full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

III. How to recover the outstanding rent and get back the property?

Every well-drafted tenancy document, whether for a domestic or non-domestic property, will contain a clause that entitles the landlord to forfeit the tenancy (i.e. to terminate the tenancy and to re-enter the property) if the tenant fails to duly pay rent. Even if the tenancy document does not contain a forfeiture clause, the law generally implies such a right of forfeiture .

Regarding tenancies of domestic properties that were created on or after 27 December 2002, section 117 of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance implies in such tenancies a covenant on the part of the tenant to pay the rent on the due date and a condition for forfeiture if that covenant is broken by virtue of non-payment of rent within 15 days of the due date.

Regarding tenancies of non-domestic properties , section 126 of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance provides that in the absence of any express covenant for the payment of rent and condition for forfeiture, there will be implied in every tenancy a covenant to pay the rent on the due date and a condition for forfeiture for non-payment within 15 days of that date.

Therefore, in general, if a tenant is late in paying the rent for 15 days, the landlord is entitled to terminate the tenancy. The tenant, however, can save the tenancy by paying all of the outstanding rent in arrears before the landlord takes possession of the property.

1. My tenant has failed to pay rent for two months. What can I do to recover the rent and the possession of my property?

If a tenant fails to pay rent, then the following measures are usually available to the landlord.

a. Action for the recovery of outstanding rent

If landlords intend only to recover the outstanding rent but not to regain possession of the properties, then they may make their claim for rent arrears at one of the followings.

- The Small Claims Tribunal : for claims of $50,000 or less (To get more information about how to prepare for the trial (from both the Claimant's and the Defendant's perspective), please click here ;
- The District Court : for claims that exceed $50,000 but do not exceed $1,000,000;
- The Court of First Instance of the High Court , which has unlimited jurisdiction.

Landlords of domestic property should ensure that they have submitted a Notice of New Letting or Renewal Agreement (Form CR109) to the Commissioner of Rating and Valuation for endorsement within one month of the execution of the tenancy document. Landlords of domestic properties are not entitled to maintain legal action to recover rent under tenancy documents if the Commissioner does not endorse the form. However, landlords who do not submit the form within the one month period can do so at any time after paying a fee of $310.

b. Action for forfeiture (to get back the property) and to recover outstanding rent

If landlords believe that their tenants have been absconded or will not be able to pay the rent for the remaining term of the tenancy, then they will probably want to get back the property and recover the rent in arrears. In such circumstances, the landlords are said to be exercising their right of forfeiture and may file their claims at:

- the Lands Tribunal ;
- the District Court if the outstanding rent does not exceed $1,000,000 and the rateable value of the property does not exceed $240,000; or
- the Court of First Instance of the High Court for outstanding rent of any amount.

The landlord, if successful in obtaining a judgment against the tenant, will be able to apply to the tribunal/appropriate court for a Writ of Possession . Upon the issue of the Writ of Possession, the court bailiff will recover the possession of the property on the landlord’s behalf.

Jurisdiction of the High Court

It should be noted that although the High Court has unlimited jurisdiction to handle any of the above claims, it normally will not entertain a claim that falls within the jurisdiction of the District Court or the Lands Tribunal.

Interim payment

In simple words, "interim payment" is the payment made by one of the parties to the other party in a lawsuit before the completion of the court trail (i.e. before the judge delivers the final judgment on the relevant case). The payee (usually the plaintiff) must first apply to court and obtain the relevant court order before he could entitle to interim payment.

Application for interim payment is common in situations where the tenant has been in continuous possession of the premises, refusing to vacate and paying no rent at all. In such a situation, the landlord may commence legal proceedings against the tenant for forfeiture of tenancy, damages (compensation), and mesne profits (the rent that should be paid by the tenant for the period between the expiry of tenancy and the date of vacation). However, it would take some time before the landlord's alleged grievance can be heard before a judge in court. In this waiting period, the landlord may be precluded from obtaining the contractual rent (from the tenant) or the prevailing market rent (if the landlord finds a new tenant) due to the continuous occupation of the premises by the tenant. The landlord should not be deprived of money which he would be entitled to recover from the tenant in the period leading to case being heard in court.

