課程;而同時

  2. 正參與由該教育機構安排或獲其認可的實習工作;且該實習工作是課程的一部份或者是屬於課程的必修科或選修科。

該條例並沒有就實習學生的年齡或實習期長短作任何限制。

獲豁免的工作經驗學員

工作經驗學員亦同樣需要修讀上述(i)或(ii)的課程,但有別於實習學生,工作經驗學員所參與的工作毋須由其教育機構提供,亦毋須屬課程內容的一部份。然而,工作經驗學員必須是在僱傭合約開始時仍未滿26歲。同時,該條例的 第3條 訂明,獲豁免學生最長只可獲聘連續59天,而且於同一年內最多只可有一段時期獲豁免;學員亦需作出法定聲明,核實此事實,並向其僱主提供該法定聲明的副本。

返回
上一頁 下一頁