full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

FAQ

1. Before signing the formal tenancy agreement or lease, a tenant may sometimes be asked by a landlord to sign a document called "agreement for lease" or "provisional tenancy agreement". What are the consequences of signing this document?

By signing an agreement for lease /provisional tenancy agreement, the intending landlord agrees to give, and the intending tenant agrees to take, a lease in the future. The agreement for lease/provisional tenancy agreement is a contract. It must, therefore, satisfy the requirements of a contract. An agreement for lease/provisional tenancy agreement is legally binding upon the parties to the agreement. If such an agreement is signed and one party subsequently refuses to sign the formal lease or tenancy agreement, the other party can apply to the court for an order of specific performance. That is, to apply for a court order to compel the defaulting party to fulfil the obligations as stipulated on the agreement.

For other things that you need to know before signing a Tenancy Agreement or a Lease, please visit Properties Arrangements > Landlord and tenant > Things that you need to know before signing a Tenancy Agreement or a Lease .

2. Some tenancy documents must be registered with the Land Registry but some do not. Why?

The major purpose of registering documents at the Lands Registry is to notify the public of all documents affecting lands in Hong Kong and to set up a priority system regarding documents affecting a particular property. Once a document is registered, the public is deemed to have notice of its existence and its content. The date of registration also affects the priority of a party’s rights in a particular property.

A tenancy document, being an instrument affecting land, is of course registrable at the Lands Registry. However, the Land Registration Ordinance provides that the principles of notice and priority do not apply to "bona fide leases at rack rent for any term not exceeding three years". A document that creates a tenancy for a term of more than three years (i.e. a Lease) should therefore be registered, otherwise it is prone to be defeated by successors in title of the landlord and will lose its priority against other registered documents that affect the same property.
In contrast, a document that creates a tenancy for a term of three years or less (i.e. a Tenancy Agreement) does not gain or lose anything by registration. However, if a Tenancy Agreement contains an option to renew the existing tenancy, it should be registered even though the term of the tenancy does not exceed three years.

If you want to know how the parties handle the document after signing a Tenancy Agreement (or a Lease), please visit Properties Arrangements > Landlord and tenant > How should the parties handle the signed Tenancy Agreement/Lease? .

3. If my tenant conducts criminal activities in my property, what problems will I face?

If the landlord knows that the tenant is using the property for criminal activities, e.g. as a gambling place or a vice establishment, and does nothing about it, the landlord could face criminal charges. The consequences will not be limited to monetary loss and damages, but may include a criminal record and imprisonment. Hence, a landlord who finds a tenant using the property for criminal activities should at once report the case to the police.

A property that is used for other non-authorised purposes may also create trouble for its owner. To know more about this, please visit Properties Arrangements > Landlord and tenant > Regulations on using or occupying a leased property > Q2 .

4. In general, is the landlord or the tenant responsible for maintaining and repairing the property?

When dealing with the issue of repair and maintenance, the landlord and the tenant must predominantly rely on the tenancy document to ascertain their respective duties. It is quite normal that the terms of the tenancy document impose many obligations on the tenant, but the tenant's obligations for repair and maintenance are limited by the phrase "fair wear and tear excepted". This excuses the tenant from damage arising from the passing of time and the ordinary and reasonable use of the property. A well-drafted tenancy document should also contain a clause which specifies that the landlord's obligations for structural repairs and maintenance will arise only upon notice of the structural defects. This is reasonable because the landlords, not being in occupation of the properties, cannot be expected to remedy defects of which they are not aware.

For more about repair/maintenance obligations, please visit Properties Arrangements > Landlord and tenant > Repair/maintenance obligations .

5. If the tenant refuses to pay the rent for the final two months of the tenancy, and suggests the landlord to forfeit the deposit (which is equivalent to two months of rent) as a payment of the outstanding rent, should the landlord accept this?

A tenancy document usually specifies that the tenant must pay a deposit to secure the performance and observance of the tenant's covenants under the tenancy document, such as to pay rent, to keep the property in good condition, to execute repair and to comply with the relevant laws. The agreement to pay rent is only one of many covenants that are made by the tenant. If, upon regaining possession of the property, the landlord finds that pipes are blocked, walls are painted in weird colours, windows are broken, the refrigerator is gone, trash is left all over the property, etc., and that the tenant cannot be located anymore, the deposit will not be able to cover the aggregate of the unpaid rent and the expenses incurred to refurbish the property. It is therefore unwise to accept the tenant's proposal to substitute the rent with the deposit.

If you want to read more case illustrations regarding landlord and tenant, please visit Properties Arrangements > Landlord and tenant > Case illustration .

6. What are the major government departments that are responsible for governing tenancy matters in Hong Kong? To which department(s) should a party go to if a tenancy dispute/problem arises?

The Rating and Valuation Department is responsible for administering the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance ( Cap.7 of the Laws of Hong Kong). It also provides services regarding tenancy matters. The Department answers public queries on tenancy matters through a telephone hotline at 21508229.

The Lands Tribunal is the major body responsible for handling tenancy disputes. Unlike the Court, a tribunal is characterized by informality. The presiding officer plays a more intervening role and is more ready to discuss the issues with the parties.

