full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

FAQ

1. What are the possible penalties for bringing dangerous drugs to Hong Kong?

Severe penalties are imposed upon those who bring drugs into Hong Kong, particularly where they are brought in for sale or transfer to others. The maximum punishment is life imprisonment. Prison sentences can be expected even for relatively small amounts of drug. Young age and a previous clear record will count for very little, particularly where the trafficking involves a commercial element.

As an example of likely sentences, a person who traffics between 10 to 50 grammes of ketamine can expect a prison sentence of between 4 to 6 years upon conviction after trial. A person who traffics between 300 to 600 grammes can expect a prison sentence of between 9 to 12 years imprisonment upon conviction after trial.

There will normally be a one-third discount in the term of imprisonment if the defendant pleads guilty. Where a defendant is young a Training Centre, Rehabilitation Centre or Detention Centre order could be made depending upon the nature, quantity and value of the drugs and the defendant’s suitability for one or other of those orders. However the courts have made it clear that youth and/or a clear record will not normally shelter a young offender from imprisonment for trafficking in drugs. This is because of the danger that organised drug traffickers will use young persons to bring drugs into Hong Kong unless appropriately severe sentences are imposed.

For more details, please go to Child and Youth Affairs > Crimes commonly committed by young people > Drug cases > B. Trafficking in dangerous drugs .

2. Have I committed any offences by accessing another’s emails/Facebook without permission?

If you know that the other person would not have consented your accessing of his/her email/Facebook account, you commit the offence of “unauthorized access to a computer by telecommunications” contrary to section 27A of the Telecommunications Ordinance ( Chapter 106 ). The maximum penalty for the offence is a fine of $20,000. You may also commit the offence of “accessing to computer with criminal or dishonest intent” contrary to section 161(1)(c) of the Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200) with you accessed the computer with a view to dishonest gain for yourself or another, or with a dishonest intent to cause loss to another. The maximum penalty for the offence is 5 years’ imprisonment.

To know more about these two offences, please visit Child and Youth Affairs > Crimes commonly committed by young people > Intellectual property offences and crimes on the Internet .

3. A girl claimed that she was 17 years old. I genuinely believed her and had sexual intercourse with her. In fact, her actual age was 15. Have I committed any offence?

You have committed the offence of “unlawful sexual intercourse with a girl under 16” contrary to section 124 of the Crimes Ordinance ( Chapter 200 ). The maximum penalty for the offence is 5 years imprisonment.

Once it is proved that you had sexual intercourse with the girl and she was under 16 years of age at that time, you are guilty of the offence. The girl’s factual consent is irrelevant because she is under 16. Your belief that she was 17 is similarly irrelevant. The offence is having sexual intercourse with a girl under 16 years of age and that is what you have done.

For more about the offence, please visit Child and Youth Affairs > Crimes commonly committed by young people > Unlawful sexual activities > B. Unlawful sexual intercourse with a girl under 16 years’ of age .

4. Under what circumstances my conviction can be “spent”?

Under the provisions of the Rehabilitation of Offenders Ordinance ("RHO") (Cap. 297), a person’s first-time conviction record for a relatively minor offence can be spent (i.e. can practically be ignored, subject to some exceptions, after three years. Subject to certain exceptions, Subject to certain exceptions, the conviction of a person who is not sentenced to imprisonment exceeding three months, whether that sentence takes effect immediately or is suspended, or to a fine exceeding $10,000, and who has not previously been convicted in Hong Kong of any offence will be treated as spent once three years has elapsed without another conviction for an offence in Hong Kong.

When a conviction has become "spent" under the RHO, offenders can, subject to exceptions set out in the RHO, claim not to have a criminal record, and the spent conviction cannot be held against them.

For more about criminal records and Rehabilitation of Offenders Ordinance, please visit the YouthCLIC website: YouthCLIC > Useful Info > Criminal records and the Rehabilitation of Offenders Ordinance .

5. What is a juvenile court? What are the differences between a juvenile court and an adult court?

According to section 3A of the Juvenile Offenders Ordinance , the juvenile court consists of a permanent magistrate, and has the jurisdiction to hear and determine any charge against a “child” or “young person” of any offence other than homicide.

“Child” is defined as a person under 14 years of age. “Young person” is defined as a person aged 14 years and under the age of 16 years. It should also be noted that no child under the age of 10 can be guilty of a criminal offence. However they may be subject to care and protection proceedings as pursuant to the Protection of Women and Juveniles Ordinance ( Chapter 213 ).

