full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,002,824

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

VII. Bigamy

Bigamy is the act of entering into a marriage with one person while still legally married to another. It is a legal ground to nullify a marriage. A nullified marriage means the marriage is declared null and void, which means the marriage is treated as if it never existed.

According to section 20(1) of the Matrimonial Clause Ordinance (MCO), Cap. 179 , when at the time of marriage either party has already been lawfully married, the said marriage is void. For example, if a person marries a second time without first completing the formal steps of divorce for his/her first marriage, then his/her second marriage is nullified.

Section 18(1) of the MCO provides for the remarriage of divorced persons:

"Where a decree of divorce has been made absolute and either-

  1. there is no right of appeal against the decree absolute; or
  2. the time for appealing against the decree absolute has expired without an appeal having been brought; or
  3. an appeal against the decree absolute has been dismissed;

either party to the former marriage may marry again."

If someone got married in Mainland China or overseas and is undergoing a divorce process, as long as the divorce process is not completed and the status of that person is not “single”, then the said person cannot get married again in Hong Kong, as the marriage would be void under section 20(1)(c) of the MCO .

Vice versa, if the party originally got married in Hong Kong but is getting married again in the Mainland or overseas, albeit undergoing divorce proceedings at the time the party gets married (assuming the proceedings are not yet completed), the said party commits bigamy, under section 45 of the Offences Against the Person Ordinance ( Cap. 212 ).

According to section 45 of the Offences Against the Person Ordinance ( Cap. 212 ), any person who, being married, marries any other person during the life of the former husband or wife shall be guilty of an offence triable upon indictment, and shall be liable to imprisonment for seven years.

back
Previous Page Next Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,561,793 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

VII. 重婚

任何人與他人結為合法夫妻後,又與另一人結婚,便屬重婚;法律上可廢除該段與第三者締結的婚姻,即宣告婚姻無效,尤如從沒締結一樣。

根據香港法例 第179章《婚姻訴訟條例》 第20(1)條 ,任何一方在結婚時已經與他人合法結婚,該段與第三者締結的婚姻便會無效。例如某人與他人締結第二段婚姻,而當時他/她並未有就第一段婚姻正式辦理離婚手續,他/她的第二段婚姻便告無效。

《婚姻訴訟條例》 第18條 提及離婚者再婚的情況:

「1. 凡離婚判令已轉為絕對判令,在下述任何一種情況下-

  1. 對該絕對判令再無上訴權;或
  2. 就該絕對判令提出上訴的期限已屆滿而並無任何上訴提出;或
  3. 反對該絕對判令的上訴已遭駁回,

前度婚姻的任何一方均可再婚。」

如某人已在中國內地或海外結婚,並正辦理離婚,但仍未辦妥手續,在他/她的婚姻狀況仍未回復單身之前,都不可在香港再婚,否則該段婚姻將會按照 《婚姻訴訟條例》 第20(1)(c)條 宣告無效。

如某人在香港結婚,並在中國內地或海外再婚,而再婚時他/她仍未離婚(例如當時仍未辦妥相關手續),根據香港法例 第212章《侵害人身罪條例》 第45條 ,他/她亦觸犯重婚罪。

香港法例 第212章《侵害人身罪條例》 第45條 訂明,任何已婚之人,於原任丈夫或妻子在生之時與另一人結婚,即觸犯可循公訴程序審訊的罪行,可處監禁7年。

返回
上一頁 下一頁