full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

III. Pre-conditions for divorce

If you want to petition for a divorce on your own account, basically you have to fill in a petition form and take it personally to the Family Court Registry, M2, Wanchai Law Courts, Wanchai Tower, 12 Harbour Road, Hong Kong.

If you and your spouse have agreed to apply jointly to the Court, you should fill in a joint application form together, and submit it as above.

A. Will I need a lawyer?

Probably yes. Submitting a petition or joint application for divorce puts legal proceedings in motion, so you will find it very helpful and safe to seek legal advice before any submission to the Court is made.

You will particularly need a lawyer in the following circumstances:

  • your spouse does not agree to a divorce;
  • neither of you can agree on the arrangements to be made for the children or on financial matters.

Each year, the Law Society of Hong Kong publishes a Directory of Hong Kong Law Firms which includes a list of firms handling matrimonial cases. This directory can be found and consulted in the Public Enquiry Service Centres of District Offices, public libraries, and at the office of the Law Society of Hong Kong.

B. What can I do if I cannot afford to retain a lawyer to represent me in divorce or matrimonial proceedings?

Application for free or subsidised legal assistance

In seeking legal advice, you may approach the Free Legal Advice Scheme administered by the Duty Lawyer Service (Tel. 2835 2500).

In seeking legal representation in court, you may try to apply to the Legal Aid Scheme administered by the Legal Aid Department (Tel: 2537 7677), or to the Bar Free Legal Service Scheme administered by the Hong Kong Bar Association (E-mail: bflss@hkba.org ).

Please also note that while the staff of the Family Court Registry will give information relating to divorce procedures, they are not lawyers and they are not permitted to offer legal advice.

C. Can I get a divorce in Hong Kong? What conditions do I need to comply with?

You should note the following items 1 to 3 before presenting a divorce petition to the Court.

1. Place of marriage

The place of marriage is not of main concern. Provided that your marriage was validly constituted in the country where the marriage was celebrated, and the validity of your marriage can be proved, then subject to the following factors, you can apply for divorce in the Court of Hong Kong.

2. Conditions to comply with

One of the following conditions must be satisfied before an application or petition for divorce can be dealt with by a Hong Kong Court:

  1. either of the parties to the marriage was domiciled in Hong Kong (Note) on the date of the petition or application;
  2. either of the parties to the marriage was habitually resident in Hong Kong throughout a period of 3 years immediately preceding the date of the petition or application; or
  3. either of the parties to the marriage had a “substantial connection” with Hong Kong on the date of the petition or application.

It is pertinent to note that whether a “substantial connection” exists will depend on all the circumstances of each case, including but not limited to, the length of time the parties have lived in Hong Kong prior to their application for divorce, how long they intend to stay in Hong Kong, whether the parties have employment in Hong Kong, and whether they have acquired assets or taken a lease of property in the territory.

(Note: There are a number of ways in determining whether a person is domiciled in Hong Kong. For example, people would be considered domiciled in Hong Kong if they are holding Hong Kong Permanent Identity Cards, or they are Chinese citizens who have ordinarily resided in Hong Kong for a continuous period of not less than seven years.)

3. Length of marriage

The "one year rule"

In general, subject to the following exceptions, no petition for divorce could be presented to a Hong Kong Court before the expiration of the period of 1 year from the date of the marriage ( section 12 of the Matrimonial Causes Ordinance , Cap. 179 ).

There are 2 possible exceptions to this "one year rule” :

  • exceptional hardship being suffered by the petitioner (“petitioner” being the applicant or the party presenting the petition for divorce); or
  • exceptional depravity on the part of the respondent (“respondent” being the applicant's spouse / petitioner's spouse).

However, in determining the application for divorce before the expiration of the period of 1 year from the date of the marriage, the Court shall have regard to the interests of any child of the family within the meaning of section 2 of the Matrimonial Proceedings and Property Ordinance , Cap. 192 (which can also include a child who is not the natural child of one of the parties to the marriage) and to the question whether there is reasonable probability of a reconciliation between the parties during the remaining period before one year has expired.

D. Shall I choose to apply for divorce in Hong Kong?

1. Alternative option

Given the fact that Hong Kong is an international financial centre, it is common in Hong Kong for either or both parties to a marriage to have a close connection with another country, this is particularly so among the expatriates.

