full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

V. Matters affecting children

In general, child custody refers to a court order for care and control over the child / children. The parent who is given custody after divorce shall be responsible for the daily care of the child and for making routine everyday decisions about his or her welfare. Joint custody may also be given.

In order to give a child maximum stability, in practice, it is usually in the interests of a child for the child to live in one parent's home and to visit the other parent on a regular basis ("visiting access").

However, such visits can, and often do, extend to a number of days or even weeks during school holidays.

In reality, where the circumstances warrant, it is possible for a child to spend half of his or her time in one parent's household and half in another parent's home. Parents are encouraged to reach amicable agreement , whenever possible, to avoid making costly application to Court.

If both parents want a joint custody, where both parents together make all the important decisions regarding their child's upbringing, the Court would grant a joint custody if it can be assured that the arrangement will work.

Joint custody is now generally encouraged as it is considered good for parents to realize that they both have a responsibility towards their child and their parental duties do not cease on the breakdown of the marriage. Obviously, no matter what kind of custody is granted, a high level of agreement and cooperation between the parties is encouraged and required.

A. What factors will be considered by the Court in awarding custody of a child to either or both parties?

In all matters relating to children in family proceedings, the welfare of the child is the first and paramount consideration for the Court. While each case will depend on its own facts , the Court would take into account all relevant factors which include:

  • the preservation of the status quo;
  • the ages of the parents and child;
  • the personality, capability and character of the parents;
  • the financial resources of the parents;
  • the physical and mental health of the parents and child;
  • the accommodation available to the child;
  • the child's own wishes and views, if any;
  • the benefit of keeping the siblings together with one parent;
  • the religion and culture of the family;
  • professional reports such as medical, school, or court welfare officer's reports (e.g. about the child's family relationship, living conditions, mental or health elements, etc.).

Note that the aforesaid factors are just factors commonly considered by the Court, they are not exhaustive.

Upon hearing all the relevant evidence, the Court, bearing in mind that the interests and welfare of the child is of prime importance, would balance the factors against each other, depending on the circumstances of each case.

Some important factors are further elaborated below:

1. Status quo

Many professionals especially child psychologists opined that it is in the best interests of a child, to avoid a disruption of the familiar life of a child.

If a child has already settled well with one of the parents and is used to and happy with his/her surroundings and lifestyle, the Court is unlikely to consider taking the child away from that parent unless there are other compelling reasons.

2. Main carer

Naturally, a child will develop a strong bonding with his or her main caregiver. The child may be dealt with a blow, whether emotionally or otherwise, if he or she is separated from his or her close main carer or guardian suddenly. The damage done should not be under-estimated.

It is therefore considered desirable for a child to stay with the parent who has hitherto been his or her main caregiver, so as to maintain the status quo.

3. Child's wishes

While it is an important factor, it should be noted that children's views are not overriding. The overriding factor is still the welfare and the interests of the child.

Child's view will generally be heard and considered by the Court, but the weight to be given to such views would depend on the age and the level of understanding of the child concerned. The wishes of older children will play a material part in deciding with whom their custody will be granted.

Any views and wishes of the children must be ascertained with great care. This is usually done by an appointed court welfare officer.

One should avoid creating an impression that they are being asked to make a choice between their beloved mother and father. This would pose a heavy emotional burden on the child.

Though it is rather common, it is wrong for either parent to attempt to exert influence on a child regarding his / her view. Children's wishes are usually best expressed through a court welfare officer.

4. Keeping siblings together

To avoid any emotional trauma, it is regarded as desirable that siblings, in particular those who are nearer in age, should be kept together rather than being split between their parents. It is only in rare circumstances which, if it is considered best to do so, that split orders would be made by the Court. Even so, every effort should be made by the parties to ensure that the siblings can see each other regularly. Again, the damage caused by the separation of siblings when they are young should not be under-estimated.

5. Age of the parties and the child

The age of the parents and the child are also a material factor to be considered. The Court is more likely to award custody of babies and young children to the mother. If one parent is particularly old, it is likely that the Court will take this as a factor that would reduce his or her ability to care for the minor or child.

