full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

FAQ

1. Apart from going to Court to apply for a divorce, are there any other channels through which a married couple can deal with their unhappy or broken marriage? What are the differences between those other channels and divorce proceedings?

The alternatives to divorce proceedings available to parties to an unhappy or broken marriage are as follows:

Deed of Separation

Deed of Separation is a separation agreement made between the two parties by themselves. The agreement may specify a period of separation, and what the parties may do with their children (if any) and how their children’s and each other’s maintenance will be provided.

Separation Order

If no separation agreement can be reached, one party can apply to the District Court for a separation order together with maintenance orders (e.g. either party may be ordered by the Court to give financial support to the other party, and/or the children, for the costs of living) provided that he or she has not committed adultery. If the Court order that the parties be separated, they need not live together any more although they are still legally husband and wife (they are not free to re-marry at this stage). The Court may also make orders relating to the custody of the children and the maintenance of the other spouse and of the children.

Judicial Separation

The effect of a judicial separation is the same as a separation order, i.e. the parties are still husband and wife but they need not cohabit. Parties who are judicially separated are not free to re-marry. The decree of judicial separation is only granted subject to the requirement that satisfactory arrangements have been made for the welfare of any children.
There are several possible reasons why a couple would apply for judicial separation instead of divorce, for example:

  • when one or both parties are opposed to divorce on either religious or moral grounds;
  • one party does not wish to give the other the ability to remarry;
  • when the parties have been married for less than 1 year and are therefore unable to apply for divorce;
  • in order to prevent the loss of benefits available only to a spouse.

The existence of a judicial separation decree does not preclude either party from applying for divorce subsequently.

Mediation

Family mediation is a voluntary problem-solving process designed to help separating/divorcing couples reach their own mutually acceptable agreements regarding on-going arrangements for their children and/or the resolution of financial matters. A trained, impartial third person (the mediator) can assist both parties to communicate and negotiate issues in a confidential setting.

To know more about the above alternatives, please visit Matrimonial Matters > Divorce > Resolution methods other than divorce .

2. What can I do if I cannot afford to retain a lawyer to represent me in divorce or matrimonial proceedings?

You may seek legal advice and/or legal representation from the relevant bodies.

In seeking legal advice, you may approach the Free Legal Advice Scheme administered by the Duty Lawyer Service (Tel. 2835 2500).

In seeking legal representation in court, you may try to apply to the Legal Aid Scheme administered by the Legal Aid Department (Tel: 2537 7677), or to the Bar Free Legal Service Scheme administered by the Hong Kong Bar Association (E-mail: bflss@hkba.org).

Please also note that while the staff of the Family Court Registry will give information relating to divorce procedures, they are not lawyers and they are not permitted to offer legal advice.

To know more about the pre-conditions for divorce, please visit Matrimonial Matters > Divorce > Pre-conditions for divorce.

3. What are the factors considered by the Court in awarding custody of a child in family proceedings?

In all matters relating to children in family proceedings, the welfare of the child is the first and paramount consideration for the Court. The Court would take into account all relevant factors which include:

  • the preservation of the status quo;
  • the ages of the parents and child;
  • the personality, capability and character of the parents;
  • the financial resources of the parents;
  • the physical and mental health of the parents and child;
  • the accommodation available to the child;
  • the child's own wishes and views, if any;
  • the benefit of keeping the siblings together with one parent;
  • the religion and culture of the family;
  • professional reports such as medical, school, or court welfare officer's reports (e.g. about the child's family relationship, living conditions, mental or health elements, etc.).

Note that the aforesaid factors are just factors commonly considered by the Court, they are not exhaustive.

To know more about the matters affecting children for divorce, please visit Matrimonial Matters > Divorce > Matters affecting children > A. What factors will be considered by the Court in awarding custody of a child to either or both parties? .

4. Can one parent take a child out of Hong Kong by way of a custody order?

Custody orders may contain directions relating to the removal of a child from Hong Kong in the following ways:

Prohibition on removal from Hong Kong

Custody orders can be endorsed with a notice in the form of a direction that neither parent is entitled to remove the child from Hong Kong unless the following conditions are met:

  • obtain the approval of the Court; OR
  • obtain the written consent of the other parent who is not responsible for taking the child out of Hong Kong, AND the giving of a general undertaking by the parent (who will take the child out of Hong Kong) to the Court to return the child to Hong Kong after any fixed period spent abroad or at the end of any agreed period, or earlier if called upon to do so by the Court.

