full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,007,170

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

VII. Things to be aware of before signing employment contracts

In Hong Kong, both written and verbal employment contracts are enforceable. But it is preferable that any employment contract is made in writing and signed, as signed written contracts have many more benefits over verbal employment contracts.

A. Benefits of signed written contracts

Written employment contracts that are signed have a multitude of benefits as they specify the employment terms and conditions. This has an effect of clearly delineating the obligations of both employers and employees and thus, would better protect the interests of the employees. If there is a dispute regarding work conditions, a clear, signed, written contract will have the effect of clarifying the issues. A signed written contract can act as a reference point for both the employers and employees to discuss or arbitrate any of their contractual duties.

B. Things employees should do before signing a contract

Employees should ensure that the contractual terms of employment are understood. Employers are obliged to ensure contractual clarity, as doing so is in the best interests of both employers and employees. If the employee does not understand the contractual terms or if the contract terms are too ambiguous, the employee should ask the employer to clarify the terms. Clarification is important, especially for those terms involving financial and time issues such as holiday pay, time of wage payment, and even whether or not breaks are allowed at work.

Employees can consider getting legal advice before signing a contract. Usually the contract need not be signed immediately. If a dispute on the terms arises after the contract is signed, it will create a lot of complications and the dispute may need to be resolved through legal action eventually.

Employees are entitled to examine the employment contract before signing the contract. Potential employees are also allowed to take a copy of the offered contract away to seek advice before they sign it. They are also entitled to keep a copy of the contract after signing it.

C. Items that should be in a contract

The Labour Department has provided a sample contract that is clear and contains all the important provisions that should be found in an employment contract:

Please see the Labour Department website for details.

There are certain provisions that a good employment contract shall include, for example:

  1. Working hours: are they fixed per week/ per day? Is shift work required? Another example is meal breaks- how many hours are permitted for breaks per day?

  2. Wages: are the wages fixed? Is it a Commission or a tips system? Is there any meal allowance and travelling allowance?

  3. Holidays: are statutory holidays included as provided in the Employment Ordinance ? Does the job provide time off on public holidays?

  4. Paid annual leave: Is there paid annual leave for 7-14 days as specified in the Employment Ordinance ?

D. Definition of wages

According to section 2 of the Employment Ordinance ( Cap. 57 ), the term “wages” include all remuneration, earnings, and allowances given by the employer.

Remuneration includes wages that are paid regularly, or any bonuses and commission. Allowances might be things such as payment given in compensation for transportation costs and purchasing utensils and office tools.

E. Legal provisions regarding work time

The Employment Ordinance ( Cap. 57 ) includes provisions regarding employee’s rest periods and holidays. This gives the rest periods and holidays of employees a statutory force, and that means these rest periods and holidays are legally enforceable. Before signing the employment contract, employees should ensure that similar provisions for rest periods/times and holidays are found in the contract.

Under section 17 of the Employment Ordinance ( Cap. 57 ), the employee is entitled to not less than one rest day in every period of seven days, provided that the employee is employed for more than four weeks, and working more than 18 hours a week.

All employees are also entitled to statutory holidays, which are listed under section 39 of the Employment Ordinance ( Cap. 57 ).

Moreover, an employer cannot pay an employee in replacement of a statutory holiday. If an employee has worked on a statutory holiday, an alternative rest day must be arranged within 60 days. This is provided in sections 40 and 40A of the Employment Ordinance ( Cap. 57 ).

F. Other things to be examined before signing a contract

There are other major contractual terms that should be examined before signing an employment contract. They are detailed below.

1. Non -competition clauses

One example is a non-competition clause. Non-competition clauses prohibit the employee from being employed in a similar position or industry for a certain time, and/or within a certain distance or radius. Sometimes non-competition clauses prohibit the employees from bringing certain trade secrets to another company. Under the common law (case law precedents), whether or not the employer can enforce the non-competition clause is based on how reasonable the non-competition clause is.

