full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

VIII. Adultery

Adultery is the term used for voluntary sexual relations between an individual who is married and someone who is not the individual's spouse. When a married person has sexual relations with someone who is not his or her spouse, he or she commits adultery.

The only ground for divorce in Hong Kong is that “the marriage has broken down irretrievably”. According to section 11 of the Matrimonial Causes Ordinance (MCO), adultery is one of the five “facts” a party can use to prove that the marriage has broken down irretrievably, and the petitioner has to establish the fact of adultery.

Under section 11A(a) of the MCO , to establish the fact of adultery, the petitioner must show two things:

  1. the petitioner's spouse has committed adultery, and
  2. the petitioner finds it intolerable to live with the spouse who has committed adultery.

Point (2) above is a test from the  subjective point of view of the adulterer's spouse as to whether or not he/she finds it intolerable to live with the adulterer. The feeling of intolerance does not have to be related to the adultery: it may be a result of the adultery, but it may also relate to some other behavior of the adulterer.

Time limit

If the parties continue to live together for more than six months following the act of adultery, the petitioner will not be entitled to rely on the fact of adultery because the petitioner will not be able to show that he/she finds it intolerable to live with his/her spouse who has committed adultery.

Proof

It is not a requirement that the person who committed adultery with the respondent is identified. The petition and confession statement could state that the respondent committed adultery with a person unknown to the petitioner, or the petitioner can choose to disclose the identity of the person if the petitioner knows who that person is.

The petitioner must have certain knowledge that adultery has occurred , not only a belief that there has been adultery. The standard of proof is? “a preponderance of probability” and there is also a presumption of innocence to overcome. Whoever raises the allegation of adultery has to prove it.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,561,793 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

VIII. 通姦

通姦是指任何已婚人士自願與配偶以外的人發生性關係。已婚人士跟他人發生性關係,而該人不是自己的配偶,便構成通姦。

已婚人士要在香港提出離婚,唯一可提出申請的理由是「婚姻已破裂至無可挽救」。根據 《婚姻訴訟條例》 第11條 ,申請離婚的一方須向法院提出事實,證明婚姻已破裂至無可挽救,而通姦便是法庭可接受的事實之一。呈請人必須提出證據證明通姦屬實。

根據 《婚姻訴訟條例》 第11A(a)條 ,提出離婚的呈請人必須令法庭信納:

  1. 呈請人的配偶曾與人通姦;及
  2. 呈請人認為無法忍受與曾通姦的配偶共同生活,

便可確立通姦為事實。

上述第二點提到呈請人是否無法忍受與通姦者共同生活,將涉及他/她的主觀情感。呈請人不能忍受與配偶同住,可能由配偶通姦而起,亦有可能是不能忍受配偶的其他行為所致。

時限

夫婦的其中一方揭發對方通姦後,倘若仍繼續與對方同住超過六個月,便不能以配偶通姦為由申請離婚。原因是雙方同住,便不能顯示呈請人無法忍受與他/她的配偶共同生活。

證明

法例沒有要求呈請人必須交代第三者(即與答辯人通姦的人)的身份。離婚呈請書及承認通姦的陳述只須述明答辯人曾與第三者通姦,毋須交代第三者的身份。不過,如呈請人知道第三者是誰,亦可選擇述明他/她的身分。

呈請人必須提出事實證明通姦確曾發生,不能單憑直覺指控配偶通姦。指控一方須負起舉證責任,而舉證亦須達致「可能性佔優勢」的標準,並足以推翻答辯人的無罪推定。

返回
上一頁 下一頁