full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

VI. Violence offences

A. Assault and battery

An assault is an intentional or reckless action which brings about the apprehension of the immediate infliction of unlawful force in the mind of the person to whom the action is directed. Words may amount to an assault if the words bring about an apprehension of the immediate application of force in the person to whom the words are addressed.

Aiming a punch at someone is an assault, even if the punch does not land upon that person. The punch brings about the apprehension of the immediate application of unlawful force. It is an act of hostility without any lawful justification. If the punch lands upon the intended victim, that is, in law, a battery.

A battery is the intentional or reckless touching of another person without that person’s consent. Unlawful force has been inflicted upon the victim. For convenience the word “assault” covers conduct which amounts to a battery. There may however be a battery without an assault. A person struck from behind is unaware of what is happening until the blow lands: there is no apprehension of the immediate application of unlawful force.

B. Assault occasioning actual bodily harm (AOABH)

Assault occasioning actual bodily harm (AOABH) is an offence contrary to section 39 of the Offences Against the Person Ordinance ( Chapter 212 ).

AOABH is an assault which brings about actual bodily harm. The prosecution must first of all prove all the factual and legal elements of the offence of assault. There must then be evidence that the assault brought about actual bodily harm. This involves issues of fact and causation. Actual bodily harm need not be serious or permanent. A punch which, for example, results in bruising or a broken tooth has caused actual bodily harm.

C. Wounding and inflicting grievous bodily harm with intent

Wounding and inflicting grievous bodily harm with intent is an offence contrary to section 17 of the Offences Against the Person Ordinance ( Chapter 212 ).

An offence contrary to section 17 is committed where a person:

  1. unlawfully and maliciously, by any means whatsoever, wounds or cause grievous bodily harm to any person; or
  2. shoots at any person; or
  3. by drawing a trigger or in any other manner, attempts to discharge any kind of loaded arms at any person,

with intent to maim, disfigure or disable any person or to do some other grievous bodily harm to any person, or with intent to resist or prevent the lawful apprehension or detainer of any person.

A wound is where the skin is evenly divided. A burn or a bruise is not a wound as the skin is not evenly divided. An internal injury, for example a ruptured kidney, is not a wound though it may well amount to grievous bodily harm. Grievous bodily harm is harm which is really serious and can include psychiatric injury. Whether or not there is grievous bodily harm is a question of fact in each case.

Section 17 charges are brought where the incident is serious, for example, a planned attack using weapons or the attack results in serious injury, for example, serious chop wounds, or serious internal injuries.

Section 17 offences require an ulterior intent: the intent to do grievous bodily harm to any person and the intent to resist or prevent the lawful apprehension or detain of any person. The prosecution must first prove the actus reus (guilty act). That is inflicting a wound or causing grievous bodily harm. There prosecution must then prove the accused did this with intent to cause grievous bodily harm and/or with intent to resist or prevent the lawful apprehension or detainer of any person.

D. Wounding or inflicting grievous bodily harm

Unlawful and malicious wounding or inflicting any grievous bodily harm is an offence contrary to section 19 of the Offences Against the Person Ordinance ( Chapter 212 ).

There are two offences under this section: i) inflicting serious bodily harm and ii) wounding.

There must be a wound or serious bodily harm which can include psychiatric injury. That wound or serious bodily harm must have been inflicted by the defendant. “Inflicted” means “caused”. The action which causes the wound or the serious bodily harm must have been done intentionally or recklessly. There is no requirement under section 19 for any ulterior intent. Provided the wound or the serious bodily harm was caused by the defendant's unlawful act and that act was done intentionally or recklessly the requirements of section 19 are satisfied.

E. Fighting in public

Taking part in an unlawful fight in public is an offence, contrary to section 25 of the Public Order Ordinance ( Chapter 245 ).

A "public place" is any place to which for the time being the public or any section of the public are entitled or permitted to have access, whether on payment or otherwise.

The word “fight” must be given its ordinary meaning and involves an equality of aggression.

Persons defending themselves against an attack are not in an equality of aggression situation.

It does not matter who started the fight, who won the fight or what it was about provided there is an equality of aggression. Whether there was or was not a fight depends upon all the circumstances of the particular case.