6. Sex of the child

This is usually not a very important factor. However, this might have a bearing on the Court's consideration when all other factors are equal. For instance, statistics show that a girl about to go through puberty might fare better with her mother and a boy of the same age might fare better with his father.

7. Capability of the parents to fulfil the needs of the child

As said, each case depends on its own facts. The same applies to the growth and upbringing of a child, whose needs and ability varied from child to child.

Thus, a child's needs will be considered and balanced against the health, capability and resources of each parent. The misbehaviour of a party, e.g. adultery does not necessarily affect or reduce his or her ability as a parent. After all, the prime consideration for the court is the welfare of the child.

B. My wife wants to apply for divorce and she plans to take our only daughter out of Hong Kong during the waiting period. Can I stop her?

If that is the case, you may consider instituting wardship proceedings in the High Court. Wardship proceedings can be instituted at any time when there are special concerns about a child's welfare such as when it is suspected that a child would be, or has been, removed from Hong Kong.

Once wardship proceedings have been instituted, the Court has very wide and far-reaching powers to make any order, including financial provision that is necessary to protect the interests and welfare of the ‘ward’ / the child. In cases where a child has been taken out of Hong Kong, the Court can order that the child be sought and found, seeking the cooperation and assistance of other relevant authorities such as the Immigration Department.

Wardship proceedings are an entirely different form of proceedings which can be issued irrespective of any divorce or separation proceedings. It can be started quite quickly by any interested party – which is not necessarily a parent.

If circumstances are justified, wardship proceedings could be commenced by the Director of Social Services, who is empowered to protect children.

The issuing of wardship proceedings immediately makes the child concerned a Ward of the Court .

Once a child becomes a “Ward of the Court”, this means that the Court has the custody of that child and every major decision regarding that child’s welfare must be referred to the Court by making application accordingly. This would incur costs and, subject to the caseloads of the Court, can be very time-consuming.

That child remains a ward of the court until the child reaches the age of majority, or until a special Court order is made to end the wardship. Wardship proceedings should not be instituted lightly, but only where there are good grounds to justify it.

C. My wife refuses to see me and let me know where our daughter is, what should I do? How can I prevent my spouse from snatching our child?

A number of steps may be considered.

1. Wardship Proceedings

First, where the circumstances warrant, the child could be made a ward of court as described above.

2. Deposit of travel documents at solicitor’s office supported with a solicitor’s undertaking not to release them without consent of Court or relevant parties

As aforesaid, wardship proceedings could be very costly and time-consuming, it should therefore not be instituted lightly.

If you are concerned about your child’s ability to travel, either on his or her own travel document or on the strength of the travel documents of your spouse, you can request that the relevant travel documents be deposited at a solicitor’s firm together with the solicitor’s undertaking not to release these travel documents without your consent or the Court’s consent. However, this option is not absolutely secure as it may not prevent your spouse from obtaining a fresh or duplicate travel documents without your knowledge.

3. Prohibition Order

If the deposit of the relevant travel documents as security is not feasible or not secure enough, you can consider applying for a prohibition order, which can be made within the divorce or separation proceedings. This is an order prohibiting the removal of the child from Hong Kong or out of your custody, care and control.

If either wardship proceedings or prohibition order is involved, your acting solicitor should immediately notify the Immigration Department by serving it with the prohibition order or wardship proceedings. The Immigration Department would then be obliged to notify all ports and airports and to stop or prevent the relevant child from leaving Hong Kong.

4. Child Abduction and Custody Ordinance

In order to avoid the harmful effects of wrongful removal or retention of children in foreign countries, the Child Abduction and Custody Ordinance ( Cap. 512 of the Laws of Hong Kong) has provisions to protect the interests’ of the relevant people. The Department of Justice would also co-operate with the Contracting States of the “Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction” (which have the convention relationship with Hong Kong), and would assist the relevant parties in the return of those children to Hong Kong. For more details, please visit the Department of Justice’s webpage .