2. Frequency of wages

As previously stated, there are a multitude of methods for calculating wages. As regards payment of wages, employees should ask if there is a fixed payment day. Employees also need to consider what would happen if payment is delayed or wages go unpaid. A good contract should have these provisions covered. Whether or not there were bonuses or commissions for performance is an issue that should be covered, together with the time of payment of any such bonuses or commissions.

3. MPF contributions

Mandatory Provident Fund contributions are, by law, a compulsory part of employer-employee relationships. The question is whether or not the MPF contributions fit the legal requirements. For example, an employee with an $15,000 monthly income would have to pay 5% of his wage to an MPF, while his/her employer will have to contribute an additional sum amounting to 5% of the employee’s income. All these contributions are legally protected and there are set rules for the amounts contributed.

Another question is whether the employer can set off its obligation for severance payment or long service payment against its MPF contributions in the event of contract termination. A thorough employment contract should include provisions that clarify MPF contributions.

4. Remuneration for overtime work

Questions relating to remuneration for overtime work usually include how the overtime payment is to be calculated. Another question would be whether or not there is any provision for overtime payment included in the contract. If overtime payment is included in the contract, there should be a definition of what is meant by “overtime” in the contract.

5. Resignation

Regarding resignation, customary procedure is that the employee should submit a notice of resignation to his employer one month beforehand. However, situations might differ on a case by case basis. Questions to be asked when examining an employment contract include whether or not notification is needed in advance of resigning. If advanced notification is needed, how long beforehand is the notification needed? If the employee breached the early notification clause, would the employee need to compensate the employer for any losses? If so, is the amount of the losses specified?

6. What happens if the company is sold?

A thorough contract might have provisions relating to the selling of the company. An employee should pay attention to whether the employment contract would be terminated, or whether he/she would continue to work for the new owners.

7. Termination clauses

Termination clauses are clauses that pertain to the dismissal of the employee. They specify conditions under which the employer could terminate the employment contract. They specify both employers’ and employee’s rights and duties. Attention should be paid to issues such as severance payment or long-term service payments.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,480,745 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

VII. 簽訂僱傭合約前應注意的事項

在香港,書面或口頭僱傭合約同樣具有法律效力,但以簽訂書面僱傭合約為佳,因書面合約較口頭合約有更多好處。

A. 簽訂書面合約的好處

以書面方式簽訂的僱傭合約有許多好處,因書面合約可訂明相關的條款及條件。同時,這亦可清楚闡述僱主和僱員的責任,以進一步保障僱員的利益。一旦對工作條件有爭議,清楚明確的書面合約便有助釐清問題。在僱主和僱員就合約責任進行討論或仲裁時,一份簽訂的書面合約亦可作為參考。

B. 僱員在簽訂合約前必須做的事

僱員必須先清楚明白合約中所訂的僱傭條款。僱員亦有責任確保合約清晰無誤,因這對僱主和僱員最為有利。若僱員不明白合約條款,或合約條款含糊不清,便應請僱主解釋清楚。條款清楚明確是十分重要的,特別是有關工資和工時的條款,如假日薪酬、支薪日,或工作期間是否有小休。

僱員可考慮在簽署合約前,徵詢法律意見。僱員一般毋須立刻簽署合約。如果在簽署合約後發生爭議,便會產生不少複雜問題,最終甚或要聘請律師解決。

根據 第57章《僱傭條例》 第44(3)條 ,僱員有權在簽署僱傭合約前,詳細查閱該合約。準僱員亦有權在簽署合約前,要求獲取一份合約擬本,以作徵詢意見之用。他們有權在簽署合約後,獲取一份副本,作為備存之用。

C. 合約內應有的項目

勞工處提供了一份清楚明確的僱傭合約樣本,內含所有僱傭合約內應有的重要條款:

詳情請參閱 勞工處的網頁

舉例,一份恰當的僱傭合約應包括以下規定:

  1. 工作時間:是不是每日/每月固定的?是否需要輪班工作?另一例子是有關用膳時間的規定──每天有多少小時的用膳時間?

