full topic list

big 5 button simplified chinese button

Welcome! you are visitor 1,006,509

  • Decrease Font Size
  • Reset Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
read whole topic print forward

FAQ

1. Why is it important for the owners' corporation to have Third Party Risks Insurance?

In 1994, the canopy of a seafood restaurant situated at Albert House in Aberdeen collapsed. One passer-by was killed and 13 others were injured in the incident. The High Court held that the owners’ corporation, property management company, restaurant, licencee of the restaurant, owner of the unit at which the restaurant was situated and contractor that had built the canopy were liable for compensation to the victims, which amounted to more than HK$30 million. Since the owners’ corporation of Albert House did not have third party risks insurance, it was unable to pay the compensation. Eventually, the owners’ corporation had to be wound up. Pursuant to the Building Management Ordinance ( Cap. 344 of the Laws of Hong Kong), each of the individual owners was liable and had to pay a portion of the compensation for his/her share of the liability.

The message from this case is that compensation must be paid if the court rules that the victim must be compensated. If the OC does not have third party risks insurance, it has to make full compensation. If it does not have sufficient funds to pay compensation and has to be wound up, each individual owner becomes personally liable for the compensation. If individual owners are unable to pay compensation, they may be forced into bankruptcy. Procuring third party risks insurance protects the owners and any potential third party victims, thus reducing the financial risks faced by the owners should an accident occur.

For more about Owners Corporations and Third Party Risks Insurance, please visit Properties Arrangements > Maintenance and safety of real property > Third party insurance .

2. Does the owners’ corporation (OC) have the legal obligation to take out an insurance policy to cover liabilities arising from unauthorised building works?

No, it is not a mandatory requirement. But if the court finds that the OC is responsible for an accident caused by unauthorised building works, the OC and/or the owners are liable for all the civil liabilities incurred.

Generally speaking, insurance companies do not provide insurance for unauthorised building works. If there are unauthorised building works in the building, the OC should remove them for the benefit of the OC, building owners and third parties who may be affected by the unauthorised works.

For more about Owners Corporations and Third Party Risks Insurance, please visit Properties Arrangements > Maintenance and safety of real property > Third party insurance .

3. What are the Mandatory Building Inspection Scheme (MBIS) and a Mandatory Window Inspection Scheme (MWIS)?

In order to ensure that building owners take full and continuous responsibility for building maintenance and safety, the Government amended the Buildings Ordinance ( Cap. 123 of the Laws of Hong Kong) and enacted the Building (Inspection and Repair) Regulation ( Cap. 123P of the Laws of Hong Kong) to introduce a Mandatory Building Inspection Scheme (MBIS) and a Mandatory Window Inspection Scheme (MWIS). Each year, 2000 buildings are selected for both the MBIS and MWIS, to be carried out concurrently, and another 3800 buildings are selected for only the MWIS. The Buildings Department (BD) issues statutory notices to the owners of buildings targeted to carry out of the prescribed inspection and any repairs that may be required.

Under MBIS, owners of buildings at least 30 years old (except domestic buildings not exceeding three storeys) are required to carry out the prescribed inspection of the common parts, external walls and projections or signboards of the buildings once every 10 years.

Under MWIS, owners of buildings at least 10 years old (except domestic buildings not exceeding three storeys) are required to carry out the prescribed inspection of all windows of the buildings once every five years.

For more about MBIS and MWIS, please visit Properties Arrangements > Maintenance and safety of real property > Mandatory Building Inspection Scheme and Mandatory Window Inspection Scheme .

4. What can the Government do if the statutory notice under MBIS/MWIS is not complied with?

The Government may prosecute the owners/OC who do not comply with a statutory notice for mandatory building inspection or mandatory window inspection. The BD may also arrange for the required inspection and repair works to be carried out by a consultant and contractor, respectively, of its choice and then recover the cost of inspection and repair works, as well as a supervision charge, from the owners/OC, together with a surcharge not exceeding 20% of the cost.

For more about MBIS and MWIS, please visit Properties Arrangements > Maintenance and safety of real property > Mandatory Building Inspection Scheme and Mandatory Window Inspection Scheme .

5. Does the Government provide subsidy, loan or grant to assist property owners to carry out maintenance or repair works?

In order to assist property owners who may have queries about the statutory requirements for maintaining their residential building and those who may have financial difficulty in doing so, the Government launched the Integrated Building Maintenance Assistance Scheme (jointly operated by the Housing Society and the Urban Renewal Authority). The Scheme comprises subsidies, loans and/or grants in various forms to cater for different needs. For more details, owners can call the hotline at 3188 1188.