D. Can one parent take a child out of Hong Kong upon the grant of a custody order?

It is not uncommon that divorced couple fears that the former spouse would take the child out of Hong Kong either permanently (e.g. for emigration) or for holiday without his or her advance notice, thereby depriving him or her of the opportunity of child's visiting access.

In view of this, custody orders are endorsed with a notice in the form of a direction that neither parent is entitled to remove the child from Hong Kong unless the following conditions are met:

  • obtain the approval of the Court; OR
  • obtain the written consent of the other parent who is not responsible for taking the child out of Hong Kong, AND the giving of a general undertaking by the parent (who will take the child out of Hong Kong) to the Court to return the child to Hong Kong after any fixed period spent abroad or at the end of any agreed period, or earlier if called upon to do so by the Court.

1. Holidays

Disputes often arose between divorced couple over the division of holidays in respect of child access. Costly application would have to be made to the Court to resolve the disputes if the parties failed to come up with an agreement.

To save cost, upon the making of a custody order with the aforesaid (a) or (b) restriction specified on it, it is possible to file with the Court a general undertaking to return the child after any holiday period spent abroad.

This means that when you want to take the child out of Hong Kong, all you need to do is to obtain your spouse's written consent.

It is only when your spouse unreasonably withheld his or her consent that an application will have to be made to the Court. In the case of a normal holiday, it is unlikely that the Court will refuse the application unless there is good reason to do so.

If you believe that your spouse would object to you taking your child to overseas for holidays, you should inform your solicitor well in advance so that there is ample time for your solicitor to make the necessary application to the Court and to have an early hearing.

2. Permanent removal from Hong Kong

If a parent, who is granted with the custody of a child, intends to leave Hong Kong permanently for some reasons, that parent must make an application to Court so as to obtain an order from the Court allowing him or her to remove the child permanently from Hong Kong.

If the other parent opposes such application, the judge will have to balance the child's loss of regular contact with that parent against the liberty of the applicant parent (granted with custody) to choose where he or she wishes to live. The Court will not usually interfere with the choice of the parent with custody, if his or her decision to move is a reasonable one. As said, the Court would have regard to the interests of the child, which is of paramount consideration.

E. My daughter has been living with my husband since I separated from him two years ago. How likely is that I will be granted custody of my daughter if I apply for a divorce now?

As said, it is essential to maintain the status quo of a child so as to avoid disruption of the familiar life of a child. If a child has already settled well with one of the parents and is used to and happy with his/her surroundings and lifestyle, the Court is unlikely to consider taking the child away from that parent unless there are other compelling reasons.

Therefore you are unlikely to be granted custody of your daughter in this circumstance unless you can present other compelling reasons. However, you may have generous access to (i.e. to see) your child as approved by the Court.

F. How is a child's maintenance (financial support) determined?

1. Types of claim for child maintenance

The parent with custody is entitled to claim for financial support for that child from the other parent, whether within divorce or judicial separation proceedings.

If, by virtue of the needs of the child, immediate maintenance for a child is required, an application for interim maintenance pending suit (i.e. a final settlement or hearing) can be made to the Court.

In such circumstances, the Court is empowered to make various interim financial orders, e.g. periodical payments, secured periodical payments, and a lump sum for a child at any time after the petition for divorce or separation has been filed and such an application is made. For details, please refer to Divorce > Financial matters > D. What kind of maintenance order (or financially related order) is the Court empowered to make?

The Court can also make other orders at different stages of the proceedings: (1) on or after the making of the divorce decree nisi; (2) within guardianship of minors proceedings and (3) withinwardship proceedings .

2. Age until which provision for child maintenance lasts

According to section 10 of the Matrimonial Proceedings and Property Ordinance , Court orders for periodical payments, secured periodical payments and a lump sum, etc can be made in favour of a child who is below 18 years old .