Removal from Hong Kong during holidays

Upon the making of a custody order with the aforesaid restrictions specified on it, it is possible to file with the Court a general undertaking to return the child after any holiday period spent abroad. This means that when you want to take the child out of Hong Kong, all a party needs to do is to obtain a written consent from his/her spouse.

Permanent removal from Hong Kong

If a parent, who is granted with the custody of a child, intends to leave Hong Kong permanently for some reasons, that parent must make an application to Court so as to obtain an order from the Court allowing him or her to remove the child permanently from Hong Kong. If the other parent opposes such application, the judge will have to balance the child's loss of regular contact with that parent against the liberty of the applicant parent (granted with custody) to choose where he or she wishes to live.

To know more about the matters affecting children for divorce, please visit Matrimonial Matters > Divorce > Matters affecting children > D. Can one parent take a child out of Hong Kong upon the grant of a custody order?

5. How would the Court deal with matrimonial properties upon divorce?

There are some general principles adopted by the court in dealing with properties owned by the parties to a divorce proceeding:

Bank account

If a bank account is in a spouse's name, then it appears that any money in the account belongs to that person, unless there is a contrary intention or another spouse has made a contribution to the fund.
If a bank account is held in joint names, then it appears that any money in the account belongs to both parties jointly, unless there is a contrary intention, e.g. that the account was put into joint names for convenience.

"A roof over each party's head"

The Court will ensure that, wherever possible, there is a roof over each party's head. This is in particular so when there are children in the family. The Court will ensure that the children are properly taken care of by providing them a secure home.

The 50/50 rule

The Court of Final Appeal of Hong Kong had ruled in LKW v DD that a wife is entitled to half of the couple's assets when they divorce in Hong Kong. This 50/50 rule will have major impact in cases where the financial assets are substantial. As a consequence, pre- and post-nuptial agreements will be extremely important for those in Hong Kong who wish to protect his/her personal wealth.

Maintenance or "Clean Break"?

Apart from the share of joint capital, a wife may also be entitled to periodic maintenance. It is the court's duty to consider whether a "clean break" (i.e. to terminate the financial dependency of one party against another party) is appropriate on each case. "Clean break" refers to the distribution of property and/or payment of one lump sum (in one go or by instalments) once and for all, so that the parties can put behind their unhappiness behind and start afresh.

Ownership of business

If a husband derives his income mostly from his own business which has a capital value, dispute can arise as to the valuation of the business. The reason is that business valuations provided by accountants instructed on behalf of each party are often very different, as different accounting approaches may be used. In practice, the accountant appointed by the husband would usually adopt an approach that would result in a relatively low capital value of the business while the wife's accountant would tend to take an approach that would reflect the 'true picture' of the business worth.

To know more about financial matters for divorce, please visit Matrimonial Matters > Divorce > Financial matters > A. How would the Court deal with or divide the matrimonial properties between the husband & wife upon divorce?

6. What can I do if my former spouse refused or failed to make maintenance payment as ordered by the court?

You may consider the following ways to enforce the court order for maintenance against your former spouse:

Judgment summons

You can apply for a judgment summons. The judge has the power to make a new order for payment of the amount due or to commit your former spouse to prison (according to Rule 87 of the Matrimonial Causes Rules) if he or she cannot justify his or her failure to pay. If your former spouse fails to attend the hearings repeatedly, the judge can commit him or her to prison in his or her absence.

Attachment of income to satisfy order

With reference to section 28 of the Matrimonial Proceedings and Property Ordinance, where a maintenance order has been made against a maintenance payer and:

  • a court is satisfied that the payer has without reasonable excuse failed to make any payment which he is required to make by the maintenance order; or
  • a court is satisfied that there are reasonable grounds to believe that the payer will not make full and punctual payment in compliance with the maintenance order; or
  • the payer and designated payee agree to the making of an order under this section; and

there is any income capable of being attached payable to the payer,
the Court may order the income to be attached as to the whole or part of the amount payable under the maintenance order and the amount attached to be paid directly from the payer's sources of income (e.g. his/her employer) to the specified payee. However, the payer could retain certain amount for his/her reasonable living expenses before such deduction.

Prohibition order

It is possible to apply to the Court on an ex-parte basis (applied unilaterally by one party only) for an order that your former spouse be prevented from leaving Hong Kong pending recovery of the debt. This procedure can be very effective in particular when your former spouse travels frequently as it is likely to cause your former spouse considerable inconvenience. However, you should bear in mind that the Court is reluctant to limit a person's liberty in this way. Therefore such an application should only be made as a last resort only when every other method of enforcement has been exhausted and proved inappropriate.