If, on the hearing of an application, the court is satisfied that:

  1. the plaintiff's legal action includes a claim for possession of land (to get back the property); and
  2. if the legal action proceeded to trial, the defendant would likely be held liable to pay to the plaintiff a sum of money in respect of the defendant's use and occupation of the land,

the court may order the defendant to make an interim payment to the plaintiff. Before the court exercises its discretion, it would take into consideration any set-off, cross-claim or counterclaim by the defendant.

You must seek legal advice on any grounds for obtaining an interim payment before you make the relevant application to court.

c. Action for distress

Distress means the seizure, detention and sale of movable chattels/goods found in the rented property to satisfy the rent arrears. Due to the nature of distress, it is mostly used in cases in which a tenant is still operating a business at the rented property. Part III of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance governs the procedures and formalities for applications for distress.

The application for distress is an ex-parte application (by one party only), meaning that the tenant will not have the chance to appear before the judge to make any submission (or objection). This is to avoid the tenant knowing of the application and dissipating the available assets.

The landlord must file an affidavit/affirmation (please refer to "Bringing or Defending a Civil Case" under the CLIC website for more information) to support the application. If the Court accepts the landlord's application, then a warrant of distress is issued. The bailiff then enters the property, seizes the movable chattels/goods found inside and in the apparent possession of the tenant, and sells the chattels/goods to satisfy the rent in arrears. As distress is complicated both in terms of procedures and legality, it is usually done with the assistance of legal professionals.

2. My tenant has failed to pay rent for several months and has deserted the property. Can I regain possession of my property by breaking open the door, throwing away the tenant's belongings and changing the lock?

A tenancy document will usually contain a clause that allows the landlord to re-enter the property if the tenant fails to pay rent. However, it is unsafe for the landlord to rely solely on this clause and re-enter the property in a self-help manner. The tenant can reappear a few months later and allege that the landlord has misappropriated valuables left in the property.

Apart from civil liability, the landlord may also face criminal charges. Section 119V of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance expressly provides that any person who unlawfully deprives a tenant of occupation of the relevant premises commits an offence and may be liable to a fine or even imprisonment.

Therefore, even if it may be quite certain that the tenant has deserted the property, the landlord should go through the appropriate legal procedures, which will eventually lead to the recovery of the property with the assistance of the bailiff. For more information, please refer to Q1.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,466,975 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

III. 追討欠租及收樓

所有妥善草擬的租賃文件,不論有關住宅或非住宅物業,都必定會包括一項條款,列明若租客未能依時繳付租金,業主有權沒收有關租賃(即終止租賃並收回物業)。即使租賃文件並無列明沒收租賃條款,此 沒收權 一般亦會根據法律而隱含於租約內。

住宅物業 而言,根據《 業主與租客(綜合)條例第117條 ,任何在二零零二年十二月二十七日或之後訂立的租賃,均隱含有租客須在到期日繳交租金的承諾,以及假若租客沒有在到期日十五天內繳交租金,業主即可沒收租賃的權利。

非住宅物業 而言,根據《 業主與租客(綜合)條例第126條 ,即使雙方並未就繳付租金及沒收權作出任何承諾,所有租賃均隱含有租客須在到期日繳交租金的承諾,以及假若租客沒有在到期日十五天內繳交租金,業主即可沒收租賃的權利。

因此,一般而言,若租客未能在租金到期日十五天內繳交租金,業主已有權終止有關租賃。但只要租客在業主接管物業前交付所有欠租,即可挽回該租賃。

1. 我的租客已經好幾個月沒有繳交租金,我怎樣才可以追討欠租及收回物業?

如果租客欠租,業主可考慮採取以下行動:

a. 以訴訟行動追討欠租

如果業主只是想追討欠租,而無意收回物業,可於下列審裁處 / 法庭作出申索:-

小額錢債審裁處 :申索款額不高於港幣五萬元(有關如何準備出庭應訊(從訴訟雙方之角度看),請登入 此處
區域法院 :申索款額高於港幣五萬元但不多於一百萬元;
高等法院原訟庭 :申索款額並無上限。

住宅物業的業主亦需在簽署租賃文件後一個月內向差餉物業估價署呈交一份 《新租出或重訂協議通知書(表格CR109)》 。除非差餉物業估價署署長已在該通知書上批署,否則即使租客沒有繳付租金,業主亦無權依據有關租賃文件採取法律行動。不過,即使業主並未在規限的一個月內呈交該通知書,也可以在繳付 310元附加費後,補交該通知書。

