full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

IV. Regulations on using or occupying a leased property

At first sight, a landlord should not have to bother with what the tenant is doing in the property as long as the tenant duly pays the rent and keeps the property in good condition. However, the issue is not as simple as that. A property used for a non-authorised purpose may create trouble for its owner.

1. Why is it necessary to ascertain the primary use, for example “domestic” or “non-domestic”, of a property?

A tenancy document usually contains a clause which specifies that the property is only to be used for domestic or non-domestic purposes. If a landlord believes that a tenant is in breach of this clause, such as running a shop in a residential property, the landlord must obtain proof of such a breach before proceeding with further action.

Where a question or dispute arises about whether a property is used for domestic or non-domestic purposes, one may ask the Rating and Valuation Department to issue a Certificate of Primary User of Premises for verification. If the dispute has been brought up to the Court, then you should submit Form TR4 to apply for the Certificate. If the dispute has not yet been brought up to the Court, then you should submit Form TR4D and pay the application fee of $3,850. Although the Certificate does not provide a conclusive answer to the issue, it will be persuasive when the issue is brought to Court.

For more details regarding the Certificate, please contact the Rating and Valuation Department at 21520111 or 21508229.

2. I have let a residential property to a tenant and I recently found that the tenant is using the property as an office. Will this affect my interests or cause any liability to me as a landlord? If my tenant conducts criminal activities there, what further problems will I face?

A property that is used for a non-authorised purpose may create trouble for its owner (the landlord) in the following ways.

Breach of Government Lease

An interesting phenomenon in Hong Kong is that property owners do not really own their properties. All lands in Hong Kong (except the piece on which St. John's Cathedral is standing) are owned by the government, and landowners only lease their land (You may go to "Sale and Purchase of Property" under the CLIC website for more details). A typical owner of a flat in a building is therefore only a holder of shares in the land on which the building stands. When the government leases a piece of land to the "owner", a contract is signed. The contract, generally called a Government Lease , imposes various conditions on the "owners" and their successor in title. One commonly found condition is that the "owners" have to comply with the land use purpose specified in the Government Lease. If there is a breach of this condition, for example conducting business activities at a property designated for residential use, then the government is entitled to re-enter and take back the possession of the property. Although such a drastic measure is seldom used, the Lands Department may require the "owner" to apply for a temporary waiver and pay a waiver fee, so that the government will temporarily waive its rights of re-entry.

Breach of the Deed of Mutual Covenant

A deed of mutual covenant is a contract that is binding on all owners of a multi-unit or multi-storey building. It basically sets out the rules for the management of the building.

A standard deed of mutual covenant will state that a unit owner must comply with the terms of the relevant Government Lease and will use the property only for the authorised purpose(s). A unit owner will usually also be required to prevent the tenant or occupiers from breaching the relevant terms. Therefore, even though it may be the tenant who is in breach of the Government Lease and the deed of mutual covenant, the landlord can still be liable to legal action by the management company or the other unit owners of the building.

Liability to a third party

If a residential property is used for business, then one can naturally expect that more visitors than originally anticipated will frequent the property. The chance of such visitors suffering from accidents related to the property and thus claiming against the landlord will also increase. A well-drafted tenancy document will contain a clause which specifies that the tenant indemnifies the landlord from and against all claims and liabilities caused by the tenant’s breach of any agreements. However, if the landlord does not have a well-drafted tenancy document, there may be a vacuum in the terms of liability to be borne by the landlord or tenant. In such circumstances, the landlord may be entangled in totally unanticipated litigation.

Criminal liability

If the tenant is merely using the property for purpose(s) other than that authorised, then the worst that the landlord will face is monetary loss and damages. However, if the landlord knows that the tenant is using the property for criminal activities, e.g. as a gambling place or a vice establishment, and does nothing about it, the landlord could face criminal charges. The consequences will not be limited to monetary loss and damages, but may include a criminal record and imprisonment. Hence, a landlord who finds a tenant using the property for criminal activities should at once report the case to the police.