If the dispute is purely about a monetary claim of $50,000 or less, then the claimant can make the claims at the Small Claims Tribunal. If the amount of the claim is higher or the relevant legal issue is more complex, then the parties can also bring the case to the District Court or the Court of First Instance of the High Court.

If you want to know how to recover the outstanding rent and get back the property, please visit Properties Arrangements > Landlord and tenant > How to recover the outstanding rent and get back the property? .

back
Previous Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,480,645 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

常見問題

1. 在簽署正式租約之前,業主有時會要求租客簽署一份類似臨時租約的文件(可能會被稱為「租契協議」或「租約確定書」)。簽署這份文件有甚麽後果?

簽署臨時租約後,即表示準業主同意在未來出租有關物業,而準租客亦同意在未來承租物業。臨時租約亦是一份合約,所以必須符合訂立一般合約的條件。臨時租約對雙方均有法律約束力,在簽署這份文件後,若果其中一方隨後拒絕簽署正式租約,另一方便可向法庭申請強制執行命令,亦即申請法庭命令去強制違約一方履行臨時租約所訂明的責任。

想知道更多簽署租約之前應注意的事項,請參考 物業安排 > 業主與租客 > 簽署租約之前應注意的事項

2. 為甚麼有些租賃文件必須在土地註冊處註冊,有些則毋須註冊?

在土地註冊處註冊文件的主要作用,就是讓公眾得知該處存有所有影響香港土地的文件記錄,並為涉及個別物業的文件,設立優次制度。文件經註冊後,即被視作已通知公眾該文件的存在及其內容。註冊日期也影響著附屬個別物業的眾多權益的優先權。

租賃文件既然涉及土地,當然也可於土地註冊處註冊。但 《土地註冊條例》 列明,有關通知及優先權的原則,並不適用於「任何租期不超過三年且繳付全額租金的真正租契」。因此,所涉租期超過三年的租賃文件(即租契)應予註冊,否則現任業主的業權繼承人大可不承認該租契。如果有其他影響同一物業的文件已經註冊,此租契便會失去優先權。

另一方面,租期不超過三年的租賃文件(即租賃協議),並不會因註冊而有任何得益或損失。但是若租賃協議有續租權條款,即使租期並不超過三年,亦應該註冊。

如想了解簽署租約之後,要如何處理該等文件,請參考 物業安排 > 業主與租客 > 如何處理已簽署的租約?

3. 假若租客在物業內進行刑事性的活動,我可能會面對甚麼問題?

如果業主知道租客在物業內從事非法活動,例如經營賭場或賣淫場所,而不聞不問,業主可能會面對刑事檢控,可能會留案底及入獄。因此,若業主得悉租客在出租物業內從事非法活動,應立即報警。

要了解租客將物業用作其他未經許可的用途,業主要負上甚麼責任,請參考 物業安排 > 業主與租客 > 使用或佔用出租物業的一般守則 > 問題2

4. 一般來說,應由業主還是租客負責維修保養出租物業?

面對有關維修保養的問題時,業主及租客須倚賴租賃文件所述,以釐定其個別責任。一般的租賃文件條款都會把很多責任加諸租客身上,但維修保養責任不包括物業的「正常損耗」。因此,租客毋須因時間久遠及平常合理使用物業而引起的損壞負上責任。另一方面,妥善草擬的租賃文件,亦應闡明業主對結構性維修保養的責任,當在業主知悉該等結構性損毁後方始產生。既然業主沒有佔用物業,當然不能強求業主就其不知悉的損毁負上責任。

有關租賃物業的維修/保養責任,請參考 物業安排 > 業主與租客 > 維修/保養的責任

5. 如果租客在租期最後兩個月拒絕繳付租金,要求業主以沒收按金(相等於兩個月租金)代替交租,業主應否接受?

租賃文件通常都會列明租客須繳付按金,作為其履行及遵守租賃文件內所作承諾的保證,例如準時交租、維持物業於良好狀況、執行維修和遵守相關法律等。繳付租金只是租客所作眾多承諾之一。如果業主收回物業後,發現水喉堵塞、牆壁塗花、窗戶破爛、雪櫃不翼而飛和滿地垃圾等,租客卻已經消失得無影無蹤,按金便未必足以補償所欠租金及把物業回復原狀所需費用。因此,接受租客以按金代租金的提議並不明智。

想閱讀更多有關業主與租客的舉例說明, 請參考 物業安排 > 業主與租客 > 舉例說明

6. 香港有甚麼政府部門專門處理有關租賃的事項?假若在租賃事項上出現糾紛/問題,應向那一個部門求助?

差餉物業估價署負責執行 《業主與租客(綜合)條例》 (香港法例 第7章 ),亦提供有關租賃事項的服務。公眾可致電熱線2150 8229,向該署的租務主任查詢有關租務的事項。

土地審裁處乃負責處理有關租賃糾紛的主要機構。審裁處與法庭不同,審訊過程比較不拘形式,法官也經常主動介入,直接與訴訟雙方討論案情。

假如有關糾紛只涉及金錢問題,而所涉金額不多於港幣五萬元,申索人可於小額錢債審裁處提出其索償。假如所涉金額較高,或有關的法律問題比較複雜,則可於區域法院或高等法院興訟。

想知道如何追討欠租及收樓,請參考 物業安排 > 業主與租客 > 追討欠租及收樓

返回
上一頁