The major differences between an adult court and a juvenile court include:

  1. The juvenile court is not open to the public.
  2. A juvenile’s parent or guardian shall accompany the juvenile at all stages of the court proceedings, unless the court otherwise orders.
  3. No person shall publish any written report or broadcast a report which would lead to the identification of any juvenile in the proceedings. This includes restricting the publishing of the name, address, or school of the juvenile.

For more about juvenile court, please visit the YouthCLIC website: YouthCLIC > Useful Info >Juvenile Court .

6. What are Detention Centre Order, Training Centre Order and Rehabilitation Centre Order?

Detention Centre Order, Training Centre Order and Rehabilitation Centre Order are alternatives to imprisonment.

Detention Centre Orders are for male offenders only from the age of 14 to 24. Emphasis is placed on hard physical labour and discipline in order to administer a short sharp shock on the offender so that he will not re-offend again. The period of detention will be decided by the Commissioner of Correctional Services, who will consider the conduct of the offender during detention. For offenders aged between 14 and 20, the minimum period of detention is one month and the maximum is 6 months. For offenders aged between 21 and 24, the period of detention is from three months to 12 months.

Training centres emphasises on rehabilitation, and offenders are trained in a trade. They are suitable for both male and female offenders aged from 14 to 20.  The period of detention will be decided by the Commissioner of Correctional Services, who will consider the conduct of the offender during detention. The minimum period of detention is six months and the maximum is three years.

Rehabilitation Centre Orders are suitable for both male and female offenders aged 14 to 20. The objectives are to deter further criminal conduct and to rehabilitate detainees in terms of socially acceptable behaviour. The offenders will first be detained full time at a rehabilitation centre for a period between two months and five months, to be determined by the Commissioner of Correctional Services by considering the conduct and progress of the offenders. Then they will be subjected to a period of residence at another rehabilitation centre when they may be permitted to go out during certain hours to study, work or do other approved activities. The period of residence is between one month and four months, to be determined by the Commissioner of Correctional Services by considering the needs and progress of the offenders.

Upon release from detention centres/ training centres/ rehabilitation centres, the offenders may be subjected to supervision for a period of time when they need to obey certain requirements. Failure to comply with the supervision requirements may result in the offenders being sent back to the respective centres.

For more details about different punishment and sentencing options imposed by courts, please visit the YouthCLIC website: YouthCLIC > Useful Info > Punishment and sentencing options .

back
Previous Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,478,828 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

常見問題

1. 攜帶毒品進入香港可能要面對甚麼刑罰?

攜帶毒品進入香港的人會被重罰,尤其是帶毒品來港出售或轉交給其他人,最高刑罰可以是終身監禁,即使是帶較少量的毒品,亦要預期被判入獄。如果販毒是有商業成份,即使犯案的人年紀輕和沒有案底,都不會因此而獲得明顯較輕的刑罰。

以下是幾個不同情況可能會被判處的刑罰。販運10至50克氯胺酮(K仔),如果不認罪,經審訊後被裁定罪名成立,可能會被判監禁4至6年。販運300至600克K仔,如果不認罪,經審訊後被裁定罪名成立,可能會被判監禁9至12年。

如果被告認罪,一般會獲扣減三分之一的監禁時期。如果被告年紀輕,法庭會視乎案件的性質、毒品數量、毒品價值、以及被告是否合適,決定是否判處教導所、更生中心、或勞教中心命令。不過,法庭已清楚表明,罪犯年紀輕和 / 或沒有案底,不代表他們可以理所當然地避過坐牢,因為如果法庭不重罰,有組織的毒販,就可能會利用年輕人攜帶毒品進入香港。

想了解詳情,請參考 兒童及青少年事宜 > 青少年常犯罪行 > 藥物及毒品問題 > B. 販運危險藥物

2. 在未經同意之下,查看別人的電郵 / Facebook,有違法嗎?

如果你知道對方不會同意讓你登入其電郵 / Facebook,根據 第106章《電訊條例》 第27A條 ,你是干犯了「藉電訊而在未獲授權下取用電腦資料」這項罪名。這項罪行的最高刑罰是罰款2萬元。你亦可能干犯了「有犯罪或不誠實意圖而取用電腦」罪( 第200章刑事罪行條例第161(1)(c)條 )。這項罪名的最高刑罰是監禁5年。

有關這兩項控罪的詳情,請參考 兒童及青少年事宜 > 青少年常犯罪行 > 與知識產權物品相關罪行及互聯網犯罪

3. 一名女孩自稱是17歲,我真心相信她,並跟她發生了性行為,但她的真實年齡其實是15歲。我有犯法嗎?