As a tenancy document is likely to contain a clause that designates the use of the property, e.g. residential, retail, or industrial, the tenant's breach of this clause will give rise to the landlord's right of forfeiture. The landlord may also want to seek professional legal advice about the landlord's rights and liabilities, which may vary under different circumstances. For instance, a tenant who uses a residential property as a home office may simply be using it as a business correspondence address with all business done on a computer, i.e. without visitors to the property and without storing goods at the property. There may not be any actual harm to the property or any actual negative effects to the landlord. In such circumstances, even though the tenant is technically in breach of the term of the tenancy document, the Court probably will have much sympathy towards the tenant.

3. I am a tenant of an apartment unit who have been disturbed by my neighbour (since he habitually sings karoake at a high volume at night). I complained to the manager of the building and was told that as I was not the owner of the property. He further stated that I did not have any right under the deed of mutual covenant. What can I do?

A deed of mutual covenant is a contract binding on all owners of a multi-unit or multi-storey building. It basically sets out rules for the management and regulation of the building. A detailed deed of mutual covenant can run to over a hundred pages.

It may be technically correct that a tenant, not being the owner of the apartment unit, does not have any right under the deed of mutual covenant. Yet it does not preclude the building manager (or the owners-incorporation of the building) from exercising its power conferred by the deed of mutual covenant.

A typical deed of mutual covenant will state that a unit owner shall not cause or permit nuisance (either created by the owner or his/her tenant) to other occupiers of the same building. Therefore, subject to what the deed of mutual covenant exactly says, the building manager can do whatever it is empowered to do under the deed of mutual covenant to stop the singing neighbour, including taking legal action.

The tenancy document made between the tenant and the landlord may also contain a clause under which the landlord covenants to procure that all parties bound by any deed of mutual covenant observe and perform the deed. That is to say, even if the tenant indeed has no right under the deed of mutual covenant, the landlord has a duty to assist the tenant in stopping the singing neighbour by exercising the landlord's right under the deed.

Eventually, if the tenant finds himself/herself facing with a deed of mutual covenant which is silent on the issue of nuisance, the only option is probably to sue the singing neighbour under the law of tort (one of the grounds for claiming monetary compensation via civil litigation ). While it may not be easy to quantify the monetary damages caused by the singing, the tenant may try to obtain a court order for an injunction which prohibits the neighbour from singing at night. As the relevant legal procedures are complicated, it is strongly recommended to obtain lawyer's assistance.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,563,981 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

IV. 使用或佔用出租物業的一般守則

表面看來,只要租客準時繳付租金,並且保持物業狀況良好,業主大可毋須理會租客在物業內的行為。但問題並非如此簡單。出租物業若被用作未經許可的用途,物業擁有人可能會因而惹上麻煩。

1. 如何確定物業的主要用途,例如「住宅」或「非住宅」用途?

租賃文件大多會包含一項條款,指明出租物業只能用作住宅或非住宅(例如註明是辦公室或商舖)用途,假若業主認為租客已違反了該項條款,例如把住宅物業用作商舖,業主應先取得證據,方可採取進一步行動。

就物業是否用作住宅或非住宅的問題或爭議,業主或租客均可要求 差餉物業估價署 發出「處所主要用途證明書」。假若有關爭議已交由法庭處理,應使用 表格 TR4 作出有關申請。假若並未將有關個案呈上法庭,則應使用 表格TR4D ,並繳付3,850元申請費。雖然該證明書所提供的答案並非絕對不可推翻,但對法庭也有很強的參考作用。

欲知更多有關上述證明書的事宜,請聯絡差餉物業估價署(電話:2152 0111或2150 8229)。

2. 我的租客把租給他的住宅物業用作商業用途(用作辦公室)。此等行為會否影響我作為業主的權益或使我負上任何責任?假若租客在物業內進行刑事性的活動,我可能會面對甚麼問題?

物業若被用作未經許可的用途,可能為其擁有人(即業主)帶來麻煩,包括:-

違反政府租契

有關香港土地的一個有趣現象是:物業擁有人其實並沒有真的擁有該物業。事實上,香港所有的土地(除現今聖若翰座堂所座落的一塊土地外)均為香港政府所擁有。一般大廈單位的擁有人其實只是擁有該大廈所座落土地的部分業權。政府把土地租給一位「擁有人」的時候,當然會簽立契約。這份契約一般稱為 政府租契 ,內裡包括對「擁有人」及其所有權繼承人的各種限制。其中一項常見的限制就是「擁有人」必須遵守政府租契所載的土地使用規限。假若有人違反有關限制,例如在指定為住宅用物業內進行商業活動,政府即有權重新進入該物業,並收回該物業的佔有權。雖然政府極少採用此等較為極端的措施,但地政總署可要求「擁有人」申請臨時豁免及繳付豁免費,以換取政府暫時寬免其重新進入有關物業的權利。