An agreement to fight in public to settle differences does not make the fight lawful. A properly licensed and supervised boxing match in a public park is however a different matter.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,478,466 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

VI. 暴力罪行

A. 襲擊及毆打

襲擊是一個人向另一個人,故意或不理後果地作出一些動作,令後者擔心會即時受到非法武力對待。如果一個人向另一個人講出一些說話,令後者擔心會即時受到非法武力對待,那麼,言語也可以算是襲擊。

向一個人出拳是襲擊,即使這一拳沒有打中人,亦是襲擊。這一拳會令人擔心即時受到非法武力對待,而出拳這個動作存在敵意,亦沒有合法辯解。如果這一拳打中事主,在法律上來說,就是毆打。

毆打是一個人在未經同意之下,使用非法武力,故意或不理後果地接觸到另一個人的身體。為方便起見,「襲擊」亦包含了毆打行為。不過,毆打有時並不等於襲擊。如果有人從後打你,直至你被打中的一刻之前,你都不會知道——你不曾擔心會即時受到非法武力對待,就已經被打。

B. 襲擊致造成身體傷害

根據 第212章《侵害人身罪條例》 第39條 ,襲擊致造成身體傷害是刑事罪行。

襲擊致造成身體傷害,意思是有關襲擊,會導致實際的身體傷害。控方必須首先證明所有構成襲擊罪的事實元素及法律元素,然後必須證明有關襲擊導致實際的身體 傷害,這包括了案件的事實判斷和前因後果。實際身體傷害不一定是嚴重傷害或永久傷害,例如一拳可以打至別人瘀傷或掉牙,這已經是導致實際身體傷害。

C. 意圖造成身體嚴重傷害而傷人

根據 第212章《侵害人身罪條例》 第17條 ,意圖造成身體嚴重傷害而傷人,是刑事罪行。

任何人如作出以下行為:

  1. 以任何方式,非法及惡意傷害任何人,或導致任何人的身體受嚴重傷害;或
  2. 向任何人射擊;或
  3. 拉動扳機或以任何其他方式,企圖用上膛槍械,射向任何人,

意圖殘害任何人、令人容貎受損或傷殘、或令任何人的身體,受到其他形式的嚴重傷害,或有意圖抵抗或防止任何人被合法拘捕或扣留,就是違反了 第17條 列明的罪行。

傷口是指皮膚被分開,燒傷和瘀傷沒有令皮膚分開,所以不是傷口。內傷(例如是腎臟爆裂)雖然是身體嚴重受傷害,但仍然不是傷口。身體嚴重傷害是真正嚴重的傷害,包括精神傷害。至於是否屬於身體嚴重傷害,就要視乎每宗個案的事實。

當事件非常嚴重,例如是有計謀地使用武器進行襲擊,或襲擊造成嚴重的傷害,如嚴重斬傷或嚴重內傷, 第17條 就適用。

違反 第17條 列明的罪行,需要有別有用心的意圖——意圖對任何人造成嚴重身體傷害,以及意圖抵抗或防止任何人被合法拘捕或扣留。控方首先要證明犯罪的人作出犯罪行為,即造成傷口或導致身體嚴重受傷,或 / 和有意圖抵抗或防止任何人被合法拘捕或扣留。

D. 傷人或對他人身體加以嚴重傷害

根據 第212章《侵害人身罪條例》 第19條 ,非法及惡意傷人或對他人身體加以嚴重傷害,是刑事罪行。

在這項條例之下,有兩項罪行:i) 對他人身體加以嚴重傷害,及ii) 傷人。

事主必須有傷口或嚴重身體傷害,包括精神傷害。傷口及嚴重身體傷害必須是由被告造成。「加以」就是「導致」。導致他人出現傷口或嚴重身體傷害的動作,必須是故意作出或魯莾地作出。 第19條 並不需要證明被告有別有用心的意圖。只要證明被告作出非法行為,導致其他人的傷口或嚴重身體傷害,無論這個行為是故意作出或魯莾地作出,都已經符合 第19條 的要求。

E. 在公眾地方打鬥

根據 第245章《公安條例》 第25條 ,在公眾地方參與非法打鬥,是刑事罪行。

「公眾地方」是指任何在特定時間內,公眾人士或任何一類公眾人士,可以以付費或其他方式,有權進入或獲准進入的地方。

「打鬥」必須以字面去解釋,同時涉及相同程度的侵略行為。去抵抗襲擊的人,並不算是作出相同程度的侵略行為。

無論是誰發起打鬥、誰在打鬥中勝出、或打鬥的情況如何,都不重要。只要打鬥的各方有相同程度的侵略行為,就是犯法。至於是否屬於打鬥,就要視乎每宗個案的所有情況。

各方同意在公眾地方打鬥來解決分歧,並不等於這次打鬥是合法。不過,如果在公園進行領有牌照及受到監管的拳賽,就是另一回事。

返回
上一頁 下一頁