To know more about financial matters for divorce, please visit Matrimonial Matters > Divorce > Financial matters > H. What can the wife/husband do if the other party refused or failed to make maintenance payment?

back
Previous Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,478,932 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

常見問題

1. 除了向法庭申請離婚之外,經歷不愉快婚姻或婚姻破裂的夫婦,還有什麼其他渠道解決分歧?這些方法與離婚訴訟有何差異?

閣下可考慮選用下列方案:

分居契約

分居契約即雙方以合約契據形式達成的分居協議,有關契約可自行擬訂。該協議可指定分居時期、雙方如何處理子女事宜(如有)和配偶及 / 或子女之贍養費提供等。

分居命令

在若干情況下,如雙方未能達成協議,其中一方可向區域法院申請分居命令連同贍養費命令(例如法院可能命令任何一方向另一方及 / 或子女支付贍養費,以應付生活開支),但先決條件是他或她並無作出通姦行為。如法庭命令雙方分居,雙方仍然是合法夫妻,但不須再共同生活(在這階段下仍不得自由再婚)。法庭亦可就子女的撫養權,和配偶及子女的贍養費作出命令。

裁判分居(Judicial Separation)

裁判分居與分居命令的效果相同,即雙方仍然是夫妻,但不須共同生活,獲得裁判分居的各方仍不得自由再婚。而只有在子女的福利作出適當的安排後,法庭才會給予此判令。

夫婦選擇申請裁判分居而不是離婚,可能基於以下理由:

  • 當其中一方或雙方基於宗教或道德理由而反對離婚;
  • 其中一方不希望對方再婚;
  • 當雙方結婚不足一年,不能申請離婚;
  • 避免喪失只有婚姻配偶才可享有的利益。

裁判分居判令不能阻止任何一方再申請離婚。

家事調解

家事調解專為一個自願參與的項目,協助辦理分居 / 離婚的夫婦,就子女安排和 / 或財務事項的解決方式達成互相接納的協議。調解由受過訓練的第三者(調解員),秉持不偏不倚的宗旨,協助雙方在保密的情況下就有關事宜作出溝通和協商。

如想了解更多以上方案,請參考 婚姻事宜 > 離婚 > 解決婚姻問題之其他方法

2. 在離婚或婚姻訴訟中,如我無法負擔聘請代表律師的費用,我可以怎辦?

如欲尋求法律意見,閣下可聯絡當值律師服務提供的 免費法律諮詢計劃(電話:2835 2500)。

如需要在法庭聆訊中獲得代表律師,閣下可嘗試申請法律援助署提供的 法律援助計劃(電話:2537 7677),或由香港大律師公會提供的 法律義助服務計劃(電郵: bflss@hkba.org )。

家事法庭登記處的職員亦可以提供關於離婚訴訟程序的資料,但他們並不是律師,因此不能提供法律意見。

有關離婚的先決條件,可參考 婚姻事宜 > 離婚 > 離婚的先決條件

3. 法庭處理子女撫養權時,會考慮什麼因素?

法庭在處理家事訴訟中有關子女的一切事項並作出判決前,其首要考慮是子女本身的利益,法庭必須考慮所有相關因素,包括:

  • 盡量保持現狀;
  • 雙親和子女的年齡;
  • 雙親的品格、能力和個性;
  • 雙親的財務資源;
  • 雙親和子女的身體和精神健康;
  • 可提供予子女的住所;
  • 子女本身的意願;
  • 讓所有兄弟姊妹與雙親其中一方同住的好處;
  • 家庭的宗教和文化;
  • 任何專業報告,例如醫療、學校或法庭福利官的報告,而有關報告可涉及子女與家人的關係、居住條件、精神或健康等。

上述列表只包含法庭一般會考慮的部分因素,而並非包括所有項目。
如想了解離婚時的子女安排,請參考 婚姻事宜 > 離婚 > 子女事宜 > A. 法庭會考慮什麼因素,才會將子女撫養權判給其中一方或雙方?

4. 父親或母親可否在獲得撫養權後,帶同有關子女離開香港?

