full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

VII. Repair/maintenance obligations

Statutory laws provide little guidance in identifying the duties of maintenance of a property. The Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance does not touch on this issue at all. The Buildings Ordinance ( Cap. 123 of the Laws of Hong Kong) confers power on the Building Authority to declare a building dangerous and to compel the owner to remedy the situation. However, this does not provide much assistance in the case of non-dangerous day to day repairs and maintenance. The Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance ( Cap. 132 of the Laws of Hong Kong) confers power on specified public officers to require the owner or occupier of a property to cleanse the property. However, this only concerns the hygienic condition of the property and does not provide much assistance in terms of common repairs and maintenance.

In respect of statutory orders issued by government authorities, it is almost invariable that the landlord, as the registered owner of the property, will be responsible for carrying out repairs or maintenance. A tenant who receives such an order should duly inform the landlord so that the necessary steps can be taken as soon as possible.

Regarding the day to day repair and maintenance of a property, the law implies the obligation on the landlord to provide a property fit for human habitation and the obligation on the tenant to use the property in a tenant-like manner (i.e. to use the property in a reasonable and proper manner) and not to commit waste (i.e. not to destroy/damage the property) . Obviously, such implied obligations are rather vague and not very helpful.

Hence, a well-drafted tenancy document that specifies the obligations for repair and maintenance is desirable.

1. In general, is the landlord or the tenant responsible for maintaining and repairing the property?

When dealing with the issue of repair and maintenance, the landlord and the tenant must predominantly rely on the tenancy document to ascertain their respective duties. A commonly adopted approach is that the landlord is responsible for external and structural repairs and maintenance, and the tenant is responsible for internal and non-structural ones. However, such a simple dichotomy can be problematic because the words internal, external, structural and non-structural can have different interpretations under different circumstances. Therefore, a well-drafted tenancy document will try to anticipate and accommodate all potential areas of dispute that are specific to the particular property, and clarify the parties' duties in details. This also explains why a tenancy document that is drafted by solicitors may consume dozens of pages, whereas a standard form agreement may take only one or two pages.

It will also be quite normal that the terms of the tenancy document impose many obligations on the tenant. This apparent unfairness is actually quite reasonable because the tenant is the "person-in-charge" of the property during the term of the tenancy. As a tenancy has the effect of passing the interests in the property to the tenant, the duty to keep the property in good repair and maintenance passes to the tenant. It is for the same reason that the law implies that the tenant will keep the property in a tenant-like manner and will not commit waste.

It is also common to find in a tenancy document that the tenant's obligations for repair and maintenance are limited by the phrase "fair wear and tear excepted". This excuses the tenant from damage arising from the passing of time and the ordinary and reasonable use of the property. A well-drafted tenancy document should also contain a clause which specifies that the landlord's obligations for structural repairs and maintenance will arise only upon notice of the structural defects. This is reasonable because the landlords, not being in occupation of the properties, cannot be expected to remedy defects of which they are not aware.

On the whole, the answer to the question of who is responsible for repairs and maintenance is to be found in the terms agreed upon by the landlord and the tenant. If there is no written tenancy document or if the particular issue is not tackled by the tenancy document, then the dispute may have to be decided by the Court, which will take into account factors such as the common law duty of "tenant-like" manner, the factual circumstances of the particular dispute, the reasonableness of the parties' acts, etc.

Landlord's rights to enter the property

Section 24 of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance is the statutory provision by which a landlord may enter the property and effect necessary repairs. A landlord and his servants and agents may:

  1. at all reasonable times, enter and inspect the property the subject of the tenancy with a view to ascertaining whether they require any necessary repairs; and
  2. after the service (deliver) upon the tenant of 14 days' notice in writing of intention so to do, enter upon the property the subject of the tenancy and effect all necessary repairs.

The term "necessary repairs" under this ordinance section means any repairs which the tenant would be required to perform were he under covenant with the landlord (legally bound by a contract) to keep the property in a tenantable state of repair. Subject to the terms of the tenancy document or other mutual agreement between the parties, the relevant repairs costs incurred by the landlord may be recovered from the tenant.

2. If there was a fire broken out on a leased property and the landlord has suffered some losses as a result, can the landlord claim against the tenant?

It depends on the terms agreed by the landlord and the tenant in the tenancy agreement. It also depends on the cause of the fire (e.g. was it a pure accident or was it caused by someone's negligence?).

In practice, a prudent landlord will take out insurance policies to cover the relevant property and household damage. Loss of or damage to household contents such as furniture, decoration, electrical appliances and personal valuables can be insured. A typical example of such kind of insurance is a "Householder's Comprehensive" insurance (See more in "Insurance" under the CLIC website.