  2. 工資:工資是不是固定的?是佣金制度或小費制度嗎?有沒有膳食或交通津貼?

  3. 假期:有沒有包含 《僱傭條例》 所訂明的法定假期?在公眾假期工作是否有補休?

  4. 有薪年假:有沒有根據 《僱傭條例》 提供7-14日的有薪年假?

D. 工資的定義

《僱傭條例》 第2條 訂明,「工資」包括所有由僱主支付的報酬、收入及津貼。

報酬包括定期支付的薪金,或任何花紅及佣金。津貼可以包括交通費用或採購用具和辦公工具等的報銷金額。

E. 有關工作時間的法例

《僱傭條例》載有僱員休息日及假日的規定。這使得僱員的休息日及假日具有法律效力,可依法强制僱主執行。在簽署僱傭合約之前,僱員應確保合約載有類近法例規定的休息時段/時間和假日。

根據 《僱傭條例》 第17條 ,任何受僱超四星期、且每星期工作超過18小時的僱員,有權每7日享有不少於一日休息日。

任何僱員都有權獲給予詳列於 《僱傭條例》 第39條 的法定假期。

僱主不得以工資代替僱員假期。倘若僱員須在法定假期工作,僱主必須在緊接該法定假日前後60天內,另定一日作為假期。此等規定載於 《僱傭條例》 第4040A條

F. 其他簽署合約前需檢視的項目

在簽署合約前,僱員還需要檢閱其他重要合約條款,詳列如下:

1. 不競爭條款

不競爭條款是其中一個例子。不競爭條款禁止僱員在特定時間、或特定距離或範圍,就任類近職位或從事類近行業。有時不競爭條款會禁止僱員把特定的商業秘密帶到另一公司。根據《普通法》,僱主能否執行不競爭條款,取決於該條款是否合理。

2. 支薪形式

如上所述,計算工資有不同方法。僱員宜問明工資是否會在固定的日子支付。僱員亦需考慮若僱主拖欠工資時可採取的行動。一份妥當的合約應涵蓋此等項目。此外,有關花紅或佣金,及其支付的日期,亦應載於合約內。

3. 强積金的供款

依據法例,强積金供款必須在僱主和僱員關係中强制執行。僱員需了解有關强積金供款的合約條款是否符合法例要求。以一名月薪為$15,000的僱員為例,該僱員須將其工資的5%作為强積金供款,其僱主須同時支付相等於該工資5%的金額作為强積金供款。這些供款均受法例規管,供款的金額亦有明文規定。

僱員亦需弄清楚在合約終止時,强積金供款應如何處理,以及有關遣散費的安排。一份完整的僱傭合約應該清楚涵蓋有關强積金供款的規定。

4. 超時工作薪酬

有關超時工作薪酬的問題,通常是如何計算超時工作薪酬。另一問題是合約是否載有超時工作薪酬的條款,如有,合約應定義何謂「超時」。

5. 辭職

辭職的慣常程序是由僱員在一個月前向僱主提交辭職通知,但在個別情況會有不同。在檢閱僱傭合約時,要問的是僱員是否需要在辭職前預先通知僱主,如需要,需要提前多久通知?如果僱員沒有依條款預先通知,是否需要向僱主賠償損失?如要賠償,合約內是否訂明賠償金額?

6. 如果公司被出售,會怎樣?

一份完整的合約應涵蓋有關公司出售的條款。僱員應留意該條款,並了解其僱傭合約會否因此而被終止,或會否獲公司的新老闆繼續僱用。

7. 終止合約的條款

終止合約的條款是指有關解僱僱員的條款,訂明僱主可終止僱傭合約的情況。該條款亦訂明僱主和僱員的權利和責任。僱員應留意有關遣散費和長期服務金的規定。

返回
上一頁 下一頁