full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

IX. Cohabitation

Unmarried cohabitant couples do not have the legal status of married couples and thus do not enjoy the benefits attached to married couples, which includes tax, pension, medical and public housing benefits. The most important fact is that, regardless of how long the cohabitants have been living together, cohabitant couples are not recognized as married couples under the law. Thus, cohabitant couples fall outside the scope of the rights enjoyed by married couples.

A. Estate provision

According to the Intestate Estate Ordinance (IEO), Cap. 73 , if a person has not married his/her cohabiting partner, and his/her cohabiting partner dies intestate (without a will), he/she cannot share in the estate of his/her cohabiting partner( section 4 ). According to section 2 of the IEO , “intestate” also includes a person who leaves a will but dies intestate as to some beneficial interest in his/her estate.

However, the Inheritance (Provision for Family and Dependants) Ordinance ( Cap. 481 ) provides a way for a cohabiting partner to apply for financial provision from his/her deceased partner, even if the deceased partner leaves no will and no legal status of husband or wife exists. According to section 3(1)(b)(ix) of the Inheritance (Provision for Family and Dependants) Ordinance , any person who has been maintained wholly or substantially by the deceased immediately before the deceased’s death can apply for financial provision from the deceased person’s estate. Therefore, if a cohabiting partner can prove that he/she has been maintained by the deceased partner, then he/she can still receive maintenance from the deceased’s estate.

B. Protection from violence in cohabitation

Hong Kong laws seek to protect cohabitants from violence in their relationships. The Domestic and Cohabitation Relationships Violence Ordinance ( Cap. 189 ) allows victims of violence, whether in marriage or cohabitation relationships, to seek legal remedies and apply for court injunctions. For example, a person may apply for a restraining order to prevent the perpetrator or abusive partner from entering or remaining in their residence: under ( Section 3B of the Domestic and Cohabitation Relationships Violence Ordinance ).

For more details about domestic violence, please read “ Domestic violence and assistance ”.

C. Parental Rights

Where unmarried cohabitants have children, the mother has all the rights and authority regarding the child’s custody and upbringing, while the natural father does not have automatic parental rights. To enjoy parental rights, the natural father must make an application for a Court Order under ( Section 3(1)(c) of the Guardianship of Minors Ordinance , Cap. 13 ).

D. Upon Separation

In the event of a breakdsown in their relationship, cohabitants do not enjoy any legal rights. In particular, the law does not provide unmarried separated couples the same rights that are enjoyed by divorced couples following the breakdown of their marriage.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,466,935 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

IX. 同居

未婚的同居伴侶不能跟已婚人士擁有同等的法律地位,亦不能享有已婚夫婦應有的權益,例如稅務優惠、退休金、醫療及公屋等福利。更重要的是,不管同居伴侶共同生活多久,法律亦不會視他們為已婚配偶,因此他們不能享有已婚夫婦應有的權益。

A. 遺產分配

根據香港法例 第73章《無遺囑者遺產條例》 ,任何人如沒有與他/她的同居伴侶結為夫婦,而同居伴侶過身時沒有立下遺囑,他/她將不可獲分死者的遺產( 第4條 )。 《無遺囑者遺產條例》 第2條 則訂明,無遺囑者還包括留有遺囑但對其遺產中若干實益權益未有立下遺囑而去世的人。

然而,即使同居伴侶生前沒有立下遺囑,雙方亦沒有合法夫婦的法律地位,香港法例 第481章《財產繼承(供養遺屬及受養人)條例》 仍容許同居伴侶,從過身的另一半的遺產中申請經濟給養。 《財產繼承(供養遺屬及受養人)條例》 第3(1)(b)(ix)條 訂明,任何人在緊接死者去世前,完全或主要靠死者贍養,便可申請從死者遺產中領取經濟給養。因此,只要尚存的同居伴侶能證明他/她一直依靠死者贍養,即可從死者的遺產中取得贍養費用。

B. 保障同居伴侶免受暴力對待

香港一直有法例保障同居關係的伴侶免受暴力對待。不論雙方是婚姻或同居關係,任何一方如成為家庭暴力受害人,均可根據香港法例 第189章《家庭及同居關係暴力條例》 申索補償,以及申請強制令。例如,受虐者可根據 《家庭及同居關係暴力條例》 第3B條 向法庭申請強制令,禁止施虐者進入或逗留在兩人的居所。

您可參考「 家庭暴力與尋求協助 」一頁,了解更多有關家庭暴力的資訊。

C. 父母的權利

同居伴侶如誕下小孩,生母將擁有為人父母的一切權利,全權擁有子女的管養及撫養權,而生父則不會自動擁有父母應有的權利。生父如要取得父母的權利,必須根據香港法例 第13章《未成年人監護條例》 第3(1)(c)條 向法院申請命令。

D. 同居伴侶分手

同居伴侶如決定分手,法例並不會賦予他們享有合法夫婦離婚時應有的同等權利。

返回
上一頁 下一頁