full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

II. Violence against children

A. Physical violence

Violence against a child is just as much a criminal offence as violence against an adult. The Offences Against the Person Ordinance (“OAPO”), Cap. 212 , contains a number of offences relating to the unlawful use of force. These offenses range from common assault to inflicting grievous bodily harm, and to murder. What charge will be brought will depend upon the particular circumstances involved, the amount of force used, and the intent with which the force was used. The OAPO also contains offences specifically relating to children and young persons.

B. Exposing a child to a situation whereby the Child’s life is endangered

Section 26 of the OAPO makes it an offence to unlawfully abandon or expose any child under the age of two years to any situation whereby the life of the child is endangered or its health is, or is likely to be, permanently injured. The offence is punishable on indictment by ten years imprisonment, and upon summary conviction , by three years imprisonment. The offence may be committed without any direct force being applied to the child.  The purpose of this law is to prevent action or inaction which endangers the life or long term health of the child and is apposite to Convention Article 19.

C.  Ill-treatment or neglect by those in charge of a child or young person

Under section 27 of the OAPO it is an offence for a person over the age of 16 years who has the custody, charge or care of any child or young person under that age to wilfully assault, ill-treat, neglect, abandon or expose such child or young person to be assaulted, ill-treated, neglected, abandoned or exposed in a manner likely to cause that child or young person unnecessary suffering or injury to health. The words “ unnecessary suffering or injury to health” includes injury to or loss of sight, or hearing or a limb or organ of the body or any mental derangement.

Section 27 covers both positive action and neglect. Neglect includes failing to provide adequate food, clothing or lodging for the child or young person, or knowingly and wilfully failing to take steps to obtain adequate food clothing or lodging for the child from an authority, society or institution which makes such provision for children or young persons in need. There is a positive duty upon persons over 16 years of age to seek help from relevant institutions if they are unable, for whatever reason, to care for a child or young person under 16 years of age in their custody, charge, or care. Section 27 offences are punishable on conviction on indictment by imprisonment for 10 years and upon summary conviction by imprisonment for three years. The activities described in section 27 of the OAPO are also apposite to the requirements of Convention Article 19.

D. Forcible taking or detention of a person with intent to sell that person

Under section 42 of the OAPO , it is an offence for any person by force or fraud, to take away or detain against his or her will any man or boy, woman, or female child, with intent to sell him or her or to procure a ransom or benefit for his or her liberation. Section 42 offences are punishable by life imprisonment.

E. Stealing a child under 14 years old

Under section 43 of the OAPO it is an offence to unlawfully, by any means, lead, take away, decoy, entice or detain any child under the age of 14 years with the intention of depriving any parent, guardian, or other person having the lawful care or charge of such child, of the possession of the child. The offence is punishable by seven years imprisonment. Both the adoptive parent(s) of a child under the age of 14 years, and the employer of a child under the age of 14 years, are deemed to have the lawful care or charge of such a child. This does not affect any rights conferred upon the Director of Social Welfare under the Protection of Children and Juveniles Ordinance , Cap. 213 .

Sections 42 and 43 of the OAPO may be seen as enforcing the unity of the family. They are directed towards preserving the child’s connection with the family and protecting the child from abuse and exploitation.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,480,645 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

II. 對兒童使用暴力

A. 身體暴力

對兒童施以暴力等同向成年人使用暴力,同樣是刑事罪行。 第212章 《侵害人身罪條例》 包含多項與非法使用武力相關的罪行,包括普通襲擊、造成身體嚴重傷害以至謀殺。施襲者被控哪項罪行,將視乎其動武的意圖、使用武力的程度及當時情況而定。 《侵害人身罪條例》 亦有與兒童及少年人有關的罪行。

B. 遺棄兒童以致其生命受危害

《侵害人身罪條例》 第26條 列明,任何人非法拋棄或遺棄不足兩歲的兒童,以致該兒童的生命受到危害,或健康蒙受(或相當可能蒙受)永久損害,即屬犯罪,如經 公訴程序定罪 ,可被判監禁十年,如經 簡易程序定罪 ,則可被判監三年。即使沒有向兒童直接動武,亦可能干犯此罪行。此法例與《兒童權利公約》第19條相呼應,目的是要防止有人作出或不作出某些行為,危害兒童生命或令其健康長期受損。

C. 虐待或忽略所看管兒童或少年人

根據 《侵害人身罪條例》 第27條 ,任何超過16歲的人,如有責任管養、看管或照顧一名不足16歲的兒童或少年人,而此人如故意襲擊、虐待、忽略、拋棄或遺棄該兒童或少年人,或導致及促致該兒童或少年人受襲擊、虐待、忽略、拋棄或遺棄,令該兒童或少年人可能受到不必要的苦楚或健康損害,即屬犯罪。損害或喪失視力或聽覺、令肢體或身體器官損傷殘缺、或精神錯亂,都屬於「不必要的苦楚或健康損害」。

第27條 涵蓋故意進行某些行為及因忽略而沒有作出某些行為,例如沒有為兒童或少年人提供足夠的食物、衣物或住宿,或明知及故意不向負責提供這些生活所需的主管當局、社團或機構,為有需要的兒童或少年人領取資源。任何超過16歲的人如因任何理由而無法照顧不足16歲的兒童或少年人,就有責任向相關機構求助。一旦干犯 第27條 所列明的罪行,如經 公訴程序定罪 ),可被判監禁十年,如經 簡易程序定罪 ),則可被判監三年。 《侵害人身罪條例》 第27條 列出的行為,亦符合《兒童權利公約》第19條的規定。

D. 意圖販賣而將人強行帶走或禁錮

《侵害人身罪條例》 第42條 訂明,任何人以武力或欺詐方式將任何男子、男童、女子或女童在違反其意願下帶走或禁錮,意圖將其販賣或意圖取得用以交換其釋放的贖金或利益,即屬違法,最高可處終身監禁。

E.拐帶14 歲以下兒童

《侵害人身罪條例》 第43條 下,任何人以任何方式非法引走、帶走、誘走、騙走或禁錮任何14歲以下的兒童,意圖剝奪其父母、監護人或其他合法照顧、看管該兒童的人對該兒童的管有,即屬犯罪,可處7年監禁。

14歲以下兒童的養父母及僱主均被視為合法照顧、看管該兒童的人,但並不影響 第213章 《保護兒童及少年條例》 列明社署署長擁有的權力。

《侵害人身罪條例》 第4243條 可被視為是促進家庭團圓的條文,旨在維護兒童與其家庭的連繫,保護兒童免受虐待和利用。

返回
上一頁 下一頁