違反大廈公契

大廈公契乃一份對一幢樓宇內所有單位的擁有人均具有約束力的協議。基本上,它列出與管理該大廈有關的規條。

標準的大廈公契都會列明,單位擁有人必須遵守有關的政府租契,並只能夠把物業用作已獲准許的用途。單位擁有人一般也須確保租客或佔用人沒有違反有關條款。因此,即使租客違反政府租契及大廈公契,業主仍須就管理公司或大廈其他單位擁有人提出的法律行動負上責任。

對第三者的責任

假若住宅用物業被用作商業用途,自然也出現比預期為多的訪客。訪客遇上與該物業有關的意外,並因而對業主作出申索的機會也會相應增加。妥善草擬的租賃文件都會列明,租客若違反該文件的條款,則須就因之而起所有對業主的申索及責任作出補償。但若業主面對一份草率的租約,可能發覺其並未就有關責任作出清楚闡釋。在這種情況下,業主或許會被捲入完全未有預計的訴訟糾紛。

刑事責任

假若租客僅是把物業用作未獲准許的用途,業主可能面對的最壞境況也只限於金錢損失及賠償。但如果業主知道租客在物業內從事非法活動 ,例如經營賭場或賣淫場所,而不聞不問,業主可能會面對刑事檢控,後果就不僅限於金錢損失及賠償,更可能會被留下案底及入獄。因此,若業主得悉租客在出租物業內從事非法活動,應立即報警。

大部分租賃文件都會清楚規定有關物業的用途,例如住宅、零售、工業等。假若租客違反有關條款,可能引致業主行使其沒收租賃的權利。不過,業主的權利和責任在不同情況下可能有所不同。業主應諮詢專業法律意見,以便清楚了解個別情形。例如,即使租客把住宅用物業用作家庭辦公室,可能只不過把該物業的地址用作通訊地址,而所有商業活動也只不過是在電腦上進行,不涉及訪客也不涉及儲存貨物。這類行為根本不會損害該物業,也不會對業主有負面影響。在這種情況下,即使租客的確在技術上違反了租賃文件的條款,法庭大概也會對有關租客網開一面。

3. 我租住一個大廈單位,鄰居每喜在深夜時分大唱卡啦OK,擾人清夢。我向大廈管理處投訴,得到的答覆卻指出:由於我不是物業擁有人,所以大廈公契沒有賦予我任何權利,因而無權作出投訴。我可以怎樣做?

大廈公契乃一份對一幢樓宇內所有單位的擁有人均具有約束力的協議。基本上,它列出與管理該大廈有關的規條。一份詳盡的大廈公契可以長達百多頁。

技術上來說,由於租客並非大廈單位的擁有人,的確沒有任何依大廈公契而得的權利。但這並不會妨礙大廈的管理人(或業主立案法團)行使大廈公契所賦予的權力。

一般的大廈公契都會述明,單位擁有人不可引起或容許他人(即包括擁有人及其租客)引起對大廈其餘佔用人的滋擾。因此,大廈管理人可在符合大廈公契的規定下,作出任何所需行動,包括採取訴訟行動,以阻止那位滋擾他人的鄰居。

在有關的租賃文件的條款中,業主可能亦曾承諾盡力確保所有受大廈公契規管的各方,均遵守及履行該公契。也就是說,即使租客並無任何依公契而得的權力,業主也有責任行使其藉公契而得的權力,協助租客制止那位鄰居繼續在深夜高歌。

假設大廈公契完全沒有提及有關滋擾的事項,租客的唯一途徑相信就是依據 侵權法 去控告那位鄰居,也就是透過 民事訴訟 以上述理由去索取金錢賠償。要量化歌聲所作的滋擾而訂出索償金額,可能比較困難,但租客可嘗試取得 禁制令 ,以禁止該鄰居繼續夜半高歌。由於有關的法律程序極為繁複,有意申請禁制令者應聘請律師協助。

返回
上一頁 下一頁