full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

IX. Protection of employees

A. Basic Protection under the Employment Ordinance

The Employment Ordinance ( Cap. 57 ) provides basic protection for employees in an employer-employee relationship. Here is a list of applicable sections:

  1. Prohibition from heavy, hazardous or harmful work ( section 15AA )
  2. Working on rest days ( section 19(1) )
    “…No employer shall require an employee to work on any of his rest days.”
  3. Annual leave pay ( section 41B )
  4. Statutory holiday arrangement ( section 39(4)(a) )
  5. Holiday pay ( sections 40 , 40A , 41A )
  6. Severance payment ( Part VA )
  7. Long service payment ( section 31R )

B. Minimum Wage Protection

Employer-employee relationships are protected under the Minimum Wage Ordinance ( Cap. 608 ). With reference to section 8 of the Minimum Wage Ordinance ( Cap. 608 ), “An employee is entitled to be paid wages in respect of any wage period of not less than the minimum wage.” The statutory minimum wage is enforceable by law and employers who breach it are liable to prosecution.

C. Protection given by the MPF

In Hong Kong, employers have to contribute to the employee’s Mandatory Provident Fund. Employees are protected under the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance . Section 7A of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance ( Cap. 485 ) provides that an employer will have to contribute to the employee’s Mandatory Provident Fund.

D. Protection given by the Employment Compensation Ordinance

Employees are protected by the Employment Compensation Ordinance ( Cap. 282 ). This ordinance applies to situations where an employee, during the course of employment, suffers injury or damages. Protection includes no fault compensation, where an employee is entitled to compensation without needing to prove the fault of any party.  This ordinance covers “personal injury by accident arising out of or in the course of employment”. This Ordinance also covers certain occupational diseases listed in Schedule 2 of the Employment Compensation Ordinance . Employee’s compensation can cover  loss of earnings and/or earning capacity and medical expenses. Employees can also be paid for the costs and maintenance of prosthesis and surgical appliances. Under this ordinance, an employee retains the right to claim for damages in court. Finally, an employer may also claim from a negligent third party an indemnity and contribution to the employee’s compensation payments made by the employer.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,564,124 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

IX. 僱員的保障

A. 僱傭條例下的基本保障

第57章《僱傭條例》 為在僱傭關係下的僱員提供基本的保障。以下為適用的條例:

  1. 禁止進行粗重、危險或有害工作(15AA條
  2. 在休息日工作( 第19(1)條
    「……僱主不得要求僱員在休息日工作」
  3. 年假薪酬( 第41B條
  4. 法定假期的安排(39(4)(a)條)
  5. 有薪假期(第40 , 40A , 41A條
  6. 支付遣散費(第31條
  7. 支付長期服務金(第31R條

B. 最低工資的保障

僱傭關係受 第608章《最低工資條例》 保障。 《最低工資條例》 第8條 訂明「僱員有權就任何工資期獲支付不少於最低工資的工資」。法定最低工資可依法强制執行。任何違例的僱主均可被檢控。

C. 强積金的保障

在香港,僱主須為其僱員作出强積金供款。僱員受第485章《强制性公積金計劃條例》保障。《强制性公積金計劃條0例》 第7A條 訂明,僱主須為其僱員向有關的强積金計劃作出供款。

D.《僱員補償條例》 的保障

僱員受 第282章《僱員補償條例》保障。此條例適用於在受僱工作期間受傷的僱員。保障內容包括「無過錯賠償」,也就是說僱員毋須證明任何一方犯錯,也可獲得賠償。此條例涵蓋「受僱工作期間因工遭遇意外而導致的身體受傷」,亦涵蓋詳列於 《僱員補償條例》 附表2 的職業病。僱員的補償金額包括收入的損失及/或喪失賺取收入能力的損失,以及醫療費;也包括義製人體器官及外科器具的成本及保養費用。依此條例索償的僱員,仍然有權向法院提出訴訟,申索損害賠償。除此之外,依此條例支付補償的僱主,亦可要求疏忽的第三者分擔部份僱員補償或作出彌償。

返回
上一頁 下一頁