full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

VI. Properties with mortgages

I received a letter from a bank claiming to be the mortgagee of the property that I am renting. The bank claimed that the tenancy document between my landlord and me was made without its consent and asked me to move out of the property. What can I do?

All properly drafted mortgages contain a clause that requires the mortgagor (the landlord) to seek consent from the mortgagee (the bank) before the mortgagor lets the property to another party (the tenant).

If the landlord complies with this requirement, then the bank has notice of the tenant’s presence and cannot evict the tenant even if the bank eventually exercises its power of repossession under the mortgage, such as when the mortgagor fails to make mortgage repayment to the bank. The bank, under such circumstances, will become the landlord and is entitled to receive rent from the tenant.

If the landlord lets the property to a tenant without obtaining the bank's consent, then the landlord is in breach of the mortgage and the property is liable to be repossessed by the bank. When the bank eventually exercises its power of repossession under the mortgage, which may arise from causes other than the aforesaid breach, the tenant is actually a trespasser (a person who illegally enters or occupies a property without permission from the property owner) on the property and the bank is perfectly entitled to ask the tenant to leave even if the tenant is prepared to pay the rent.

As a mortgage will invariably be registered with the Lands Registry, the tenant is deemed to have notice of the mortgage and its terms. If the bank exercises its power of repossession under the mortgage, then the tenant cannot use ignorance as an excuse. Therefore, before entering into a tenancy document, a tenant should always conduct a land search at the Land Registry to check whether the property is mortgaged. If the answer is affirmative, then the tenant must ensure that the landlord has obtained consent from the mortgagee.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,561,897 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

VI. 按揭物業

我收到銀行來信,聲稱為我所租用物業的承按人,又稱由於我與業主所立的租賃文件並未取得其同意,故要求我遷出,我可以怎樣做?

所有妥善擬訂的按揭契,都會包含一項條款,規定按揭人(即業主)在把物業租出予第三者(即租客)時,都必須先取得承按人(即銀行)的同意。

假如業主遵守上述條款,銀行即已知悉有關租賃,故即使他日按揭人 / 業主因無法供款(俗稱「斷供」)而導致銀行行使其收回該物業的權利時,銀行亦未必可以強迫租客遷離該物業。在這種情況下,銀行會成為了業主,並有權向租客收取租金。

反過來說,假如業主在未取得銀行同意的情況下把按揭物業出租,業主已違反了有關條款,足以導致銀行收回該物業。銀行最終行使其收回該物業的權利時,可能是由於其他原因,而非前述的違規行為,但不管如何,在這類情況下的租客其實已成為了侵權者。即使租客願意繼續交付租金予銀行,銀行亦可拒絕收取租金,而要求租客遷出。

由於按揭契都必定會在土地註冊處註冊,故租客已被視作知悉有關其租用物業的按揭契及其內容。當銀行依據按揭契行使其收回物業的權利時,租客不能以不知情為藉口作拖延。因此,準租客在訂立租賃文件前,應在土地註冊處進行 土地查冊 ,查閱有關單位是否為按揭物業。假若是按揭物業,便應確保業主已獲得承人的同意。

返回
上一頁 下一頁