However, the ordinance further stipulates that payments under an existing order can extend beyond 18 years old if the child is or will be attending an educational establishment or undergoing some form of training, or if there are special circumstances which justify it (such as the child being disabled) or that make it appropriate to do so.

G. What factors will the Court consider in assessing the provision of child maintenance?

In accessing what financial provision should be made for a child, the Court shall consider all the circumstances of the case, especially the following matters:

  • the standard of living enjoyed by the family before the breakdown of marriage;
  • the financial needs of the child;
  • any physical or mental disability of the child;
  • the manner in which the child was being brought up and in which the parties to the marriage expected him or her to be educated;
  • the financial resources and needs or obligations of the parties to the marriage;
  • the any income, earning capacity (if any), property, or other financial resources of the child.

According to section 7 of the Matrimonial Proceedings and Property Ordinance , the Court is obliged to place the child, so far as it is practicable and just to do so, in the financial position in which the child would have been if the marriage had not broken down and each of those parties had properly discharged his or her financial obligations and responsibilities towards the child with the two considerations of:

  • the income, earning capacity, property and other financial resources which each of the parties to the marriage has or is likely to have in the foreseeable future;
  • the financial needs, obligations and responsibilities which each of the parties to the marriage has or is likely to have in the foreseeable future.

The aforesaid principle is easier said than done. In practice, most divorce cases would bring about a drop in their standard of living for all parties concerned, including the children. This is because usually there would be insufficient resources to maintain the previous lifestyle upon the break up of the family.

Other factors to be noted in relation to step children

As said, a ‘child of the family’ can include a child who is not the natural child of one of the parties to the marriage. Nowadays, given the increasing rate of divorce, there are many children who are living with a step-parent.

In such cases, according to section 7 of the Matrimonial Proceedings and Property Ordinance , the Court is obliged to have regard of the following factors, among the circumstances of the case-:

  • whether that party (against whom the claim is being made) had assumed any responsibility for the child's maintenance and, if so, to the extent to which, and the basis upon which, that party assumed such responsibility and to the length of time for which that party discharged such responsibility;
  • whether in assuming and discharging such responsibility that party did so knowing that the child was not his or her own;
  • the liability of any other person to maintain the child.
back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 2,140,156 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

V. 子女事宜

一般而言,子女的管養權(或撫養權)是指透過法庭判令授予照顧和監管子女的權力。離婚後獲得撫養權的父親或母親須負責照顧有關子女的日常生活,並就其子女日常的福利事項作出決定。法庭亦可能會給予共同撫養權。

為了盡量讓子女有穩定的生活,一般的慣例是讓子女在其中一方家中居住,而定期探望另一方(即另一方擁有子女的探視權),而探望安排可以在學校放假期間延長至數天甚至數星期。

在可行情況下,子女亦可以平均分配時間居住於雙親的不同居所中,但雙親應盡量就有關安排達成協議,以免花費更多金錢於法庭訴訟上。

如雙親希望有共同撫養權,並由雙方共同決定養育子女的一切重要事項,法庭在確定有關安排可行後,可作出此項判決。現今一般都鼓勵共同撫養,因為這樣是有利於雙親對子女負責,並且不會因婚姻破裂而終止責任。但大前提是無論撫養權授予那一方,雙方均需要有充分的協議和合作。

A. 法庭會考慮什麼因素,才會將子女撫養權判給其中一方或雙方?

法庭在處理家事訴訟中有關子女的一切事項並作出判決前,其首要考慮是子女本身的利益。每一個案將視乎本身的情況與事實而定,但當處理子女安排的紛爭時,法庭必須考慮全部有關係的因素,而這些因素包括:

  • 盡量保持現狀;
  • 雙親和子女的年齡;
  • 雙親的品格、能力和個性;
  • 雙親的財務資源;
  • 雙親和子女的身體和精神健康;
  • 可提供予子女的住所;
  • 子女本身的意願;
  • 讓所有兄弟姊妹與雙親其中一方同住的好處;
  • 家庭的宗教和文化;
  • 任何專業報告,例如醫療、學校或法庭福利官的報告,而有關報告可涉及子女與家人的關係、居住條件、精神或健康等。