It is important to consider from a pragmatic perspective whether or not Hong Kong is the best place to initiate the divorce proceedings. The following factors are of relevance:

  • How each country under consideration deals with divorce, the custody of children, and the financial matters - there may be vast significant differences, particularly over financial matters.
  • For instance, in the US and Canada, they have ‘community property’ laws, so that “marital property” (i.e. property acquired during the marriage) is divided equally on divorce.
  • One cannot obtain a divorce in Australia or New Zealand until you have been separated for a year. New Zealand courts approach the division of capital assets in a similar way as in the States and Canada and do not place as much emphasis on maintenance rights as the courts in Hong Kong do.
  • Also, although the systems of divorce in Hong Kong and in England and Wales are very similar, they are not identical.
  • It is important to have regard to the ease of enforcement of any court orders obtained against his or her spouse. For example, if your spouse refused to pay alimony, what action can be done against his or her assets? (It is usually convenient and most beneficial to charge or freeze against his or her assets when the court orders are made in the country in which the non-complying spouse lives and/or the main family assets are situated).
  • It is usually more convenient to initiate the divorce proceedings in the country in which you reside because of the easier access to your lawyers and attendance in court if necessary.

If either or both parties to the marriage have substantial or close connections with one or more alternative countries or if your spouse is intending to institute proceedings in one country when it occurred to you that the legal system of another country might be available and of greater benefit to you, then you should seek legal advice from a matrimonial lawyer in each country before starting any divorce proceedings in order to make an informed decision. This has to be done without delay, failing which time (which is closely related with costs) would be wasted.

If both parties commence divorce proceedings in different countries, it is likely that it would give rise to a costly dispute over which country is the most appropriate place or forum for dealing with the divorce. The parties may even compete to obtain the first divorce decree, since the forum or the country in which the first decree is made will then be empowered to deal with the important ancillary matters of children and finance.

2. Recognition of Hong Kong divorce decrees

For the sake of saving unnecessary costs, before you start the divorce proceedings, it is vital to check for the recognition of the divorce decree that you intend to obtain, that is, whether it would be recognized by the Hong Kong Court, or whether the Hong Kong divorce decree is recognized by other countries.

Although the divorce decree granted by Hong Kong Court is recognized in many countries, it is not recognized in all places. In this regard, you should consult your lawyers.

E. Other than the marriages registered under the Marriage Ordinance in Hong Kong, what other types of marriages are recognized by Hong Kong law? Can a couple whose marriage is registered in a foreign country, or a couple married through traditional Chinese customs, or a non-registered couple apply for divorce in Hong Kong?

1. Registered Marriage

Since 7th October,1971, a couple in Hong Kong can only validly marry in accordance with the Marriage Ordinance ( Cap. 181 of The Laws of Hong Kong). This generally means that it must be a voluntary union for life of one man with one woman to the exclusion of all others and that the marriage ceremony must be carried out at one of the Marriage Registries or licensed places of worship. This is called a registered marriage.

2. Foreign Marriage

A foreign marriage celebrated outside Hong Kong in accordance with the law in force at the time and in the place where the marriage was performed is generally recognized as a valid marriage similar to a marriage registered in Hong Kong.

3. Chinese Customary Marriage and Modern Marriage

However, apart from registered marriages and foreign marriages, the law also recognizes as valid 2 other types of marriage if they were contracted in Hong Kong before 7th October, 1971.

  • Chinese Customary Marriage
    The first type is Chinese customary marriage. It is a marriage celebrated in accordance with the traditional Chinese customs that were accepted at the time of the marriage, either in the part of Hong Kong where the marriage took place, or in the parties' family place of origin, usually their native place in China.

  • Modern Marriage
    The other type is called a modern marriage, which is one where an unmarried man and a woman neither of which was less than 16 years of age went through an open ceremony in the presence of at least two witnesses in such a manner that a reasonable person would think that a marriage has been celebrated.
    For this type of marriage, the kind of marriage ceremony performed did not have to be in accordance with formal Chinese law and custom, it would be valid and subsisting as long as a reasonable man thinks a marriage had taken place.
    It is important to note that the ceremony had to be ‘open’ in the sense that it was so held that it was known and could be seen by all those who were not particularly invited to participate. This requirement would be satisfied by, for example, leaving the door of the room in which the ceremony took place open. This type of marriage is also called validated marriage.

Parties to these 2 latter types of marriage (Chinese customary marriage and modern marriage) can have them post-registered at the Marriage Registry. If one party refuses to post-register it, the other may apply to the District Court for a declaration that such a marriage exists and thereafter can post-register it unilaterally.

Parties to a registered marriage or a foreign marriage seeking a divorce must go through the Family Court of Hong Kong.

To obtain a divorce in a Chinese customary marriage situation, the party or parties must first of all have the marriage post-registered or declared valid by the District Court. If the parties agree to divorce, they must go before a designated public officer who will explain the consequences to them and ask them to sign an agreement. If only one party wants a divorce, he or she can apply to the court in the usual way , but only after the registration or declaration of the marriage as stated above.(Please refer to Divorce > Procedures and grounds for divorce ).

In the case of a modern marriage , if both parties agree, they can divorce by going before a designated public officer and by signing a written document. The written document sets out unequivocally the final and complete dissolution of the marriage and must be signed in the presence of 2 witnesses.