For a list of the major subsidies, loans and/or grants, please visit Properties Arrangements > Maintenance and safety of real property > Government subsidy, loan and/or grant .

back
Previous Page

英文版本 簡體中文版本

歡迎!您是第 3,478,828 位訪客

  • 縮細文字
  • 重設文字大小
  • 放大文字
閱讀此部份全部內容 列印 轉寄

常見問題

1. 投購第三者風險保險對業主有多重要?

1994年香港仔添喜大廈一間酒樓簷篷倒塌,意外造成1死13傷。高等法院最後裁定大廈法團、管理公司、酒樓、酒樓持牌人、單位業主及拆卸商,要向9名死傷人士賠償港幣3,000多萬元。添喜大廈法團因未有投購第三者保險,無法支付賠償,導致清盤。根據 《建築物管理條例》 (香港法例 第344章 ),小業主最後需要攤分巨額賠償。

從以上事件可以看到,若意外發生時,法團沒有投購第三者保險,法團便需要承擔所有賠償。若法團沒有足夠的資金支付賠償而被清盤,各單位的業主須為有關賠償負上個人責任。小業主可能會因無力支付賠償而破產。因此,投購第三者風險保險為業主及第三者提供保障,減低意外時業主面對的財務風險。

有關業主立案法團與第三者風險保險的詳情,請參考 物業安排 > 物業維修與安全 > 第三者風險保險

2. 業主立案法團(簡稱「法團」)是否有法律責任就違例建築工程(僭建物)所衍生的法律責任投購保險?

沒有,這不是一個強制要求。不過,若法庭裁定法團須就違例建築工程(僭建物)而引致的意外而負責,法團及/或業主須承擔所有的民事責任。

一般來說,保險公司不會承保樓宇中違例建築工程(僭建物)的部份。為了法團及第三者的利益著想,若樓宇有僭建物,法團應安排清拆。

有關業主立案法團與第三者風險保險的詳情,請參考 物業安排 > 物業維修與安全 > 第三者風險保險

3. 甚麼是強制驗樓計劃及強制驗窗計劃?

為了確保業主定期履行維修樓宇的責任,以策安全,政府修訂 《建築物條例》 (香港法例 第123章 )及制訂 《建築物(檢驗及修葺)規例》 (香港法例 第123P章 ),引入強制驗樓計劃及強制驗窗計劃。屋宇署每年會揀選2,000幢樓宇,同時進行強制驗樓計劃及強制驗窗計劃,另外揀選3,800幢樓宇,只進行強制驗窗計劃。目標樓宇的業主會收到法定通知。

強制驗樓計劃規定樓齡達30年或以上的私人樓宇(不高於三層的住用樓宇除外)業主,須每10年檢驗樓宇的公用部分、外牆及伸出物或招牌。強制驗窗計劃則規定樓齡達10年或以上的私人樓宇(不高於三層的住用樓宇除外)業主,須每5年檢驗樓宇所有窗戶。

有關強制驗樓及強制驗窗計劃的詳情,請參考 物業安排 > 物業維修與安全 > 強制驗樓計劃強制驗窗計劃

4. 若沒有遵行強制驗樓或強制驗窗的法定通知,會有甚麼後果?

沒有遵行強制驗樓或強制驗窗的法定通知之業主/業主立案法團,可能會被檢控。屋宇署亦可能會安排其委任的顧問公司及承建商,進行所需的檢驗和修葺工程,然後向業主/法團追討檢驗及修葺工程的費用和監督費,以及徵收不超過有關費用20%的附加費。

有關強制驗樓及強制驗窗計劃的詳情,請參考 物業安排 > 物業維修與安全 > 強制驗樓計劃強制驗窗計劃

5. 政府會為大廈業主提供資助、貸款或津貼,以協助他們進行保養維修工程嗎?

政府推出了「樓宇維修綜合支援計劃」(由香港房屋協會及市區重建局統一運作),協助業主面對有關樓宇維修的法定要求,並對有需要的業主提供財政支援。計劃包括不同形式的資助、貸款及/或津貼,以應付不同需要。市民可致電熱線3188 1188,以獲取進一步的詳情。

有關各項資助、貸款或津貼的簡介,請參考 物業安排 > 物業維修與安全 > 政府提供的資助、貸款及津貼

返回
上一頁