沒收租賃(收回物業)並追討欠租

假若業主認為租客已搬離有關物業,或不會就餘下租期繳付租金,業主除有意追討欠租外,亦會想收回該物業。在這種情況下,業主可在下列審裁處 / 法院,申請行使其沒收租賃的權利:

土地審裁處
區域法院 :所欠租金不高於港幣一百萬元,而且有關物業的應課差餉租值不高於二十四萬元;
高等法院原訟庭 :欠租金額並無上限。

如業主勝訴,可向審裁處 / 法庭申請 管有令狀 。法庭發出管有令狀後,法庭的 執達主任 便會代表業主收回有關物業。

高等法院的司法管轄權

值得注意的是,雖然高等法院有權處理上述任何申索,但如所涉案情乃屬區域法院或土地審裁處的管轄,高等法院可拒絕受理。

中期付款

簡而言之,中期付款是其中一方在法庭審訊完成之前(即法官仍未就有關案件頒下判決時),付給另一方的款項。受款人(通常是原告人)必須先向法庭申請並得到相關法庭命令後,才有權獲得中期付款。

業主申請中期付款之常見情況,是租客仍持續管有樓宇,並拒絕遷出及完全不付租金。遇此情況,儘管業主可對租客展開法律程序,要求沒收租賃、索取損害賠償及中間收益(即由租約期滿至最終遷出日期之間,租客應要付出的租金),但業主的申索需要等候法庭聆訊。在等候期間,業主可能基於租客仍持續管有樓宇,而無法從該租客獲取合約租金,或無法從新租客獲取市值租金(假設業主可找到新租客)。在案件獲得法庭審理之前,業主應有權向租客討回應得的金錢。

如果法庭在聆訊申請後信納:

  1. 原告人的申索包括收回土地管有權(取回物業);而且
  2. 如果有關申索進行至審訊階段,被告人很可能被判須為佔用該物業而支付原告人一筆款項,

法庭便可能會命令被告人支付原告人一筆中期付款。法庭在行使酌情決定權之前,亦會考慮被告人有否提出任何抵銷或反申索。

向法庭提出申請取得中期付款前,閣下必須尋求法律意見,以了解自己是否有充分理據作出有關申請。

c. 財物扣押令

財物扣押乃指檢取、扣留及售賣在出租物業內發現的可動產(例如貨物、傢俬或電器等),以清償所欠租金。 此類扣押令多用於租客仍在出租物業內營運的情況。《 業主及租客(綜合)條例 》第三部分規管有關申請財物扣押令的程序及形式。

申請財物扣押令乃以單方面申請的形式進行,也就是說,租客沒有機會在法官前作出任何陳述(或抗辯)。此乃防止租客在得知有關申請後即移走撤盡其資產。

業主須向法庭呈交一份誓章(請參閱《社區法網》中的 如何提出民事訴訟或作出抗辯 ) ,以支持其申請。假若法庭接納業主的申請,即會發出扣押令。法庭執達主任可進入有關物業,檢取在內發現而表面屬租客管有的可動產,並將之售賣,以清償所欠租金。 由於扣押令所涉之法律程序頗為複雜,故多由專業法律人員處理。

2. 我的租客已經好幾個月沒有繳交租金,並已棄置有關物業。我可否破門入屋、丟掉租客的物品及轉換門鎖,以收回物業?

租賃文件通常都會包含一項條款,容許業主在租客沒有繳付租金的情況下,重新進入物業。但是,若業主純粹倚賴該項條款,而自行(沒有獲得法庭批准下)重新進入物業,其實並非明智之舉。租客可能在幾個月後出現,宣稱業主非法處置或挪用其遺留於該物業內的貴重物品。

除民事法律責任外,自行重新進入出租物業的業主也可能面對刑事檢控。《 業主與租客(綜合)條例第119V條 清楚列明,任何人如非法剝奪租客對處所的佔用,即屬犯罪,可被判處罰款及監禁。

因此,即使業主肯定租客已棄置有關物業,仍應採取適當的法律程序,藉法庭執達主任的幫助去收回有關物業。

返回
上一頁 下一頁