上述列表只包含一般會被法庭考慮的部分因素,而並非包攬所有項目。

法官在聽取所有相關證據後,必須衡量各因素所佔比重,然而法官將會緊記首要因素是子女本身的利益。

若干重要因素的進一步闡釋如下:

1. 保持現狀

為子女本身的利益着想,應盡量避免擾亂他們現時的家庭生活。如子女與雙親其中一方相處愉快,並已習慣和喜歡現時的環境和生活形式,除非有其他迫切性原因,否則法庭不會下令將子女與現時一起生活的父親或母親分開。

2. 主要照料者

一般情況下,子女通常會十分依賴他們的主要照料者或監護人,若突然被分開,將會引起情緒問題或其他困難,有關傷害亦不能被低估。因此,最好讓子女繼續與一向照料他們的父親或母親一起生活,從而保持現狀。

3. 子女的意願

儘管子女的意願是重要因素之一,卻並非凌駕一切。法庭將會考慮子女的意願是否符合本身的最佳利益。

法庭一般會聆聽及考慮子女的看法,但子女看法的比重,視乎子女的年齡及明白事理的程度。在考慮將撫養權授予那一方時,較為年長之子女的意願將會更被重視。

在尋求及確認子女意見的過程中必須小心謹慎,通常會經由合適的法庭福利官去處理。過程中亦要避免讓子女覺得需要在母親和父親之間作出選擇,這會對子女構成重大的精神負擔。

任何一方試圖左右子女的決定亦是不正確的做法,因此較合適之途徑是經由法庭福利官去獲取子女的意願。

4. 讓兄弟姊妹一起生活

為了避免精神創傷,一般都認同兄弟姊妹 (尤其是年齡相近的)應一起生活,而不是分別判給雙親每一方。然而經衡量後,如認為這是最佳的處理方式,法庭便會將兄弟姊妹分別判給雙親每一方。但在這種情況下,應盡可能安排兄弟姊妹定期相見。

5. 雙親和子女的年齡

雙親和子女的年齡亦是重要的考慮因素之一。法庭較可能將嬰孩和年幼子女判歸母親管養。如雙親其中一方的年紀特別大,法庭亦可能認為這因素將會減低他 / 她照顧子女的能力。

6. 子女的性別

這未必是一個舉足輕重的因素,但如所有其他因素均等,這項因素亦會影響法庭之決定,例如快將進入青春期的女兒可能與母親一起生活較為合適,而相同年紀的兒子可能較適合與父親一起生活。

7. 雙親滿足子女需要的能力

如前文所述,每一個案將視乎本身的情況與事實而定,而不同的子女亦會有不同需要。

需要考慮的事項,是雙親各方的健康、謀生能力及財務資源是否可以配合個別子女的需要。雙親任何一方的不當行為(例如通姦)未必會影響或減低他 / 她作為父 / 母親的能力。法庭最終要考慮之首要因素是子女本身的利益。

B. 我的妻子要申請離婚,並計劃在排期審訊期間帶同我們唯一的女兒離開香港,我能否阻止她?

在這情況下,閣下可考慮向高等法院就子女的監護權提出訴訟。每當涉及有關子女的個人利益時,例如懷疑他們將會或已被帶離香港,便可就子女的監護權提出訴訟。

當監護權訴訟提出後,法庭便有廣泛權力為保障有關子女的利益而發出命令(如經濟供養事宜)。

如有關子女已被帶離香港,法庭可發出訪尋該名子女下落的命令,並要求有關政府部門(例如入境事務處)提供協助。

如有關子女已成為「受法院監護的人」,未經法院同意下,他 / 她將被禁止離開香港。

不論任何離婚或分居訴訟是否已經提出,有關方面亦可就子女監護權問題提出訴訟。監護權訴訟可由任何有利害關係的一方(不一定是雙親其中一方)提出,如有必要,訴訟亦可經由社會福利署署長提出。

