full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

III. Sexual abuse of children

The Crimes Ordinance , Cap. 200 , and the Prevention of Child Pornography Ordinance (“PCPO”), Cap. 579 , contain a number of offences designed to protect children against sexual abuse. These offences are apposite to Convention Articles 34, 35 and 36 relate to protecting children against sexual exploitation and abuse, involvement in unlawful sexual activity, prostitution, exploitation in pornographic performances and materials and abduction and trafficking.

A. Unlawful sexual activities performed on children

Relevant offences in the Crimes Ordinance can be found in Appendix II .

Consent

The Crimes Ordinance (CO) contains offences designed to protect persons under 16 years of age from themselves. Under section 122 (indecent assault) for example, a person under 16 years of age cannot consent to an act that would otherwise be unlawful under the section. Indecent assault is the application of force in circumstances of indecency. Sexual activity, short of intercourse with a person under 16 years of age is an offence even if the person under 16 consented to such activity. Ignorance of the age of the person indecently assaulted is no defence.

Under section 123 of the CO , in the case of sexual intercourse with a girl under 13 years of age, and under section 124 of the CO , sexual intercourse with a girl under 16 years of age, consent is similarly no defence. Both sections are intended to protect girls under 16 years of age from themselves and avoid pregnancy at too young an age. A person’s lack of knowledge of the age of the girl concerned is similarly no defence. Section 123 offences are punishable with imprisonment for life. Section 124 offences are punishable with imprisonment for five years. Particularly with section 123 and 124 offences defendants’ rights must be balanced against the interests of protecting the child and the interests of society. Suggestions that somehow the child encouraged or instigated the sexual activity should have no weight either as a defence or in mitigation, particularly where the defendant was aware of the age of the girl, had groomed the girl for sexual activity, was in a position of responsibility or the circumstances were such that the defendant should have enquired about the age of the girl concerned.

B. Abduction of an unmarried girl

Under section 126 of the CO it is an offence to take an unmarried girl under the age of 16 out of the possession of her parent or guardian without lawful authority or excuse. This offence is punishable by imprisonment for 10 years. This offence recognises the importance of persons, particularly females under the age of 16, being with their parent or guardian. Section 126 of the CO is directed towards preserving the family unit. It also recognises and projects parental rights and the importance of the family as the basic unit of society upon which so much emphasis is placed by the Convention.

Section 127 of the CO makes it an offence to take an unmarried girl under the age of 18 out of the possession of her parent or guardian against the will of the parent or guardian with the intention that she shall have unlawful sexual intercourse with men or a particular man. Unlawful sexual intercourse in this context means sexual intercourse outside of marriage. Again this section is designed both to protect the girl and preserve the family unit. The section covers the situation where the girl is a willing participant in the proposed sexual intercourse. There is no need that sexual intercourse should actually occur: it is the intention with which the girl is taken out of the possession of her parent or guardian that matters. The offence is punishable by imprisonment for seven years.

C. Sex tourism and extra-territorial sexual crimes related to children

In accordance with objectives of the Convention, Hong Kong has amended the Crimes Ordinance , Cap.200 , to add an extra-territorial reach in relation to sexual tourism by adding a new section to the Ordinance, section 153P . Under section 153P , a person who commits any act outside of Hong Kong against a child that would have amounted to an offence specified in Schedule 2 of the Crimes Ordinance had it been committed in Hong Kong, commits an offence if he/she is either: (a) a permanent resident of the HKSAR or ordinarily resides in the HKSAR; or (b) the victim is a permanent resident or ordinarily resides in Hong Kong. Schedule 2 offences range from sexual intercourse with girls under 13 and under 16, causing or encouraging prostitution of, intercourse with, or indecent assault on a girl or boy under the age of 16, to administering drugs to obtain or facilitate an unlawful sexual act.

The purpose, extent and reach of the section, and its compatibility with the Basic Law of the HKSAR and the Hong Kong Bill of Rights, is demonstrated by a decision of the Court of Appeal in HKSAR v Lee Kwok Wah Francis . The defendant was convicted of  three offences of sexual intercourse  with a girl under 16 years of age contrary to sections 124(1) and 153P(1) of the Crimes Ordinance , Cap. 200 . He was also convicted of indecent conduct towards a child under the age of 16 years, contrary to sections 146(1) and 153P(1) of the Ordinance and of indecent assault upon another girl  contrary to sections 122(1) and 153P(1) of the Crimes Ordinance . The offences occurred at a children’s home in Mainland China where the two victims resided.

On appeal he argued that the extra-territorial effect of section 153P discriminated against him as a Hong Kong permanent resident by violating the principle of equality before the law under Article 25 of the Hong Kong Basic Law and his entitlement to rights without distinction and protection against discrimination under Articles 1(1) and 22 of the Hong Kong Bill Of Rights .