根據 第200章《刑事罪行條例》 第124條 ,你干犯了「與16歲以下女童非法性交」的罪名。這項罪名的最高刑罰是監禁5年。

只要能夠證明你與女孩曾經性交,而女孩當時不足16歲,你就是犯法。女孩是否確實同意性交,對案情無關重要,因為她當時不足16歲。你是否相信女孩是17歲,同樣無關重要,只要事實上你與16歲以下女童性交,就已經是犯法。

有關與16歲以下女童非法性交罪及其他性罪行,可參考 兒童及青少年事宜 > 青少年常犯罪行 > 與性相關的非法活動 > B. 與16歲以下女童非法性交

4. 在甚麼情況下,我的案底可以被視為「喪失時效」?

根據 《罪犯自新條例》 (香港法例 第297章 ),已喪失時效的定罪是指特定時間後可被忽略的定罪,條例另有規定者除外。除個別例外情況外,被定罪的人士如被判處不超過3個月的監禁(不論是即時執行或暫緩執行)或不超過1萬元罰款,並且是首次在香港被定罪,只要他/她3年內在香港沒有再被定罪,其定罪便會被視為「已喪失時效」。

如果罪犯的定罪是根據 《罪犯自新條例》 而被視為「已喪失時效」,除非條例另有規定,該罪犯可以自稱沒有刑事紀錄,任何人亦不可因那「已喪失時效」的定罪,而對該罪犯有負面評價。

想知道更多刑事犯罪紀錄及 《罪犯自新條例》 的資訊,請參考青年社區法網 > 實用資訊 > 刑事犯罪紀錄及《罪犯自新條例》

5.甚麼是少年法庭?少年法庭與成年人法庭有甚麼分別?

根據 《少年犯條例》 第3A條 ,少年法庭由一名常任裁判官主理。少年法庭有司法管轄權去聆訊及裁定兒童或少年人被控的任何罪行,但殺人罪行除外。

「兒童」是指任何年齡未滿14歲的人。「少年人」是指任何年滿14歲但未滿16歲的人。所有10歲以下的兒童,不可被裁定干犯刑事罪行,但他們會根據 第213章《保護兒童及少年條例》 接受有關照顧及保護的聆訊。

成年人法庭及少年法庭的分別主要有:

  1. 少年法庭不向公眾開放。
  2. 除非法庭特別下令,否則涉案少年的家長或監護人,需要在法庭聆訊整個過程期間,陪伴涉案的少年。
  3. 所有人均不能刊登或廣播任何報道或新聞,會引致公眾辨認到接受聆訊的少年之身份。這包括禁止刊登或廣播少年的姓名、地址或就讀的學校等。

有關少年法庭的詳情,請參考青年社區法網 > 實用資訊 > 少年法庭

6. 甚麼是勞教中心、教導所及更生中心命令?

勞教中心、教導所及更生中心命令,都是代替監禁的刑罰。

勞教中心命令只適用於14至24歲的男性犯人。勞教中心著重透過嚴格紀律及勞動工作,在短時間內為犯人帶來沖擊,從而提醒他們不可再犯案。懲教署署長會考慮犯人在勞教中心的紀律,決定犯人的羈留時期。14至20歲的犯人,最少會被羈留 1 個月、最多則可被羈留6個月; 21至24歲的犯人,可被羈留3個月至12個月。

教導所著重協助犯人改過自新及提供職業培訓,適用於14至20歲的犯人,性別不限。懲教署署長會考慮犯人的紀律,決定犯人的羈留時期,可由最短6個月至最長3年不等。

更生中心命令適合14 至 20 歲的犯人,不論男女,目的是要防止犯人再有犯罪行為,以及協助他們改過自新,重新融入社會。在更生中心,犯人會先被羈留2至5個月,刑期由懲教署署長考慮過犯人的紀律及進展後才確定。其後,犯人會被轉送至另一更生中心,居住1至4個月(時期由懲教署署長考慮過犯人的需要及進展後確定),犯人期間可在指定時段出外學習、工作或做某些獲批准的活動。

在勞教中心/教導所/更生中心服刑的犯人,獲釋後可能都要接受一段時期的監管,若不遵從監管條件,可能會再被送入相關中心。

想知道更多法庭判處的懲罰及判刑,可參考青年社區法網 > 實用資訊 > 懲罰及不同判刑

返回
上一頁