在提出有關訴訟後,有關子女便立即成為受法院監護的人,意即該子女由法庭看管。如要為該名子女的利益作出重大決定,有關人士均須將問題交由法庭處理,但這樣可能涉及更多費用和時間。

當子女仍未成年或法庭仍未頒令終止監護權訴訟之前,有關子女仍然是受法庭監護的人。

監護權訴訟不應輕率地提出,只有具備充分的理由時才可進行。

C. 妻子拒絕見我,並且不讓我知道女兒身在何處,我應怎樣做?我如何能夠阻止我妻子奪去女兒?

閣下可以考慮以下方案:

1. 監護權訴訟

在有需要的情況下,可選擇申請將有關子女成為受法庭監護的人。

2. 要求將有關護照或旅行證件存放在律師行,並由律師承諾在未經法庭或雙方同意前,不得交出上述證件。

如前文所述,監護權訴訟可能涉及更多費用和時間,所以不應輕率地提出。

如閣下擔心子女可以使用本身的護照或閣下配偶的護照離開香港,閣下可要求將有關護照或旅行證件存放在律師的辦事處,並由律師承諾在未經閣下或法庭同意前,不得交出上述證件。可是,配偶仍可能在閣下不知情下,設法為該子女補發新護照。

3. 禁止令

如扣押旅行證件之做法不可行或不夠安全,閣下可於離婚或分居訴訟程序中申請禁止令,禁止任何人將有關子女(在不受閣下的管養和控制的情況下)帶離香港。

不論涉及監護訴訟或禁止令,閣下的律師應立即將有關命令或監護訴訟資料送達入境處。入境處在收到資料後,會通知所有港口和機場,以阻止或防止有關子女離開香港。

4.《擄拐和管養兒童條例》

為避免兒童被不當遷移或扣留於外地而造成傷害,香港法例 第512章《擄拐和管養兒童條例》 亦有條文保障有關人士的利益,而律政司會跟某些與香港有《國際擄拐兒童民事方面公約》關係的締約國家合作,以協助被不當遷移或扣留於外地的兒童交還香港。欲知詳情,請瀏覽 律政司的網頁

D. 父親或母親可否在獲得撫養權後,帶同有關子女離開香港?

就子女安排方面可能會出現的紛爭,是其中一方會擔心前度配偶在並無作出預先通知下(不論是基於移民或渡假之原因),將子女帶離香港,因而剝奪了另一方的子女探視權。

因此,法庭會在撫養權命令上附註一項指令,註明除符合下列其中一項條件外,雙親任何一方均無權帶同子女離開香港:

  • 取得法庭批准;或
  • 經並非帶同子女離港的一方之書面同意,而負責帶同子女離港的一方,亦須向法庭承諾在任何協定時期完結時或應法庭要求提前返回時,會如期帶同子女返回香港。

1. 假期

就子女探視權方面,假期安排亦可能會出現紛爭,如雙方不能就有關安排達成協議,將會引起昂貴的訴訟費用。

為節省費用,當發出具有上述兩項限制的撫養權命令後,其中一方可向法庭作出書面承諾,在任何假期完結後,便會將當時身處外國的子女帶回香港。換句話說,每當閣下打算帶同子女離港時,只需獲得前度配偶的書面同意便可。

只有當對方無理地拒絕作出決定時,閣下才需要向法庭作出申請。如屬普通渡假性質,法庭一般不會拒絕閣下的申請。

如閣下相信對方可能會反對閣下帶同子女離港渡假,便應及早在假期前通知閣下的律師,以便有充分時間向法庭作出申請和盡早進行聆訊。

2. 永久離開香港

如獲得子女撫養權的父親或母親基於若干原因,打算離開香港,他/她必須向法庭申請取得有關命令,准許他/她帶同子女永久離開本港。

如雙親的另一方反對該申請,法官將會就有關子女不再能夠定期與反對該申請的家長見面,和申請人(即獲得撫養權的一方)喪失選擇往何處生活的自由作出衡量。如獲得撫養權的父親或母親之離港決定是合理的話,法庭通常不會干涉他 / 她的選擇,但最終仍以有關子女的權益為首要考慮因素。