Another important note is that the landlord has a duty to inform the insurance company that the flat/house is rented out to a tenant.

Subject to the terms of the relevant tenancy document, the tenant may also be required to take out proper insurance for the property.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,576,255 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

VII. 維修/保養的責任

成文法例對有關保養物業的責任只提供很少的指引。《 業主與租客(綜合)條例 》完全沒有提及這個課題。《 建築物條例 》(香港法例 第123章 )賦予建築事務監督權力,如已宣布建築物會構成危險,可迫令其擁有人進行修葺。不過此等權力只涉及構成危險的建築物,並不適用於日常的維修保養。《 公眾衛生及市政條例 》(香港法例 第132章 )賦予某類公職人員權力,要求物業的擁有人或佔用人清潔該物業。不過此等權力只涉及與衛生狀況有關的事項,對一般的維修保養沒有太大關係。

假如政府部門發出法定命令(或修葺令),作為物業擁有人的業主當然要負上責任。若租客收到有關命令,應盡快通知業主,以便採取適當的措施。

有關日常的維修保養,業主和租客均需負上下述的隱含法律責任。業主須提供適合人居住的處所。租客則須以合乎租客身分的方式使用該處所(即以合理及恰當的方式使用物業),並不可對其作出損毁。很明顯這些隱含法律責任相當含糊,對有關的問題未能提供很大幫助。

因此,妥善草擬並清楚列明有關維修保養責任的租賃文件,是非常重要的。

1. 一般來說,應由業主還是租客負責維修保養出租物業?

面對有關維修保養的問題時,業主及租客須倚賴租賃文件所述,以釐定其個別責任。一般的做法是,業主負責有關外部及結構性的維修,租客則負責內部及非結構性的部分。這種簡單的解釋其實是很易出問題的。所謂內部、外部、結構性、非結構性等這些詞語在不同的情況下可以有不同的解釋。因此,妥善草擬的租賃文件會包括所有可能引起爭端的範圍,並就此清晰釐定雙方的責任。由律師草擬的租賃文件可能長達數十頁,而坊間所見的標準租約則只需一至兩頁,也正是這個原因。

一般的租賃文件條款都會把很多責任加諸租客身上。這種表面的不公平現象,其實是頗為合理的。由於在租期內,租客已是物業的佔用人或「負責人」,而租賃的法律效力,又是把物業的權益從業主轉移到租客身上,所以有關維修保養的責任,自然也轉移到租客身上了。基於同樣理由,租客負有隱含的法律責任,須以合乎租客身分的方式使用出租物業,並不可對其作出損毁。

一項在租賃文件內常見的條款,就是租客維修保養的責任,不包括物業的「正常損耗」。因此,租客毋須就因時間關係及平常合理使用物業而引起的損壞負上責任。另一方面,妥善草擬的租賃文件,亦應闡明業主對結構性維修保養的責任,當在業主知悉該等結構性損毁後方始產生。既然業主並無佔用有關物業,當然不能強求業主就其並不知悉的損毁負上責任。

整體來說, 有關維修保養責任的問題,乃取決於業主及租客所協議的條款 。假如雙方並未簽訂書面租賃文件,或該租賃文件並無列明有關問題,因之而起的糾紛可能需交由法庭裁決。法庭將考慮的因素包括:普通法內關於「合乎租客身分」的責任,個別糾紛中的實際情況,雙方行為的合理性等。

業主進入物業的權利

根據《 業主與租客(綜合)條例第24條 ,業主可進入物業以作出必需的修葺 / 維修。業主及其傭工與代理人可:

  1. 在任何合理時間內,進入並視察有關租賃物業,以確定物業是否需要任何必需的修葺;及
  2. 將入內視察的意圖以通知書送達租客的14天後,進入有關租賃物業並進行所有必需的修葺。

在本條例中,「必需的修葺」意指如租客與業主有契諾(根據合約條文規定)將物業修葺以維持於可租用的狀況,則 租客 必須作出的修葺。此外,業主可向租客討回有關維修費用,但要視乎租約條款或其他協議而定。

2. 如果出租物業發生火警,業主因而蒙受損失,業主可否向租客索償?

要視乎業主與租客在租約內協定的條款,亦要考慮火警起因(例如是否純屬意外或緣於人為疏忽?)

在實際情況中,謹慎的業主會為有關物業及家居物品購買保險。家居物品,例如傢具、裝飾、電器及個人財物的損失或損毁都可以受保,當中常見的保險例子是 「住戶綜合保險」。(詳情請參閱《社區法網》中的「保險」)

此外,切記業主有責任通知保險公司有關物業已經出租予他人。

租客亦可能需要為物業購買適當保險(視乎有關租約條款而定)。

返回
上一頁 下一頁