full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

VIII. Terminating a tenancy before expiration

In usual circumstances, both the landlord and the tenant cannot terminate the tenancy before its expiration unless either of them has breached the vital terms of the agreement (e.g. the tenant fails to pay rent or the landlord illegally re-enters the property). However, early termination may be possible with the existence of a valid break clause (See more in Properties Arrangements > Landlord and tenant > Renewal matters .

1. I have let my property to a tenant on a three year term. There are still more than 2 years remaining in the term. However, I note that the rental value of neighbouring properties has risen significantly. Can I terminate the tenancy with the existing tenant and let the property out for a better rent?

A party to a contract is bound by the terms of that contract. Therefore, unless a tenancy document contains a break clause that allows the landlord to terminate the tenancy before the expiry of its term, or there is mutual agreement for an early termination, the landlord is bound by the tenancy document and cannot unilaterally terminate the tenancy with the existing tenant.

2. I have rented a property on a three year term. There are still more than 2 years remaining in the term. However, I note that the rental value of neighbouring properties has dropped significantly. Can I terminate the tenancy with the landlord so that I can get a comparable property for a lower rent?

A party to a contract is bound by the terms of the contract. Therefore, unless a tenancy document contains a break clause that allows the tenant to terminate the tenancy before the expiry of its term, or there is mutual agreement for an early termination, the tenant is bound by the tenancy document and cannot unilaterally terminate the tenancy with the landlord.

A “break clause” from the tenant’s perspective may look like this (for reference only):

    Notwithstanding anything herein contained, it is hereby agreed and declared that if at any time after the expiration of one year from the commencement of the Term, the Tenant shall be desirous of terminating this Agreement, then the Tenant shall have the right to terminate it by giving not less than two months prior written notice to the Landlord, provided that the notice is received by the Landlord at least two months prior to the date of termination stated therein, or by paying to the Landlord two months rent in lieu of such notice, provided always that the operation of this clause is without prejudice to the rights and remedies of either party against the other in respect of any antecedent claims or breach of the agreements, stipulations, terms and conditions herein contained.

If the tenancy document does not contain a break clause, then neither the landlord nor tenant can unilaterally terminate the tenancy. The only option open to a tenant who wants to end a tenancy before the expiry of the agreed term is then to offer to the landlord to surrender the tenancy. Subject to negotiation between the parties, the tenant must usually pay a sum in exchange for the landlord’s acceptance of the surrender.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,466,975 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

VIII. 在租期完結前終止租賃

在一般情況下,除非業主或租客違反雙方約定的重要條款(例如租客未有繳付租金或業主非法進入有關物業),否則雙方皆不能在租期完結前終止租賃。不過,假如租賃文件內包括所謂中斷租期條款(請參考 物業安排 > 業主與租客 > 續約事宜 ) ,則提前終止租賃,亦非絕不可能。

1. 我以三年租期把物業租出,還有兩年才期滿,但我發覺鄰近物業的租金最近大幅上升。我可否與租客終止現有的租賃,以便把物業以更高租金出租?

簽訂合約的一方,乃受該合約的條款所約束,故除非租賃文件包括所謂中斷租期條款,容許業主在租期完結前終止該租賃,或雙方達成提前終止租賃的協議,否則業主仍受租賃文件的約束,不能單方面終止租賃。

2. 我以三年租期租用一物業,還有兩年才期滿,但我發覺鄰近物業的租金最近大幅下調。我可否終止現有的租賃,以另覓較便宜的物業租用?

簽訂合約的一方,乃受該合約的條款所約束,故除非租賃文件包括中斷租期條款,容許租客在租期完結前終止該租賃,或雙方達成提前終止租賃的協議,否則租客仍受租賃文件的約束,不能 單方面 終止租賃。

以租客立場為主導的「中斷租期條款」大致如下(只供參考用):

    儘管本協議另有所指,雙方現同意及聲明,如租客在租期生效已屆一年後,有意終止本租賃協議,則租客有權給予業主不少於兩個月的預先通知而終止本協議,惟有關通知必須於終止生效日前至少兩個月送達業主,租客亦可繳付兩個月的租金,以代替前述通知。本條款的運作,將無礙於雙方就任何事前已提出的申索或因違反本協議所述的協定、規定、條款及條件而引申的權利和補償。

假如租賃文件並未包含「中斷租期條款」,不論業主或租客皆不可單方面終止租賃。對租客來說,唯一的可行方法就是向業主提出退回租賃。雙方可自由協商有關退回租賃的條款,視乎雙方之商討而定,租客通常要支付一筆費用予業主,以換取業主接受退回有關租賃(即提早解約)。

返回
上一頁 下一頁