Either party to these 2 types of marriages can, upon divorce, apply for maintenance (financial support) if the need arises.

F. Will a concubine and the relevant children be legally recognized? Can they be parties in divorce proceedings?

Since 7th October, 1971, no man can lawfully take a concubine in Hong Kong. But in the case of a Chinese customary marriage, concubines taken before that date will be recognised and their children will be considered legitimate.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,563,832 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

III. 離婚的先決條件

閣下如自行向法庭申請離婚,必須填寫離婚呈請書,並親身交回香港港灣道12號灣仔政府大樓閣樓M2層家事法庭登記處。

如閣下和配偶同意共同向法庭申請離婚,便應填寫共同申請書,並交往上述家事法庭登記處。

A. 我是否需要律師?

向法庭提交離婚呈請書或共同申請書便會啟動法律程序,因此,事先尋求法律意見將會較為穩妥。

在下列情況下,閣下尤其需要代表律師:

  • 閣下的配偶不同意離婚;
  • 閣下與配偶無法就子女或財務事項達成協議。

香港律師會每年均會出版法律界名錄,其中包括處理婚姻訴訟的律師行目錄。閣下可於民政事務處各區諮詢服務中心,公共圖書館或香港律師會辦事處查閱該名錄。

B. 在離婚或婚姻訴訟中,如我無法負擔聘請代表律師的費用,我可以怎辦?

申請免費或資助的法律支援服務

如欲尋求法律意見,閣下可聯絡當值律師服務提供的 免費法律諮詢計劃 (電話:2835 2500)。

如需要在法庭聆訊中獲得代表律師,閣下可嘗試申請法律援助署提供的 法律援助計劃 (電話:2537 7677),或由香港大律師公會提供的 法律義助服務計劃 (電郵: bflss@hkba.org )。

閣下亦須注意,家事法庭登記處的職員可以提供關於離婚訴訟程序的資料,但他們並不是律師,因此不能提供法律意見。

C. 我能否在香港辦理離婚?我需要符合什麼條件?

閣下向法庭提交離婚呈請書前,應注意下列1至3項。

1. 結婚地點

閣下結婚的地點並不重要。不論在那一個國家舉行結婚儀式,只要婚姻屬有效和可以證實其存在,並符合下述2及3之條件,閣下便可在香港申請離婚。

2. 必須符合之條件

夫婦必須符合以下其中一個條件,才可經由香港法庭處理有關離婚的申請或呈請:

  1. 向法庭提出呈請或申請當日,婚姻的任何一方是以香港為居籍(現時有若干方式決定某人是否以香港為居籍,舉例說,如果有關人士持有香港永久居民身份證,或他們是經已在香港連續居住滿七年的中國公民,他們便會被視為以香港為居籍);
  2. 向法庭提出呈請或申請當日之前三年內,婚姻的任何一方慣常居於香港;或
  3. 向法庭提出呈請或申請當日,婚姻的任何一方與香港有「密切聯繫」。

是否與香港有「密切聯繫」,將視乎每個個案之情況而定,例如在提出離婚前雙方經已在香港居住了多久、打算居留多久、是否在香港工作,和他們有否在本地取得任何財產或租賃物業。

3. 結婚多久才可辦理離婚?

「一年規則」

根據 第179章《婚姻訴訟條例》 第12條 ,在一般情況下,如雙方結婚未滿一年,不得向本港法庭提出離婚呈請。

但如有下列兩種例外情況,則上述限制未必適用:

  • 離婚申請人或呈請人面對極度困苦的情況;或
  • 答辯人(申請人或呈請人的配偶)行為異常敗壞。
在接納處理結婚未滿一年之離婚案件之前,法官會考慮由 第192章《婚姻法律程序與財產條例》 第2條 所界定的任何家庭子女的權益,而有關子女包括非親生子女 。法官亦須考慮雙方在結婚期滿一年之前而達成和解的合理可能性。

D. 我應否選擇在香港辦理離婚?

1. 選擇方案

基於香港是國際商業城市,婚姻其中一方或雙方(尤其是外籍人士) 往往與另一國家有緊密聯繫。

如上述情況出現,雙方需要從務實角度去衡量香港是否進行離婚訴訟的最佳地點。可能需要考慮的因素如下:

  • 每一個獲考慮的國家如何處理離婚、子女撫養權的紛爭、和財務分配事宜,均可能有重大差別,尤其是財務事項方面。
  • 例如,美國和加拿大都有「社區物業法」,夫婦於婚姻期間取得的物業須在離婚時平均分配。
  • 夫婦在分居未滿一年前,不能夠在澳洲或紐西蘭獲准離婚。紐西蘭法庭以類似美國和加拿大法庭的方式去分配資產,而且沒有香港那麼重視贍養費的權力。
  • 香港與英倫和威爾斯的離婚法律制度之差異甚少,但並非完全相同。
  • 閣下亦應考慮如需強制執行任何針對配偶的法庭命令,會否面對很大困難?舉例,如果配偶拒絕支付贍養費,可針對他 / 她的資產採取什麼行動?(一般較為方便和有效的方式,是在配偶居住和 / 或其主要資產所在的國家,取得抵押或凍結有關資產的法庭命令。)
  • 在閣下居住的國家進行訴訟會較為方便,因為較容易找到合適的代表律師及處理上庭事宜。