In dismissing the appeals the Court of Appeal ruled that the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child was intended to protect children against sexual exploitation. Hong Kong was required to enact legislation to protect children against sexual exploitation. This included legislating against sexual tourism. By criminalising sexual abuse of children which occurred outside Hong Kong, section 153P was legitimately striking at paedophiles who committed such acts outside Hong Kong and then returned to the SAR. The section was legitimate and proportionate.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 1,918,979 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

III. 性侵犯兒童

第200章《刑事罪行條例》第579章《防止兒童色情物品條例》 有多項條文保護兒童免受性侵犯,呼應《兒童權利公約》第34條、第35條及第36條,防止兒童遭受性侵犯,或參與非法的性活動、娼妓、色情表演,甚或遭綁架及販賣。

A. 涉及兒童的非法性活動

《刑事罪行條例》 有多項相關條文,詳情請參閱附錄II。

取得同意

《刑事罪行條例》 部分條文的目的是要保護16歲以下人士;例如 第122條 (猥褻侵犯)訂明,年齡在16歲以下的人,在法律上是不能給予同意進行條文所指的罪行。

猥褻侵犯(非禮)是指帶有猥褻成分的侵犯行為。任何人與16歲以下人士進行性活動,即使沒有進行性交,而該名16歲以下人士表示同意,亦屬違法;聲稱不知道有關人士的年齡不可成為抗辯理由。

《刑事罪行條例》 第123條 (與13歲以下女童性交)及 第124條 (與16歲以下女童性交)旨在保護16歲以下女童,以免她們過早懷孕;在這些條文下,辯方不可以「取得對方同意」,或聲稱不知道女童的年齡作為抗辯理由。任何人士干犯 第123條 可判處終身監禁,干犯 第124條 則最高判處5年監禁。這兩項條文尤其要在保障被告的權利、保護社會和兒童權益之間取得平衡;就算涉案兒童可能曾鼓吹或挑動進行性交,被告亦不能以此抗辯或提出和解。如被告知悉女童的年齡,仍誘使女童性交,便更責無旁貸;如他不知道女童的年齡,亦理應向她詢問。

B. 拐帶未婚女童

根據 《刑事罪行條例》 第126條 ,任何人無合法權限或合理辯解,將一名年齡在16歲以下的未婚女童,從其父母或監護人的管有下帶走,即屬違法,最高可處10年監禁。此條文是要體現任何人應與其父母或監護人在一起的重要性,尤其針對16歲以下女童。 《刑事罪行條例》 第126條 旨在保護家庭為一整體,不但凸顯父母的權利,同時符合《兒童權利公約》特別強調的重要概念—家庭是組成社會的基本元素。

《刑事罪行條例》 第127條 訂明,任何人將一名年齡在18歲以下的未婚女童,在違反其父母或監護人的意願下,從其父母或監護人的管有下帶走,意圖使她與多名或某一名男子非法性交,即屬犯罪;此條文亦同樣旨在保護兒童及家庭單位。不過,條文亦同時顧及女童自願參與有關性交活動的情況;只要證明被告從父母或監護人帶走女童時,意圖使她與其他人發生性行為,即使最終沒有進行性行為,被告有此意圖已足以定罪,最高可判處7年監禁。

C. 性旅遊活動和在香港以外地方對兒童犯的性罪行

為符合《兒童權利公約》草擬的目的,香港曾修訂 第200章《刑事罪行條例》 ,新增 第153P條 ,以檢控在香港境外發生涉及兒童的性旅遊活動:任何香港永久性居民或通常居於香港的人,在香港以外地方觸犯 《刑事罪行條例》 附表2 指明的罪行,並涉及兒童,或受害人是香港永久性居民或本來居於香港,即屬違法。 附表2 指明的罪行包括與13歲/16歲以下的女童性交;導致或鼓勵16歲以下女童或男童賣淫;導致或鼓勵他人與16歲以下女童或男童性交或向其猥褻侵犯、施用藥物以獲得或便利作非法的性行為等。

參考上訴庭在 香港特區政府訴李國華 一案的判決,可見此條文如何彰顯香港 《基本法》《香港人權法案》 的精神,亦顯示條文設立的目的和覆蓋範圍。案件發生在內地一所兒童收容中心,而受害女童在該中心留宿。被告因與該名16歲以下女童非法性交,被裁定違反 第200章《刑事罪行條例》 第124(1)條第153P(1)條 下三項控罪。他亦因向16歲以下兒童作出猥褻行為,被裁定違反 《刑事罪行條例》 第146(1)條第153P(1)條 ,及因猥褻侵犯另一名女童,被裁定違反 《刑事罪行條例》 第122(1)條第153P(1)條

被告上訴時,力陳 第153P條 的域外法律效力違反香港 《基本法》 第25條 ,歧視他身為香港永久性居民的身分,有違法律面前人皆平等的原則,他亦指控有關條文違反 《香港人權法案》 第1(1)條及第22條 ,損害他享有不因其身分遭受歧視及理應受法律平等保護的權利。

上訴庭裁定被告敗訴,指聯合國《兒童權利公約》保護兒童免受性侵犯,香港必須立法確保遵從,包括立法禁止性旅遊活動。制定 第153P條 的目的是針對孌童癖好者在香港境外性侵犯兒童,防止他們藉返回香港境內而逍遙法外,因此將在香港境外性侵犯兒童列為刑事罪行的條文是合法的,並符合比例原則。

返回
上一頁 下一頁