full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,907

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

X. Transsexual marriage

Transsexual persons are those who have changed from one sex to another. Normally transsexuals change their gender by undergoing a sex reassignment surgery. Following surgery, they will receive a new identity card with the new acquired gender.

According to section 40 of the Marriage Ordinance , marriage involves a voluntary union for life of one man and one woman to the exclusion of all others.

Prior to the latest Court of Final Appeal (CFA) decision in W v Registrar of Marriages , the law did not recognize a transsexual’s right to marriage.

W v Registrar of Marriages case

In this case, a post-operation male-to-female transsexual known as “W” was refused marriage to a man by the Registrar of Marriage, for the reason that “W” was biologically a male and hence not fit for the purpose of marriage to a man. “W” challenged the decision through judicial review: (i) challenging the interpretation of “female” under sections 21 and 40 of the Marriage Ordinance , and (ii) challenging the constitutionality of the Marriage Ordinance —claiming an infringement of her right to marry guaranteed by Basic Law Article 37 and Hong Kong Bill of Rights Article 19(2) . Both the Court of First Instance and the Court of Appeal ruled against W – however, the Court of First Instance suggested the government to conduct a public consultation on gender identity, sexual orientation and the specific problems and difficulties faced by transsexual people, including their right to marry.

CFA decision

In the latest and final decision of the Court of Final Appeal in 2013, the CFA declared that the meaning of “woman” and “female” includes a post-operation male-to-female transsexual person whose gender has been certified by an appropriate medical authority as having changed after sex reassignment surgery. Accordingly, the Court held that under the law “W” is entitled to be included as "a woman" under the relevant provisions of the Marriage Ordinance, and therefore is eligible to marry a man.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,480,645 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

X. 變性人的婚姻

變性人是指任何改變性別的人士,他們通常會接受性別轉換手術,以改變性別,並會在接受手術後領取新的身份證,上面將顯示新性別。

根據香港法例 第181章《婚姻條例》 ,婚姻是指一男一女自願終身結合,不容他人介入。法例一直不承認變性人締結緍姻的權利,直至最近,終審法院就變性人W訴婚姻登記官一案頒下判令。

W訴婚姻登記官案

W訴婚姻登記官 一案中,變性人W已完成性別轉換手術,由男性變為女性。W早前申請與男性伴侶結婚,遭婚姻登記官拒絕,理由是W生理上是一名男性,因此不能與另一名男性結婚。W申請司法覆核,挑戰婚姻登記官的決定,包括: (i) 質疑 《婚姻條例》 第21條第40條 對「女性」的定義;及 (ii) 質疑 《婚姻條例》 是否合憲,即有否違反 《基本法》 第37條香港人權法案條例第19(2)條 賦予其可締結婚姻的權利的原則。

高等法院原訟庭及上訴庭均裁定W敗訴,原訟庭作出裁決時,亦建議政府展開公眾諮詢,探討性別認同、性取向及變性人所面對的難題,包括他們締結婚姻的權利。

終審法院的裁決

2013年,終審法院作出最後裁決,裁定「女人」及「女性」的定義包括已完成手術、由男性變為女性的變性人,而醫療當局可證明有關變性人已因手術轉換性別。因此,法院認為,W可在法律上被界定為「女性」,並根據 《婚姻條例》 的有關條文與男性結婚。

返回
上一頁 下一頁