full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,007,170

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

Caveat: The matters discussed below involve complex legal arguments for which legal advice must be sought.

I. Overview

The names of the legal owner(s) of a property can be ascertained from the title deeds or title documents relating to the property, which can be found in the land records maintained by the Land Registry.

The Land Registration Ordinance , Cap. 128 , Laws of Hong Kong, provides for the registration of deeds, conveyances, judgments and other instruments affecting real or immovable property, the keeping of Land Registry records, and for other matters relating to land registration.

Legal or nominal ownership is sometimes called the “paper title”, which can easily be traced or ascertained from looking at the title documents. However, legal ownership does not necessarily reflect the beneficial ownership of a property. Beneficial ownership is the right to enjoyment or entitlement to the benefit of a property, in contrast to legal or nominal ownership. It derives from monetary contribution (in most cases) towards the purchase price of the property, by virtue of a resulting trust or constructive trust.

Where a property is purchased in the name of X but the money comes from Y, and there is nothing to show Y intended to give up his beneficial interest, then it is presumed that Y intended to keep the beneficial interest and X would be said to be holding the property in “resulting trust” for Y.

A constructive trust is one which arises by the operation of law without reference to any presumed intention of the parties. The principle is that where a person holds a property in circumstances in which in equity and good conscience it should be held or enjoyed by another, he is compelled to hold the property on trust for the other person.

For example, X buys a flat with his own money in his sole name. The flat is occupied by Y, his girlfriend, and him. Y did not contribute anything towards the purchase price of the flat, but has made a great number of improvements to the flat, as well as doing ordinary housework. Y could claim an interest in the flat by way of a constructive trust. Constructive trust does not depend on intention of the parties. It is a question of fairness. So it does not matter that X did not have the intention to give Y an interest in the property. The issue is whether Y has done "enough" to justify an equitable claim.

Most of the time we can also ascertain beneficial ownership by referring to the documents kept by the Lands Registry, e.g. an action or proceeding pending in a court or tribunal that relates to land or any interest in or charge on land and a bankruptcy petition. For example, if the property is subject to a mortgage to a bank, then the bank will have a beneficial interest in the property until the mortgage is paid off.

Sometimes it is not easy to ascertain beneficial ownership of a property, e.g. when the property is registered in the name of the husband only, but the property is in fact the matrimonial home. The wife’s beneficial interest may not be ascertained simply by looking at the title deed.

The “paper title” of a matrimonial home may be in the name of both husband and wife, or in the name of only one spouse. The husband and wife may both contribute towards the purchase price or only one party may pay for it.

If both parties contribute towards the purchase price, they are co-owners of the property. They are either “joint tenants” or “tenants in common”, as the case may be.

If the property is registered in the sole name of one spouse, but was paid for by both spouses, the party whose name does not appear on the title deeds can claim that he or she is a beneficial owner of the property. They are “co-owners” of the property despite the fact that the property is registered in the sole name of only one spouse. For more detailed discussion of this, please go to “Sale and Purchase of Property” on the CLIC website.

back
Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 2,868,450 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

聲明:下文觸及事項牽涉複雜的法律論據,如遇類似情況,請尋求法律意見。

I. 概述

土地註冊處管理的土地登記冊備存每項物業的契約或文件,這些文件載有該項物業的法定擁有人資料。

香港法例 第128章《土地註冊條例》 訂定條文,處理影響土地財產或不動產的契據註冊、轉易契註冊、判決及其他文書註冊的事宜,亦觸及土地註冊處紀錄的備存,以及其他與土地註冊有關的事宜。

物業的法定或名義擁有人有時會稱為「紙上業主」,任何人均可輕易在物業的文件追尋或查察其名字。不過,法律上物業的擁有人不一定是權益擁有人。物業的權益擁有人有權享用物業,或享有物業權益的實權,不同於物業的法定或名義擁有人。在大多數情況下,權益擁有人通常是支付真金白銀購入物業的人,他以「歸復信託」或「法律構成信託」方式轉予物業的法定業主,因此,兩者不一定是同一人。

舉例說,某項物業以X的名義購買,但由Y付錢,而Y並沒有表明他有意放棄擁有該物業的權益,在此情況下,便可假定Y有意保留其權益,而X只能以「歸復信託」方式持有物業。

如雙方均沒有表明是否有意擁有物業的權益,法律上便可推定以「法律構成信託」形式分配權益。「法律構成信託」的原則是,假設某人持有物業,而他出於良好意圖及公平原則,與另一人分享該物業,他便必須以信託形式,與該人共同持有物業。

舉例說,X以自己的名義付錢置業後,與女朋友Y共住。Y雖沒有在購入物業時付出金錢,但她亦為單位貢獻良多,例如料理家務,她便可以「法律構成信託」方式攤分物業的權益。「法律構成信託」構成與否,與雙方的意圖無關,著眼點是「公平」。換言之,X是否有意將物業權益分給Y,並不重要,重點是Y的付出是否「足夠」讓他以衡平法原則爭取自己的物業權益。

大多數情況下,土地註冊處備存的文件會顯示物業的權益擁有人,這些文件包括法院或審裁處正在處理與土地相關的案件、土地權益、法定押記及破產申請等。如物業買家仍未向銀行清繳按揭貸款,銀行便擁有該物業的權益,直至按揭貸款完全還清為止。

然而,在某些情況下,查察物業的權益擁有人並不容易。例如物業只登記丈夫一人的名字,但事實上,該物業卻是夫婦二人的婚姻居所。單憑物業的契約,難以確認妻子是否擁有物業的權益。

婚姻居所的「紙上業主」可以夫婦二人的名字註冊,或由兩人的其中一方註冊,而他們可以共同支付樓價,又或只由單方支付。

如兩人均有份出資購入物業,他們便是該物業的共同業主,而業權可視乎情況分為「聯權共有」及「分權共有」。

如物業由兩人共同出資購買,但只以其中一名配偶的名字註冊,在契據文件中沒有顯示名字的一方仍可稱自己是該物業的權益擁有人。雖然物業只以其中一人的名字註冊,但他們仍然是物業的共同業主。如欲參考更多資料,可前往《社區法網》「 樓宇買賣 」一頁。

返回
下一頁