full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

IX. Landlord sells the property with existing tenancy

When a landlord intends to sell a property that is let to a tenant, the landlord should make it clear to the estate agent, the solicitors and the potential purchaser that the property will be sold subject to a tenancy. The landlord should also notify the tenant about the intended sale and properly deal with the deposit paid by the tenant.

To get more information about sale and purchase of property, please go to "Sale and Purchase of Property" under the CLIC website.

1. My property, which is currently let to a tenant, has risen in value and I intend to sell it. What do I need to do to discharge myself from any liability under the tenancy before selling the property?

The landlord should make it clear to the estate agent, the solicitors and the potential purchaser that the property will be sold subject to a tenancy. The landlord’s solicitors will be responsible for putting relevant provisions in the agreement for sale and purchase to be made between the landlord and the potential purchaser, so that the landlord will be discharged from any liability under the tenancy. Typical provisions include declaring that the landlord has fully disclosed the particulars of the tenancy, reserving the landlord’s rights to claim against the tenant arrears of rent that were incurred before the completion of the sale, and excluding liabilities under the tenancy document on the landlord’s part incurred subsequent to the completion of the sale.

The landlord should also notify the tenant about the intended sale and properly deal with the deposit paid by the tenant. Simply transferring the deposit to the new owner will not exempt the landlord from being held liable for returning the deposit to the tenant. Upon such transferral, the landlord should, in exchange, obtain from the new owner an indemnity against claims on the deposit by the tenant (i.e. the landlord will be free from any future deposit claim by the tenant). Alternatively, the landlord may refund the deposit to the tenant and asked the tenant to lodge the same deposit with the new owner.

2. My landlord has informed me that the property I am renting was sold recently. I was also told to pay rent to the new landlord on the next due date. Can I object? Will my interests under the "old" tenancy be protected?

The landlord, as the owner of the property, is fully entitled to sell the property. If there is a tenancy subsisting at the property, it is likely that the property will be sold subject to the tenancy. That is to say, the new owner will be aware of the tenancy and will expect to collect rent from the tenant. The agreement for sale and purchase made between the old owner and the new owner should also have specified that the new owner will inherit from the old owner all of the rights and liabilities under the tenancy. Therefore, a tenant’s rights and liabilities under the existing tenancy will generally remain unchanged.

However, the deposit paid by the tenant deserves particular attention. According to a judgment made by the Privy Council (the final appellant court for Hong Kong before 1 July 1997) in 1986, the covenant made by a landlord to return the deposit to a tenant is a personal promise, and is thus enforceable only against the landlord personally but not against the new owner. Therefore, unless there are some other arrangements or agreements, the new landlord is not liable to the tenant in respect of the deposit paid to the old landlord. The tenant should make sure that the old landlord has transferred the deposit to the new landlord so that the tenant can recover the deposit from the new landlord.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,478,466 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

IX. 業主將有租約之物業出售

假若業主有意售賣已出租的物業,應清楚通知其地產代理、律師及準買家,該物業乃在不抵觸現有租賃的情況下出售。業主亦應就有關買賣通知租客,並妥善處理租客已交付的按金。

有關樓宇買賣的更多資料,請瀏覽《社區法網》中的「樓宇買賣」。

1. 我打算賣掉最近升了值的出租物業,怎樣才可以解除我在有關租賃內的責任?

業主應清楚通知其地產代理、律師及準買家,該物業乃在不抵觸現有租賃的情況下出售。業主的代表律師會在業主和準買家將要簽訂的買賣協議內,加入合適的條款,以確保解除業主在有關租賃下的責任。典型的條款包括:聲明業主已完全披露有關租賃的詳情,保留業主向租客追討有關買賣成交前欠租的權利,豁除業主在買賣成交後因該租賃而引起的責任等。

業主亦應就有關買賣通知租客,並妥當處理租客已交付的按金。單是把按金交予新的物業擁有人不足以解除業主歸還按金的責任。業主應確保新的物業擁有人承諾就租客作出任何關於按金的申索作出補償(即業主可不受租客將來就按金作出申索的影響)。業主也可以把按金退還給租客,並要求租客另繳按金予新的物業擁有人。

2. 我的業主通知我,已把我所租用的物業賣出,以後需把租金交予新業主。我可否反對?我根據「舊有」租賃所有的權利會否得到保障?

作為物業的擁有人,業主當然有權把物業出售。假如該物業存有租賃,則應在不抵觸現有租賃的情況下出售。也就是說,新的物業擁有人知悉該租賃的存在,也接受就該租賃向租客收取租金。新舊擁有人簽訂的買賣協議也應該述明,新擁有人將從舊擁有人繼承所有與該租賃有關的權利和責任。因此,租客根據原有租賃所有的權利和責任大致維持不變。

不過,原有業主(即舊業主)需特別注意有關按金的問題。根據英國樞密院(即一九九七年七月一日前香港法制中的最高上訴法庭)在一九八六年所作的一項判決,業主就歸還按金所作的承諾,乃屬個人承諾,所以只對該業主(即舊業主)有效,對新的物業擁有人並無約束力。所以,除非立約各方早有安排或協議,否則新業主毋須就租客繳交予舊業主的按金負上責任。因此租客應確保舊業主已把按金轉交給新業主,以使租客能向新業主索回按金。

返回
上一頁 下一頁