法庭可在撫養權命令上附註一項指令,註明除符合下列其中一項條件外,雙親任何一方均無權帶同子女離開香港:

  • 取得法庭批准;或
  • 經並非帶同子女離港的一方之書面同意,而負責帶同子女離港的一方,亦須向法庭承諾在任何協定時期完結時或應法庭要求提前返回時,會如期帶同子女返回香港。

假期安排

當法庭發出具有上述兩項限制的撫養權命令後,其中一方可向法庭作出書面承諾,在任何假期完結後,便會將當時身處外國的子女帶回香港。換句話說,每當閣下打算帶同子女離港時,只需獲得前度配偶的書面同意便可。

永久離開香港

如獲得子女撫養權的父親或母親基於若干原因,打算離開香港,他/她必須向法庭申請取得有關命令,准許他/她帶同子女永久離開本港。如雙親的另一方反對該申請,法官將會就有關子女不再能夠定期與反對該申請的家長見面,和申請人(即獲得撫養權的一方)喪失選擇往何處生活的自由作出衡量。

如想了解離婚時的子女安排,請參考 婚姻事宜 > 離婚 > 子女事宜 > D. 父親或母親可否在獲得撫養權後,帶同有關子女離開香港?

5. 法庭會如何處理或分配夫婦在離婚後的財產?

在婚姻訴訟中,法庭處理婚姻財產時,一般會採取以下原則:

行戶口

如銀行戶口是以夫婦其中一方的個人名義擁有,法庭會假設此戶口的所有款項均屬於戶口持有人,除非有相反意圖或另一方曾貢獻部分款項,則作別論。

如屬聯名戶口,法庭會假設此戶口內的款項由夫婦兩人共同擁有,除非有相反意圖(例如只為方便而開立聯名戶口),則作別論。

各方棲身之所

法庭會盡可能確保每一方均有棲身之所,尤其若雙方有子女。法庭亦會盡量確保子女有穩妥的居所。

50/50規則

香港終審法院在 LKW對DD一案中,判處當事人在香港離婚時,妻子有權分得配偶一半資產。在涉及大量資產的案件中,這個50/50規則,會帶來重大影響。因此,在香港,如想保護個人財產,訂立婚前或婚後協議,就變得極之重要。

贍養費或「徹底分清」

妻子通常有權分享聯名財產,而且還可能獲得定期支付的贍養費。法庭亦會考慮是否能以「徹底分清」來終止其中一方的財務負擔。「徹底分清」是指一次過分配財產和/或支付整筆款額 (一筆過或分期支付),以便雙方拋開不快,開始新生活。

業務的擁有權

假設丈夫擁有具備資本價值的業務,而該業務是他的主要收入來源,夫婦雙方對該業務的估值可能出現爭拗,原因是各方之會計師的估值方法及結果往往有重大差異。由丈夫委託之會計師可能會作出較低之估值,但由妻子委託之會計師則可能會作出較真確之估值。

如想了解更多以上方案,請參考 婚姻事宜 > 離婚 > 解決婚姻問題之其他方法

6. 如對方拒絕或未能支付贍養費,妻子/丈夫可以怎麼辦?

閣下可考慮以下列方式強制前配偶履行有關贍養費的法庭命令:

判決傳票

閣下可向法庭申請判決傳票。如閣下的前配偶未能付款而缺乏充分理由,法庭有權按照《婚姻訴訟規則》 第87條發出新的付款命令或判其入獄。如閣下的前配偶重複缺席聆訊,法庭亦有權在其缺席下判其入獄。

扣押入息命令

按照《 婚姻法律程序與財產條例笫28條 ,如法庭已向贍養費付款人發出贍養費命令,而:
(i) 法庭信納該付款人無合理辯解而沒有支付該贍養令規定須付的任何款項;或
(ii) 法庭有合理理由相信該付款人不會遵從該贍養令準時及足額付款;或
(iii) 該付款人及指定受款人均同意根據本條發出命令;及

在付款人的任何入息中,有可作扣押者,則法庭可命令將付款人入息中款額相當於該贍養令規定須付的全部或部分款項扣押,而被扣押的款額將由付款人的收入來源(例如他 / 她的僱主) 付給指定收款人。但作出上述扣除前,付款人可保留若干款額作為他 / 她的合理生活費用。

禁止令

閣下亦可單方面向法庭申請作出命令,在討回債款前,禁止前配偶離開香港。如閣下的前配偶經常需要出境,這程序將非常有效,因為會為他/她帶來相當的不便。可是,法庭未必會願意用這種方式去限制任何人的自由。因此,只有其他強制執行的方法無效或不適用時,才應提出此申請。

如想知道更多有關離婚時的財務安排,請參考 婚姻事宜 > 離婚 > 財務事宜 > H. 如對方拒絕或未能支付贍養費,妻子/ 丈夫可以怎麼辦?

返回
上一頁