E. 自從我與丈夫於兩年前分居後,女兒經已和他一起居住,如我現在申請離婚,我獲判女兒撫養權的可能性有多大?

如前文所述,法庭有必要盡量維持現狀,以免干擾子女的家庭生活。如閣下的女兒和父親相處愉快,並已習慣和喜歡她的環境和生活形式,除非有其他迫切的理由,否則法庭未必會考慮讓閣下的女兒離開其父親,但閣下或可在法庭批准下和女兒見面。

F. 如何評定子女的贍養費?

1. 子女贍養費的申索類別

獲授予撫養權的父親或母親有權在離婚或分居訴訟中,向另一方索取撫養子女的經濟資助。

如需要為有關子女即時取得贍養費,可向法庭申請在訴訟完結前取得臨時贍養費。在離婚或分居呈請及臨時贍養費申請提出後,法庭可隨時就有關子女發出不同的臨時經濟資助命令,例如定期付款、保證定期付款和整筆款額,詳情請參考 婚姻事宜 > 離婚 > 財務事宜 > D. 法庭有權發出什麼類型的贍養費(或與財務事項有關)命令?

法庭亦可在訴訟的不同階段發出其他命令:(1) 在作出離婚暫准判令時或之後;(2) 在有關未成年人的監護訴訟期間; (3) 在監護訴訟期間。

2. 子女獲得贍養費的年齡上限

根據 《婚姻法律程序與財產條例》 第10條 ,法庭可以就十八歲以下的子女發出例如定期付款、保證定期付款和整筆款額等之命令。

但該條例進一步列明,如有關子女現時或將會在教育機構就讀,或接受某類培訓,或在恰當和法庭接受的特別情況下(例如子女是殘障人士),則按照現存命令作出的付款可延續到十八歲以上。

G. 法庭在評定子女的贍養費時,會考慮什麼因素?

在評定應給予有關子女那些經濟資助時,法庭必須考慮所有情況,尤其是下列各項:

  • 有關家庭成員在婚姻破裂前的生活水平;
  • 子女的經濟需要;
  • 子女是否有任何身體或精神殘障;
  • 子女一向的養育方式和婚姻雙方預期子女接受教育的方式;
  • 婚姻雙方的經濟資源和需要或供養責任;
  • 子女是否有任何收入、賺錢能力,財產或其他經濟資源。

根據 《婚姻法律程序與財產條例》 第7條 ,法庭會盡量在切實可行範圍內和公正的情況下,並顧及:

  • 婚姻雙方個別擁有的或在可預見的將來可能擁有的收入、謀生能力、財產及其他經濟來源;及
  • 婚姻雙方各自面對的或在可預見的將來可能面對的經濟需要、負擔及責任;

使有關子女享有某程度的經濟狀況,而該經濟狀況是該婚姻若非破裂和該婚姻的雙方若能恰當履行對該子女的經濟負擔及責任時,該子女本應可享有的。

話雖如此,離婚多數會令雙親和子女的生活水平下降,因各方通常會缺乏足夠經濟資源去維持以前的生活方式。

有關非親生子女而須注意的因素

如前文所述,有關家庭的子女可包括婚姻其中一方的非親生子女。由於現今離婚率高企,愈來愈多兒童與繼父或繼母同住,根據 《婚姻法律程序與財產條例》 第7條 ,法庭亦須考慮下列因素:

  • 被索款的一方是否以前曾經就有關子女負起任何經濟供養責任,如有,他 / 她的經濟供養責任是按照什麼範疇與基準,和維持多久;
  • 在承擔及履行該責任時,他 / 她是否已知道自己並非有關子女的親生父親或母親;
  • 任何其他人士對於供養該子女的責任。
返回
上一頁 下一頁