full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

FAQ

1. In sexual related crimes where the victim is under the age of 16, if the defendant says that he/she got consent from the victim, can this be a defence?

No. The Crimes Ordinance contains offences designed to protect persons under 16 years of age from themselves. Under section 122 (indecent assault) for example, a person under 16 years of age cannot consent to an act that would otherwise be unlawful under the section. Sexual activity, even if it is short of intercourse, with a person under 16 years of age is still an offence notwithstanding that the person under 16 consented to such activity. Ignorance of the age of the person indecently assaulted is no defence.

In the case of sexual intercourse with a girl under 13 years of age, and sexual intercourse with a girl under 16 years of age, consent is similarly no defence. A person’s lack of knowledge of the age of the girl concerned is similarly no defence.

To know more about how the law protects children from sexual abuse, please refer to Child And Youth Affairs > Children's protection and welfare > Sexual abuse of children .

2. What are the main characteristics of the Juvenile Court?

A juvenile court has jurisdiction over charges against a child or young person except if it is a charge of homicide. The emphasis with young offenders is upon long term reform and rehabilitation rather than simply punishment.

As part of the long term reform and rehabilitation approach, juvenile courts sit in private. No written report or broadcast of any proceedings in the juvenile court, or an appeal from a juvenile court which identifies the defendant or which would tend to identify the defendant, may be published.  The court may however dispense with the restrictions on identification if it is satisfied it is in the interests of justice to do so.

To know more about the Juvenile Court, please refer to Child And Youth Affairs > Children's protection and welfare > Legal proceedings against a child > B. The Juvenile Court .

3. If a child is abused by his/her parents, who else can take care of the child?

A juvenile court, either on its own volition or upon the application of the Director of Social Welfare (“the Director”), which is satisfied that any child or juvenile is in need of care or protection, may appoint the Director to be the legal guardian of such child or juvenile. Alternatively, the court may commit the care to any person, whether a relative or not, who is willing to undertake the care of the child, or to any institution which is willing to do so. The court can also order parents or guardians to enter into a recognizance to exercise proper care and guardianship or place the person for a specified period, not exceeding three years, under the supervision of a person appointed for the purpose by the court.

The Protection of Children and Juveniles Ordinance enables police officers and social workers to take action to protect a child or juvenile in need of care or protection.

For more details, please go to Child And Youth Affairs > Children's protection and welfare > Custody of children and guardianship.

4. My daughter has been sexually assaulted. I do not want her to give evidence in court. I am worried that she will be traumatized if she is asked to describe what has happened.

It is an ordeal for the child victim of violence or sexual abuse to face his/her abuser in open court and be subjected to traditional forms of cross examination. Protection must be afforded to children in such situations if their best interests are to be protected.

There are legislations that provide some protection for children and juvenile victims of certain sexual or physical offences when they are giving evidence in court as prosecution witnesses. This is done by shielding them from the full rigour of the traditional trial format. This includes allowing a child (other than the defendant) to give evidence and be cross examined by way of a live television link, or giving evidence by way of a pre-recorded video interview.

These provisions recognise and attempt to reduce the trauma that child and juvenile victims of physical and sexual abuse face when giving evidence as prosecution witnesses. Inevitably this means some reduction in the rights of defendants, but these reductions are proportional and objectively justified in the interests of protecting children when giving evidence in court.

If you want to know more about this, please go to Child and Youth Affairs > Children's protection and welfare > Protection of child victims at trial.

back
Previous Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,576,166 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

常見問題

1. 在與性相關的案件中,如受害人未滿16歲,而被告聲稱是得到受害人同意而作出有關行為,這是抗辯理由嗎?

不是。 《刑事罪行條例》 部分條文的目的是要保護16歲以下人士;例如 第122條 (猥褻侵犯)訂明,年齡在16歲以下的人,在法律上是不能給予同意進行條文所指的罪行。任何人與16歲以下人士進行性活動,即使沒有進行性交,而該名16歲以下人士表示同意,亦屬違法;聲稱不知道有關人士的年齡不可成為抗辯理由。

同樣地,「與13歲以下女童性交」罪及「與16歲以下女童性交」罪,「取得對方同意」亦不是抗辯理由,被告亦不能以聲稱不知道女童的年齡作為抗辯理由。

想了解法例如可保護兒童免受性侵犯,可參考 兒童及青少年事宜 > 保護兒童及兒童福利 > 性侵犯兒童

2. 少年法庭有甚麼特點?

少年法庭具有司法管轄權,審理針對兒童或少年人的刑事案件,但殺人罪行除外。少年法庭旨在協助少年罪犯改過自新,而非純粹施予制裁。

少年法庭處理案件的大前題是協助少年罪犯改過自新,因此聆訊都是閉門進行。任何有關少年法庭的法律程序或上訴法律程序的報道(不論書面或廣播),均不得揭露被告的身分或導致被告的身分有可能被識別;但法庭亦可因公正目的,免除有關揭露身份的限制。法庭決定是否容許披露被告身分,將視乎個別個案的情況而定。

想知道更多有關少年法庭的資訊,可瀏覽 兒童及青少年事宜 > 保護兒童及兒童福利 > 向兒童展開法律訴訟 > B. 少年法庭

3. 如果兒童受父母虐待,誰可照顧他們?

少年法庭可自行動議,或在社會福利署署長的申請下,信納任何被帶往法庭的兒童或少年是需要受照顧或保護,並委任社署署長擔任該兒童或少年的法定監護人。法庭亦可將該兒童或少年付託予任何願意負責照顧他的人士,不論該人士是否其親屬亦可;或將他付託予任何願意負責照顧他的機構。除此之外,法庭也可命令該兒童或少年的父母或監護人辦理擔保手續,保證對他作出適當的照顧及監護,甚至下令將該兒童或少年交由法庭委任的人士監管一段指明的期間,以不超過3年為限。

《保護兒童及少年條例》 容許警員及社工採取行動,向需要照顧或保護的兒童或少年提供保護。

想了解更多,可參閱 兒童及青少年事宜 > 保護兒童及兒童福利 > 管養和監護兒童

4. 我的女兒遭受性侵犯,我不想她出庭作供,擔心她憶述案發經過時心靈會再受創。

兒童受害者遭受暴力對待或性侵犯,要在法庭面對施虐者,並接受傳統的刑事盤問過程,對他們而言恰如煎熬,因此必須保護他們,以保障他們的權益。本港有條例為部分遭受性侵犯或暴力對待的兒童和少年受害人,在法庭擔任控方證人時,可獲某些保障,免於接受傳統的法律審訊程序,包括容許兒童(被告除外)以「電視直播聯繫」方式作供及接受盤問,或以預錄影像作為聆訊證供。有關安排的目的是要減低受害人作為控方證人,在作供時再次承受創傷,雖難免削弱被告的權利,但影響有限,而在保護兒童權益的前題下,亦言之成理。

想知道更多,可參考兒童及青少年事宜 > 保護兒童及兒童福利 > 聆訊期間保護兒童受害者

返回
上一頁