如婚姻其中一方或雙方與多個國家有緊密聯繫,或閣下配偶打算在某一國家展開訴訟,但閣下認為另一國家的法律制度將對你更為有利,閣下便應向有關國家的婚姻訴訟律師尋求法律意見及取得充足資料,才開始進行有關訴訟。如要避免任何拖延而引起額外費用,閣下宜盡快尋求法律意見。

如雙方在不同國家提出訴訟,便可能就哪處是最適合處理離婚訴訟而出現昂貴的紛爭,甚至會因而爭先取得第一個離婚判令,原因是首先發出該判令的地區/國家便可能有權處理關於子女和財務的較重要事項。

2. 香港離婚判令的認可性

如要避免引起額外費用,在提出離婚訴訟前,閣下需要查核有關離婚判令的認可性,即其他國家發出的離婚判令會否被香港法庭承認,或由香港法庭發出的離婚判令會否被其他國家承認。

雖然香港的離婚判令獲多國承認,但並非所有國家均會承認。閣下可就有關問題諮詢律師。

E. 除根據香港《婚姻條例》註冊結婚之外,有什麼其他類型的婚姻會獲香港法律承認?在外國註冊結婚或按照中國傳統習俗結婚或無註冊的配偶,可否在香港申請離婚?

1. 註冊婚姻

自從一九七一年十月七日起,夫婦須按照 第181章 《婚姻條例》 指定之程序結婚方屬有效。一般而言,婚姻必須是一男一女自願之終身結合並不容他人介入,而且必須在其中一個婚姻註冊處或持牌的宗教祟拜地點進行結婚儀式,才是正式註冊婚姻。

2. 外國婚姻

在外國按照當地有效的法律而舉行的婚禮,通常與在香港註冊結婚一樣獲承認有效。

3. 中國舊式婚姻及新式婚姻

除註冊婚姻和外國婚姻之外,本地法律亦承認另外兩類在一九七一年十月七日前在香港締結的婚姻。

  • 中國舊式婚姻
    第一類是中國舊式婚姻,即按照中國傳統習俗,依循雙方位於新界鄉村沿用的禮儀,或依循雙方家族原居地 ─ 即在中國故鄉適用的儀式而結合的夫婦。

  • 新式婚姻
    另一種叫新式婚姻,即一男一女未婚者,在結婚時均年滿16歲,雙方在至少兩名見證人在場下,以公開儀式舉行婚禮,而一般合理的人,都會視之為締結婚姻。
    新式婚姻的婚禮,毋須符合中國法律與習俗,只要一般合理的人,認為儀式屬結婚儀式,該段婚姻就屬於有效及成立。
    要留意的是,結婚儀式必須是「公開」的,意思是無被特別邀請參與儀式的人,都知道及看到儀式舉行,例如舉行儀式的場地,門要敞開,以符合「公開儀式」的要求。這種婚姻亦叫認可婚姻。

後述這兩類婚姻(中國舊式婚姻和新式婚姻)均可以事後在婚姻註冊處補辦註冊手續。如其中一方拒絕補辦註冊手續,另一方可向區域法院申請確認婚姻關係,而其後可單方面補辦註冊手續。

關於 註冊婚姻或外國婚姻 之離婚申請必須經由香港家事法庭辦理。

關於 中國舊式結婚 的離婚程序,其中一方或雙方必須首先補辦結婚註冊手續,或經由區域法院確認婚姻有效。如雙方同意離婚,他們必須在指定公職人員面前,經由該公職人員解釋有關後果之後再簽署一份協議。假如單方面要求離婚, 可以按照一般程序向法庭申請(請參考 離婚 > 申請離婚之程序和理由 )。

如果是 新式婚姻 並雙方同意離婚,雙方可在指定的公職人員面前辦理離婚,並須在兩名見證人面前簽署一份書面文件,清楚列明有關婚姻已經完全解除。

如有需要,上述兩類婚姻的任何一方均可申請在離婚後獲得贍養費。

F. 妾侍和相關子女能否獲法律承認?他 / 她們可否成為離婚訴訟的其中一方?

從一九七一年十月七日起,男士不得在香港納妾。但如果是中國舊式婚姻,在該日期前迎娶的妾侍將獲得承認,其子女亦會被認定是合法子女。

返回
上一頁 下一頁