full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,907

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

IV. Mandatory Window Inspection Scheme

In 2012 the Hong Kong Government also introduced the Mandatory Window Inspection Scheme (MWIS) to tackle the specific problem of window disrepair.

It would be fair to say that most windows in a building or estate are the private property of the individual owners of units in that building or estate. Therefore, the Government issues notices to all owners (i.e. the owners of individual flats and the owners’ corporation) of a building or estate under the MWIS.

Under the MWIS:

  1. Every year the Government selects 5,800 buildings at least 10 years old (except domestic buildings not exceeding three storeys) and sends pre-notification letters to the owners’ corporation of the selected buildings giving advance notice to the owners of upcoming window inspections and the possible need for repair. One to two months after the pre-notification letters, the Government issues statutory notices to the owners of the buildings, requiring them to appoint a Qualified Person to carry out certain prescribed inspections. (Note: these 5,800 buildings include the 2,000 covered under the MBIS.)

  2. If the Qualified Person finds that windows in the building have been rendered dangerous or are liable to become dangerous, the owners concerned must appoint a Registered Contractor to carry out the prescribed repair works under the Qualified Person’s supervision.

  3. Upon completion of the inspection and repair works, the Qualified Person must submit an inspection report and completion report to the Government for record purposes.

  4. If the owners or owners’ corporation fails to comply with the statutory notice for window inspection without a reasonable excuse, they may be served with a penalty notice of a fixed fine of $1,500. Failure to comply with the penalty notice may lead to prosecution, with the owner or owners’ corporation subject to a fine of $25,000 and imprisonment for three months, plus a fine of $2,000 for each day the offence continues.

  5. The owners of the selected buildings will receive the statutory notices once every five years. That is to say, an inspection (and any necessary repair works) has to be done every five years.
back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,464,561 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

IV. 強制驗窗計劃

除了強制驗樓計劃外,香港政府在 2012 年亦推出了強制驗窗計劃,以應付窗戶日久失修的問題。

一般情況下,樓宇或屋苑的大多數窗戶,都是個別單位業主的私人財產。因此,政府將發出通知書給屬於強制驗窗計劃下的樓宇或屋苑的所有業主(即包括個別單位業主和業主立案法團),要求其進行驗窗工作。

根據強制驗窗計劃:

  1. 政府會在每年揀選5,800幢樓齡達10年或以上的私人樓宇(不高於三層的住用樓宇除外),向其業主發出預先知會函件,確認有關大廈已被納入強制驗窗計劃內。約一至兩個月後,政府會向該等樓宇的業主發出法定通知,規定業主委任一名註冊檢驗人員進行某些指定的檢驗。(注意:該5,800幢樓宇已包括強制驗樓計劃內的2,000幢。)

  2. 如註冊檢驗人員認為樓宇的窗戶已變得危險或可能變得危險,該樓宇的業主須委任一名註冊承建商,在註冊檢驗人員的監督下對窗戶進行所需的修葺

  3. 完成有關的檢驗及修葺後,獲委任的註冊檢驗人員須向政府呈交檢驗報告和完工報告,以作記錄。

  4. 業主或業主立案法團如無合理辯解而不遵從強制驗窗的法定通知,當局可向其送達定額罰款1,500元的罰款通知書;未有遵行罰款通知書者可被檢控,而一經定罪,可被判罰款25,000元及監禁3個月,更可就該罪行持續的每一天,另處罰款2,000元。

  5. 在法定通知獲遵從後,單位業主或業主立案法團不會在5年內就同一窗戶收到另一份的通知。
返回
上一頁 下一頁